Weekend happening: sleep, eat, gym and repeat


The past few days were total relaxation. Due to Star’s luck of sleep on his business trip, all he wanted to do is to sleep (day and night)! AsΒ Erin would say:” Yes, my lord, sleep we’ll do! πŸ™‚ Other than the 5k race on Saturday’s morning and my dearest friend’s birthday party at night, we just stay at home and relax.

I finally convinced Star to join my beloved gym! He’s been sedentary for more than a decade. I encouraged him to exercise more but always failed until now. He has turned 34 few months ago and it became mandatory for health purpose to start exercising, specially with his propensity to have diabetes (his mom has it). So, now he has committed to go to the gym whenever he stays with me (hopefully >3 days a week). So far he’s liking it and I like it even more!!! Because now I don’t feel bad to leave him at home alone when I go to the gym~~~ πŸ˜†

While he takes long naps… I bake πŸ˜‰

IMG_1325.JPG

for my lord: peanut butter cookies with homemade PB

IMG_1326.JPG

I used roasted peanut with sea salt. Ground 7 min and done! Nothing else, just peanuts!!!

IMG_1335.JPG

beat 100g butter with 80g of sugar and 2 eggs

IMG_1336.JPG

once it becomes white, add 100g peanut butter

IMG_1338.JPG

IMG_1342.JPG

add 200g flour

IMG_1343.JPG

and 1/4 cup of sesame seeds

IMG_1344.JPG

bake at 375F for 20 min.

IMG_1377.JPG

I also made multicolored soy milk (soy, aduki, mung and black bean) for breakfast

IMG_1320.JPG

served with homemade multi-grain bread with butter (above) and PB (below)

IMG_1416.JPG

It was the last piece of bread… so I’m making a new bread (as I type)

Other eats:

noodles with bok choy, eggs and olive preserved olive leaf

IMG_1372.JPG

tortilla pizza topped with cauliflower and a pumpkin sauce made with pumpkin puree and tahini

IMG_1373.JPG

I’ve started to make nutritious soup that takes >4 hours to make. I made black chicken soup with assorted chinese herbs on Saturday and this one on Sunday.

IMG_1415.JPG

this one has pork feet, black beans, shiitake and red dates. I made sure to take out most of the fat from the pork feet, so what’s left is the collagen. Collagen = beauty weapon against saging!!! All asian girls know that πŸ˜‰

If you excuse me, I need to look how the bread-making is going and to prepare lunch for my lord. hahaha… That’s how I feel today, most of the days I feel like the queen and he my loyal servant πŸ˜‰

Q: Are you a soup person? What’s your favorite soup? I’ve never been a soup person, but my acupuncturist told me that soup is good, specially for people with weak digestive system, so more soup for both of us!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Weekend happening: sleep, eat, gym and repeat

  1. When I was little I used to love a bean soup that my mom used to make (El Salvador style). Now I’m not so big on soups . . . unless it’s pho! I LOVE pho!!! πŸ™‚

    BTW, thank-you for the concern about my injury. I’m going to the Doctor in about an hour and I should know more then.

  2. LOL Coco! We live to serve our men, right? πŸ˜‰ xo

  3. coco your noodle dishes always make my mouth water!

    the only cartilage i eat are chicken cartilages lol but i do know it helps with the sagging.

    i am most definitey a soup person!

    • Haha I so agree! The food always looks more exotic (b/c it’s more foreign) yet wholesome and tasty~Mmmmmm can I come ovaaaa? what a great idea of colored milk!!

  4. My goodness–all of that food looks so good!

  5. Weighting For 50

    Olive preserved olive leaves sound SOOOO intriguing!!! I’m sure I can find it at one of our big import grocery stores here – and I’ll be heading out to find it soon. Your food always looks so good!

  6. Sounds like a nice, relaxing weekend!

    Yes, I’m a soup person. Not sure, I can pick a favorite one, but lately I have really enjoyed veggie soups with tofu.

  7. Madelyne

    My favorite soup is pureed sweet potato soup. All I do is sautee 2 medium/large sweet potatoes with one onion and one stalk of celery, add vegetable broth and simmer till cooked, and then puree in a blender with some salt and pepper. When it’s finished I drizzle it with olive oil. So sweet, easy, and yummy!

  8. thedelicateplace

    mmm i love soup! i really like one by pacific foods called ‘carrot cashew ginger’ really yummy! right now in my lunches i have trader joes butternut squash soup, it’s ok but a little sweet for my liking.

  9. Thanks for visiting my blog πŸ˜‰

    I know how exciting it is to get your significant other to join a gym! I just got my boyfriend to join my gym and now i get to drag them there a few times a week. it’s a lot more fun that way!!

  10. DiningAndDishing

    I love soup when the weather is cold. It’s a great way to get some veggies when salad does not sound so appealing!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  11. Looks like a great weekend, Coco! Your cookies look great and I love how you make your own pb for them!

  12. Good for you for convincing Star to workout! When Nick turned 32 he finally started working out (that was this year….). I can never forget him telling me that he feels so GREAT after his workouts. It put a huge smile on my face πŸ™‚

    I’ve been eating a lot of soup lately, but nothing that takes me 4 hours to make, haha. Yours looks great though, with those giant mushrooms. Yum. And the PB cookies?? They look amazing!

  13. Wonderful cookies! And so fun that Star is hanging out with you at the gym. I’m not a huge soup person, but when I do eat it, it’s never the creamy kind…ewww…..

Leave a Reply

