Everyday happiness


Location: gym

Time: 7PM (post shower)

Action: lotion application

and I thought how is it possible that this little act makes me so happy everyday? Β It might sound pathetic, but it does, the 5 min post-shower-lotion-application makes me really happy~~~ I dunno… maybe I’m weird :shock:. And then I realized that there are so many little things that make me happy everyday. Things like

  • waking up rested
  • morning coffee
  • a long nap
  • a good workout
  • a movie that makes me think, like Blue Valentine
  • chat with a good friend
  • receive/write a email from a good friend
  • a clean home
  • chocolate souffle like this one

etc.

maybe they are all small things; maybe they only give me 5-10 min of happiness, but they sum up! πŸ˜€ If someone asks me what do you need to be happy? I’d say nothing. Of course I want many things, but even though I want them, I am not sure that once I have them they’ll make me happy. What I am sure is that these little-everyday-things do make me happy~~~ So instead of wanting more of things that probably make me happy, why not just let these little-everyday-things happen? πŸ˜€

I finally made a new breakfast!!! πŸ˜†

IMG_0911.JPG

two clementines with a wrap filled with LC, pumpkin puree

IMG_0905.JPG

and scrambled egg whites

IMG_0908.JPG

YUM YUM~~~

IMG_0913.JPG

I worked in the morning (TA duties). For lunch I add some bok choy and brown rice noodles to the chicken soup

IMG_0891.JPG

IMG_0895.JPG

Look the snow storm we had last night.

IMG_0221.JPG

I went to the gym, surprisingly the gym was packed! Look for outfit prepared for the snow

IMG_0225.JPG

For dinner I made a veggie stir fry with tahini-miso sauce

IMG_0899.JPG

simple sautΓ© onion, carrot, cabbage and mushrooms with oil, and add a sauce made with 2 tbsp of miso + 1 tbsp tahini + 1 tbsp mirin.

as dessert: steamed kabocha! I love this! I think my favorite kabocha is the one that has yellow-green meat (I don’t this pic does not reflect that) instead of orange because it is less sweet and the texture is more like yam.

IMG_0903.JPG

Q: What’s your everyday happy moment?

 

 

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Everyday happiness

  1. I’ve been going super late at night for the gym because it’s still too busy!

  2. Ahhhh I LOVE THE LAUGHING COWWWW πŸ˜› There are too many things that make me joyful! I’m easy to please what can I say? I guess I’ll choose…coffee in the morning? And afternoon? haha

  3. ahh your eats look so delicous. I love my coffee in the morning ❀ πŸ˜€

  4. My morning cuppa joe definitely makes me way too happy. HAHA

  5. I’m with you on the small things that make you happy; morning coffee, good desserts, waking up rested, talking with good friends, I agree 100%!

    I love your new breakfast. How clever! I would never think to mix pumpkin, Laughing Cow, and egg whites, but I think it sounds awesome.

    I made the pork last night, but deviated a bit form your recipe. It turned out perfect (but a tad dry because I didn’t use a fatty piece….). Nick loved it. I’ll post about it soon!

  6. Jos

    Right after my morning workout. It makes me feel energized for the rest of the day πŸ™‚
    Cute hat btw!

  7. Love the idea of combining pumpkin and egg whites!

  8. Cute hat! Love that! and of course the chicken noodle soup on this cold day….
    I am back to blog business, haha, finally!

  9. I love the happiness in the little everyday things! Mmm, breakfast looks yummy! Your hat is super cute, Coco!

    Hope you have a great Friday! πŸ™‚

  10. Your wrap lools delish! And I’m not envious of all that snow….at all. YUCK!
    A little thing that makes me happy is my shower first thing in the morning. It’s 10 minutes of quiet warmth before the craziness of the day begins…

  11. I think it’s important to recognize the little things in life that make us happy. πŸ™‚
    I heard about the crazy snow storm in DC and that some people were without power! Stay safe!

  12. Those moments are literally the ones that sustain us! I’m so glad you are able to enjoy the little things. There is so much research in this area – suggesting that the big things (i.e., the once a year trip to Hawaii or some equivalent) are not satisfying enough…that little, daily moments are the ones that bring true happiness. So YAY for you!!!!
    My greatest moment is when Rob walks in the door from work πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

