Unconventional chinese food


Unconventional chinese food in China? This is a wrong sentence by definition because Chinese people would eat anything without hesitation! Seriously, they would eat everything! 😯

Hot pot is very popular in China. It is specially fun to eat with friends in cold days.

IMG_0050.JPG

few appetizers

IMG_0054.JPG

some conventional ingredients: shrimp balls, frozen tofu, dry bean “paper” and fish balls in bamboo

IMG_0055.JPG

Da da da da!!! the “conventional ingredient”: loaches

IMG_0056.JPG

I couldn’t do it! My friend finished it all by herself.

IMG_0058.JPG

Yesterday we drove 1.5 hours to eat at a restaurant that is constructed above the lake that they breed crabs. Look what we had

screw

IMG_0083.JPG

do you know how to eat it? suck it! 😯

IMG_0084.JPG IMG_0086.JPG

fresh steamed lake fish

IMG_0088.JPG

fried small fish

IMG_0089.JPG

conventional dishes: celery sauteed with smoked tofu

IMG_0090.JPG

fresh lake fish in red sauce

IMG_0092.JPG

eel

IMG_0094.JPG

the star of the meal: crabs!

IMG_0097.JPG

this is mine

IMG_0098.JPG

ehhhhhh…… in eatable-pieces

IMG_0100.JPG

I used 5 bowls and 5 plates 😯

IMG_0099.JPG

In addition to eating-out a lot, I shopped even more. πŸ˜† Like my red boots? I love it! πŸ˜€

DSC01587.JPG

Less than a week until I go back. 😦

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Unconventional chinese food

  1. You and your shopping habits, I love it! I wish I could go shopping as much as you do. Those red boots look great on you, and I love that “relaxed” picture of you on the couch, you look so in the moment and …well..relaxed!

    The fish balls in bamboo sound very interesting. I would love to take a trip with you and eat some of these foods. While they are very different from what we eat here, I love the adventure of eating new and unusual foods.

  2. Looks like an interesting culinary experience, for sure. I’m a little wary of any food that still looks like…animals, so I’m not sure I could have eaten some of that seafood. πŸ™‚

    Love the new red boots! Now you’ll be all ready for snow! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so glad you’re having so much fun! Oooh, so many new foods to me, I love seeing new dishes like this! Your new boots are adorable, Coco!

  4. lele

    are these the famous ε€§ι—ΈθŸΉ? Looks awesome!

  5. thedelicateplace

    *barf* i could not eat that loach haha and i’ll eat just about any protein!i cannot eat eel either but my husband loves it! i love your boots! and as always enjoy seeing another traditional cultures daily life in food!

  6. Jae

    I absolutely LOVE your posts because you’re so enthusiastic and have so much fun :). I also think its because of the Korean in me; the food, even though it’s Chinese, seems absolutely DELICIOUS.
    Have fun in China :))

  7. yay for having fun coco!

  8. Anita

    I’ve never seen loaches before in hot pot O: Did you try any at all? I’d imagine that it tastes like eel.

    Happy (late) new year, btw. πŸ™‚

  9. Kath (Eating for Living)

    The loach … Eek! 😯 I couldn’t have eaten it either. I’m also not a big fan of eel. When my dad catches eel (he loves fishing), he smokes them or pickles them in jelly. Gah.

  10. Love Love Love the boots!

  11. wow some of those foods look crazy! i love trying new things

Leave a Reply

