Dinning out and dressing up!


Dinning out in fine restaurants and dressing up for the occasion go together and what a great combo! I love it! 😉 That used to be my life when I was in Buenos Aires. Star always spoiled me by taking me to the best restaurants in the city. And then I came to the US. During the last 4.5 years, I lived with less than $1400 monthly grad student stipend. Luxury by then was to spend $6.99 on a box of organic baby spinach or dinning out less than once a month. However, I never felt poor or sad because of the tight budget… although it was with much less money, the instantaneous satisfaction is similar to a meal of >$200. Since the arrival of Star, my life changed again. Slowly, I began to eat out more often, from once every two weeks to several times a week; from going to local asian restaurants to the finest french restaurant in DC. I am definitely a lucky girl. I always say it and I always feel it. No matter how many years have passed, how many great things happened to me… my wonder of how lucky I am is still fresh~~~ 😀

Last night we had dinner at Occidental Grill and Sea Food. For one hundred years the Occidental has been a gathering place for the nation’s political power brokers, sports figures and celebrities. The photos of these notables have long lined the walls of the restaurant, serving as a barometer for the city and a reminder of the honorable, scandalous and just plain fun adventures that have taken place within its walls.

IMG_1098.JPG

the ambiance is perfect for a business dinner (as we were), elegant and relaxing.

IMG_1118.JPG

Before we order anything, they brought us a basket of warm bread with butter. The bread was amazing. Crunchy on the outside, soft and warm on the inside.

IMG_1102.JPG

we order Argentinean red wine for the meal

IMG_1101.JPG

as pre-starter we had a mushroom soup, courtesy of the chef

IMG_1103.JPG

Star and other guests all had the Pan Roasted Foie Gras With Sour Grape Powder, Black Mission Fig Jam, Baby Upland Cress and Duck Glace.

Served with a Walnut Raisin Toast Point

IMG_1105.JPG

I had the special salad of the day: roasted baby beets, pistachos and goat cheese

IMG_1107.JPG

As entree, they had Grilled Center Cut Filet Mignon with Sweet Onion Soubise, Grilled Scallions, and Yukon Gold Potato Croquette Black Truffle Essences

IMG_1110.JPG

and I had Pan Seared Jumbo “Elephant Trusk” Sea Scallops Topped With a Crisp Pita Crust and served with Hummus, Cilantro Taboule, and Mr. Whipple Paprika Oil

IMG_1108.JPG

we also shared Grilled White Asparagus

IMG_1112.JPG

Roasted “Pee Wee” Fingerling Potatoes

IMG_1111.JPG

Sautéed Rapini with Golden Raisins and Shallots

IMG_1113.JPG

Sautéed Wild Mushrooms with Garlic and Herbs

IMG_1116.JPG

everyone was full but I insisted that we “must” end our great meal with at least a bite of sweet. So we shared Praline Crunch Torte. Layers of Orange Caramel Mousse, Dark Chocolate Mousse, and Praline Crunch, Served with Blood Orange Reduction

IMG_1120.JPG

Finally, the restroom pic taking 😉

IMG_0261.JPG

my outfit for the night

IMG_0254.JPG
look the details: the new ring and the earrings.
IMG_0257.JPG
other outfits
IMG_0233.JPG
IMG_0266.JPG
Officially we celebrated the chinese new year three times with three great meals and great new friends! 😀
Q: What’s your favorite cuisine when dine out? I would say.. for a quick meal, I like thai, vietnamese and japanese; for a good dinner, I prefer french or italian. The ambiance and the service can totally buy me.
8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Dinning out and dressing up!

  1. I love your style so much! Let’s go shopping 🙂

  2. Oh i love dressing up too!! looking cute like always coco!

  3. I absolutely love your last outfit! SO CUTE!!!! 🙂

  4. YOur outfit is amazing!! I love it. You always wear such trendy clothes, but not ones that look like you are “copying a look”…you know?? I love it, it’s always a unique look!
    The food looks amazing. I love the combination of of beets and goat cheese. I also love scallops, of any kind. And mushrooms!! To be honest, all of this food looked amazing to me, and I’d order it all if I could!

  5. Ahhhhh that place looks awesome! haha the website looks classy ^_~ did you like going to casual places like “Clapton” in Bs.As? haha there were so many young young people–like teenagers there probably. I’m not really a drinker and don’t have a taste/inclination for it–but I’ve heard Argentine wine is amazing! What’s your opinion coco?

  6. Such a cute outfit and gorgeous meal, Coco! Happy Chinese New Year!

  7. DiningAndDishing

    That meal looks fantastic!! I’ve never been there before but I definitely need to add it to my to-try list :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. The meal looks fabulous and so do you! And what a bathroom! How luxurious. 🙂 We like Thai when we go out…we never do fine dining b/c my hubby thinks it’s not enough food for the $$. LOL

Leave a Reply

