A weekend with friends, movies and more!


I started the weekend wondering how to spend it without Star. And then I filled it with so many activities that I didn’t even have time to do the cleaning. 😉 I’m so glad to have great friends around and the opportunity to catch up with them. I should do it more often, even when Star is here. No matter how great is to be with your loved one, the joy of being with good friends is different, we NEED it, our spirit NEEDs it!

Let’s start it!

Saturday breakfast: oatmeal + cottage cheese + salsa + parmesan cheese

IMG_1203.JPG

savory breakfast buys me 😉

Then I went to acupuncture and did groceries shopping. This week I won’t be eating out much so I loaded with a lot veggies.

IMG_1215.JPG

yam, ginger, bamboo, red peppers

IMG_1207.JPG

purple cabbage, mushrooms, kabocha and chinese greens

IMG_1209.JPG

cauliflower, chinese mustard and corns (1 per day is a must!)

IMG_1210.JPG

oyster mushrooms, aduki beans and oranges

IMG_1211.JPG

I usually don’t have any menu in mind when I go to do groceries, what I do is fill up the cart with multi-color veggies and try to be diverse from week to week. For example: if a week I got broccoli, then next week I’d get cauliflower. Because I think different veggies have different nutrients (even those that we don’t know) so varieties is the safe-bet to cover all of them.

Then I went to a fitness class called On the Ball, it’s a total Body working with an emphasis on the core using the balance ball. It lasts 45 min and it was the hardest core workout class ever!!! My abs are still sore! 👿

Then I made a quick veggie-“pizza” with tortilla, oyster mushrooms, zucchini and mozzarella.

IMG_1205.JPG

pre-bake

IMG_1206.JPG

20 min later

IMG_1218.JPG

then I relaxed a little, watched TV, played ipad and had kabocha.

IMG_1228.JPG

then I went to target…. got cleaning necessities and snacks. No pic because I was too tired and didn’t unload them from the car.

At night, I went to a chinese new year celebration organized by Pekin University. My dear friend Qiao played in a band so I went to see her and have dinner.

IMG_1238.JPG

we met another old friend BeiBei, she danced in this sexy outfit

IMG_1239.JPG

Sunday was another eventful day. My dear friend Savannah got to my place around 9:30 AM and we rushed to Le Pain Quotidien because we’re both early up person and we had a brunch planned.

We started with capuchino (me) and latte (her).

IMG_1240.JPG

She had scrambled tofu with tomato, mushrooms and soy cheese that came with bread and salad.

IMG_1244.JPG

and I had wild-mushroom omelette.

IMG_1248.JPG

IMG_1250.JPG

After brunch, we went to watch No String Attached

Natalie Portman is so pretty and Ashton Kutcher so hot! It’s a fun, entertaining movie, perfect for a girl-date 🙂 We both enjoyed it!

Savanna left and I was about to take a nap. Then Agustin (one of my best male friends) msn me, he is kind of sick and asked me to accompany him to CVS to get the medicine. We went there and decided to go to watch Black Swan at night.

In this movie, Natalie Portman’s performance is exceptional, she even got nominated for Oscar for this role! It’s a story about how far can a person go on trying to be perfect. Both Agustin and I first reaction was: it’s a bizarre movie but very original and well-done.

Natalie Portman lost 20 lbs, worked 16 hours a day to play this role. Watching two movies of her in one afternoon with completely different roles and bodies made to realize how great actress she is and how hard is to be a good one. The physical and emotional transformation that she (and many other great actors/actress) has to go through to play “perfectly” a role is astonishing.

Q1: Have you seen any of these movies? Did you like it?

Q2: What’s the role of friends in your life?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “A weekend with friends, movies and more!

  1. two movie in a roll?!?!! you spent the day well!
    btw, I think your home made food is even better ! have a great start of the week!

  2. Looks like a fun weekend, Coco! Love your tips on produce shopping…variety is so key! Hope your week is off to a great start!

  3. Sounds like a fabulous weekend, Coco! I haven’t seen either movie. I’d like to see the one with Ashton Kutcher, but I don’t think I want to see Black Swan…..

  4. I love movies!!

    I want to try that oatmeal!

  5. Aww glad you had a great time! You know how to have fun even without Star ^_~* Those are awesome food creations and I like that we have similar ingredients in our fridge hehe. Girlfriends are soooooooo important! I’m realizing that more and more–although our husbands/bf’s are the top priority, they can’t fulfill roles that gf’s play in our lives. There’s just a special connection that girls have with each other..you know? I think it’s perfectly designed to be that way. 🙂

  6. Weighting For 50

    What a fun weekend you had!!! Natalie Portman is great! Can’t wait to see what you do with those GIANT oyster mushrooms – I’ve seen them, but not sure how to do them justice! Have a great day!!!

  7. Loving the looks of all those fresh veggies!

  8. Haha, of course you can still have fun without Star! By the way, I LOVE your outfit, Coco! So chic!

    I have not watched either of the movies yet, but I really do want to watch Black Swan. Maybe when it’s out on Netflix. 🙂

  9. I’m so glad you found ways to keep yourself happy and busy while Star was gone! I know whenever Nick is gone I like to hang out with friends and keep myself busy, as much as possible. I love proving to myself that I don’t need Nick around in order to be happy…..you know??

    I haven’t seen either of those movies, but I Really do want to see Black Swan. I hear Natalie Portman was amazing! I simply can’t imagine losing 20 pounds when you’re already so skinny….hopefully she was paid well for that movie, ha!

    Your veggies all look fresh and delicious. Like you, I don’t really plan meals, I just buy the produce I think look good, then go to town in the kitchen, making whatever I feel like making!

  10. I saw Black Swan but have yet to see No Strings Attached. Natalie Portman has always been one of my favorite actresses every since Garden State. She is so like-able!

  11. I haven’t seen either movie . . . not sure if I will either.

    And I agree with you on Mr. Kutcher! YUM! 😉 lol He’s like the perfect romantic comedy male lead!!!

Leave a Reply

