Post madness: cookies and candied ginger


After 10 days of madness between a trip, 75 job applications and 3 interviews, I was exhausted. I needed urgently to

  • sleep >6 a night
  • waking up without questions and to-do list in mind
  • eat properly
  • visit my kitchen
  • do groceries
  • reply personal emails
  • workout (haven’t workout for >10 days, a record!)

Thursday after 3 PM I was ready to cross all these! πŸ˜€

I’ve been making this combo as breakfast/snack/ and really like it

Oatmeal bread, LC, homemade apple butter and handful of spinach

IMG_0390.JPG

IMG_0393.JPG

grill for 5 min

IMG_0396.JPG

ready

IMG_0401.JPG

YUM~

IMG_0406.JPG

Star requested more peanut cookies, so as a good wife and baking lover, cookies I baked πŸ˜‰

IMG_0408.JPG

Last time I first made Peanut Butter and then the cookie dough, this time I simplified the process. I processed 1 cup of roasted peanuts with 1/8 cup oil and 1/8 cup water; then added 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour (+1 tbsp baking powder). The dough is very crumbly, it requires 2 hours in the fridge.

IMG_0411.JPG

then make cookies and bake at 375 F 30 min.

IMG_0421.JPG

the texture is great, crunchy and very Peanut! πŸ˜€ Star loved it πŸ˜‰

Another thing that I prepared for Star was candied ginger. It’s not for snack purpose, but more for health purpose. According to TCM, he is in lack of yang, which Β makes him to feel cold often and to have slow digestion. One thing for this kind of person is GINGER, peeled ginger.

Ingredients: Crystal Candy (to balance the heat of the ginger) and peeled ginger

IMG_0415.JPG

Bake the whole piece of ginger at 350 F for 2 hours. Peel and slice

IMG_0423.JPG

this is chinese crystal candy

IMG_0418.JPG

take two big pieces, dissolve it with some water and add sliced ginger.

IMG_0425.JPG

Cook at low for 1 hours.

IMG_0449.JPG

To serve: take 2-3 slices of ginger and add hot water. Drink the water and eat the ginger. You’ll feel warm immediately. πŸ™‚

And then I finally cooked a meal!!!

It’s as simple as stir-fry tofu with shiitake and tofu

IMG_0378.JPG

served with brown rice

IMG_0385.JPG

Q: How’s your weekend? Ours is good! A low key weekend that involves homemade chinese food, walking around, a movie, farmer’s market and more πŸ˜‰

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Post madness: cookies and candied ginger

  1. Kath (Eating for Living)

    Low-key weekends are the best. πŸ˜‰ I definitely have to try that ginger recipe!

  2. Sounds like a crazy time for you! Hope the job interviews went well!

    Glad you got in some therapeutic baking and relax time. I had a busy weekend but am enjoying putting things together for Foodbuzz 24^3 on Thursday and running!

  3. thedelicateplace

    glad you got some time for yourself in there after all that! mine has been pretty low key as well and i’m so happy because the holiday will have me cooking up a storm!

  4. I’ve been reading a lot of great things about mushrooms lately. I may have to consider buying the dried versions…yum! Is that what you do?

    The sandwich looks fantastic. And, I’m glad you are back to your normal self and less stressed. It’s a great feeling to feel level and relaxed, isn’t it?!

  5. oh girl! I hope this week is VERY relaxing for you! Those pb cookies look just perfect. I love how fluffy they look!

  6. Wow, that grilled sammy looks fantastic, Coco! It was so sweet of you to make candied ginger for your hubby — I would love to give that a try!

  7. So good to hear that you got some relaxing time in! Hope the interviews went well!!

  8. 75 applications? Hardcore, Coco! I hope everything works out with the interviews! Your sandwich and peanut cookies sounds really tasty and the stirfry looks mouth watering. I’m always cold, too. Maybe I should look into some ginger tea for myself….

  9. I would like to try making that candied ginger. Can you make a simple syrup with water and sugar instead of water and that “lump candy”?

Leave a Reply

