Food: dinner at friend’s, vegetarian BBQ wings and coconut veggies curry


Last Sunday a friend-couple invited us to their house for dinner. She enjoys cooking as much as I do and she’s a pasta-master šŸ˜†

When we arrived the appetizers were ready

IMG_1825.JPG

Mozzarella, sun dried tomatoes and basil wrap

IMG_1827.JPG

artichoke dip

IMG_1828.JPG

grilled shrimps

IMG_1830.JPG

She made (from scratch) raviolis filled with spinach and ricotta

IMG_1819.JPG

they are perfecT!!!

IMG_1821.JPG

served with homemade tomato sauce

IMG_1834.JPG

Both Star and I enjoyed the dinner and the conversation. She got married recently to my classmate, and our husbands have many things complains about us in common.

I got this veggie BBQ wings from whole food ($4.29). I don’t usually buy packaged food but that day I was in mood trying some new taste but didn’t want to cook much. So frozen food was the solution.

IMG_1690.JPG

the preparation is pretty simple. Add 1 tsp of oil to the pan, add the wings and cook for 5 min each side.

IMG_1691.JPG

heat the sauce package in running hot water and pour over the wings

IMG_1694.JPG

they look pretty good, right?

IMG_1699.JPG

Side was rice cooked with chickpeas and broccoli

IMG_1700.JPG

IMG_1702.JPG

IMG_1704.JPG

Overall, I like the taste and texture but was not crazy about it.

Finally, the veggie curry that I made with mushroom, edamame, red peppers, onion and chinese yam.

IMG_1857.JPG

I sauteed them in coconut oil and add 1 tbsp of curry powder at the end.

IMG_1863.JPG

served over a bed of brown and black rice

IMG_1859.JPG

and some sauteed chinese mustard

IMG_1869.JPG

Q: What’s your plan this weekend? I’ll make a five-course dinner for my closest friends tomorrow! I’m super excited!!! šŸ˜†

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Food: dinner at friend’s, vegetarian BBQ wings and coconut veggies curry

  1. I love the mozzarella, sun dried tomatoes and basil wraps – what a fun variation on a classic dish! So cool that your friend made ravioli. Making pasta is still on my “list!” šŸ™‚

    Have a great dinner tomorrow!

  2. thedelicateplace

    squid ink ravioli? my hubs loves the combo of mozza/tomato/basil! have fun with your dinner! i have dinner reservations for tomorrow at a really nice bistro and today we are headed to the museum of art!

  3. DiningAndDishing

    My plans are to relax and sleep after a craaazy week!

    Have a fun time cooking your 5 course meal Coco – I’m sure it will be totally amazing, knowing you!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. Yummy eats!! And I’ve never been a huge fan of “fake” meat…

  5. I’m not sure what my plans are~NORMALLY I just go along with the flow or do things spontaneously and last minute. It’s rare that I plan ahead for ANYTHING šŸ˜›

  6. Ooh, I love those Gardein products! The texture is different but they taste so good šŸ™‚ I’m excited to see what you make tomorrow!

  7. Can’t wait to hear all about your big dinner!

  8. i love homemade pasta!!

    have a great weekend coco! thanks for the bday greet!

  9. That meal that your friend made looks simply delicious!!!!! šŸ™‚

    As for my plans – we’re just going to relax, maybe hit the pool up, and run some errands. The Husband just came back from a business trip so we just want to enjoy each other’s company!

  10. Five course dinner?! I was stressed about a ONE course dinner!! ha! You’re so amazing.

    Your friend did a great job with the meal above. I am super impressed with the moz., sundried tomato and basil pin-wheels/wraps! They are gorgeous. And the ravioli??? Yum!! And again, so pretty.

    Enjoy your dinner tonight!

Leave a Reply

