Another easy meal & single serving cake


Stir-fry is my favorite quick meal. Every night I’ll pick different ingredients: greens, mushrooms, a protein, an additional and the sauce of choice. Like this one, it has chinese mustard greens, mushrooms, broccoli, tofu and a tahini-miso sauce.

IMG_1177.JPG

If I had carrots, I’d add some for extra color πŸ˜‰

IMG_1180.JPG

and this one that uses eggs (Maggie’s idea) instead of tofu.

IMG_1194.JPG

Another easy meal that requires almost none preparation is the one-pot meal made in my beloved rice-cooker. Just throw all the ingredients in it and wait 60 min and it’s ready to eat! πŸ˜†

This one is made with brown rice, edamame, chickpea, shiitake mushroom, bok choy and chinese sausage

IMG_0931.JPG

This one is made with millet, shredded cabbage, onions, edamame, tofu and it’s seasoned with curry powder.

IMG_1055.JPG

this one looks bad but it’s tasty as well, it has millet, bok choy, shiitake, broccoli and chinese sausage.

IMG_1172.JPG

I like to prepare them for the day that I need to pack lunch and freeze the rest for another lazy night πŸ™‚

Last night I was craving sweet, not chocolate kind of sweet, but cake. So I made a single serving coconutΒ cake. Super simple!

I found ipad to be very convenient when it comes to recipe reading. I know I know… I could write down the recipe and take it in the kitchen. But don’t you think it’s even easier to just bring the recipe to the kitchen? Β I think so! πŸ˜‰

IMG_1188.JPG

Ingredients for 1 single serving cake:

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour

Mix everything, top with crushed butter crunch cashew

IMG_1192.JPG

IMG_1190.JPG

bake for 15 min at 400F and ready to serve~~~ πŸ˜€

IMG_1196.JPG

It was scrumptious!!! The texture is denser than normal cake thanks to coconut flour, just what I craved! πŸ˜€ I realized that making single serving cake is so easy, with just few ingredient, and in <20 min a fresh cake is ready! πŸ˜€

Q1: What’s your favorite cake?

Q2: Do you like freezing leftover meals? What’s your favorite meal to be freezed?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Another easy meal & single serving cake

  1. Love all your stir-frys, Coco…they look amazing! Delicious-looking cake too…I love the idea of a single serving! πŸ˜‰

  2. That’s brilliant! Single servings are really safe for me πŸ™‚
    I love to freeze leftovers. It is so nice to pull something homemade out of the freezer!
    xo

  3. your stirfries are always delicious looking! i love one pot meals!

  4. your ipad now is your new recipe book?! πŸ˜€ I love cai fan, haha easy and delicious!

  5. I love how you made the cake ONE serving! πŸ™‚ It sounds delicious! πŸ™‚

  6. aahhhhh….you’re killin’ me with that cake! I loooooove the asian type cakes! Like the ones with really fluffy batter and fancy light whipped cream frosting. Oh!! And ricotta cheesecake and tres leches! OK i can’t choose. πŸ™‚

  7. These all sound right up my alley. I have actually been using curry powder in several dinners as of late.
    I think this coconut cake would be devoured by Nick. He loves coconut. I love it too, but it’s not on my low fodmaps diet 😦 It makes me bloated and gassy, which is so sad. My favorite cake is probably carrot, which is incredibly difficult to make really fast!!

  8. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    What a cute little cake! I’ve always liked apple pie the best.

  9. I love stir fry, too, and your little cake looks so good! It’s so handy that you can look at recipes on your ipad. πŸ™‚

  10. Weighting For 50

    Your stir fries and rice cooker meals look amazing, thanks so much for sharing the photos! And that little cake? YUM! Have a good Friday.

  11. I just made your single serving cake and it was AMAZING!! so fluffy… I put dark chocolate pieces on top instead of nuts and it was so good. wish I could send you a picture!
    check out my site if you get a chance http://www.chiliflake.tumblr.com
    i just posted a recipe so similar with coconut flour -for pancakes.

  12. I love to freeze leftover meals like stews, chili, sauces and soup. So convenientwhen I need a healthy meal FAST. All the dinners you posted looks so bright and fresh, Coco! That cake looks really tasty, too.

Leave a Reply

