POM Dinner Party


I was lucky to be selected one of the 100 people across the country to host a POM dinner party! πŸ˜† Basically I have to prepare a dinner based on pomegranate inspired dishes. So, here’s menu (incomplete because I forgot to add sides dishes :shock:)

IMG_0351.JPG

POM sent me two big cases of fresh pomegranates

IMG_0321.JPG

I was going to practice how to open a pomegranate to do a demo in front of my guests

IMG_0332.JPG

IMG_0336.JPG

but it splashed everywhere! I didn’t want have a living with “blood” everywhere so I skipped that part πŸ˜‰

IMG_0340.JPG

that’s what one pomegranate yields… quite a lot

IMG_0364.JPG

the night before I prepared the dessert

IMG_0339.JPG

Some wrapping was required πŸ˜‰

IMG_0333.JPG

very POM table πŸ˜‰

IMG_0354.JPG

before guests arrived… some photo shooting with POMs and POM apron πŸ˜‰

IMG_0362.JPG

my dearest friends arrived and helped me to bread cutting

IMG_0365.JPG

homemade french bread

IMG_0367.JPG

ready for the party to start! πŸ˜€

IMG_0368.JPG

First course: Pear salad with POM honey dressing with feta cheese crumbles

IMG_0371.JPG

Dressing:

Salad:

  • arils from 1 large POM Wonderful Pomegranates
  • 1 lb. salad greens
  • 1/2 cup sliced honey roasted almonds
  • 1 cup feta cheese crumbles
  • 2 ripe pears

Main dish: Pork Tenderloin with Pomegranate and Onion Marmalade

Side dish #1: POM-Glazed Baked Squash and Apples

Side dish #2: Mashed green peas

IMG_0373.JPG

Pork Tenderloin with Pomegranate and Onion Marmalade adapted from POM recipe

Ingredients

Tenderloin

  • 1 cup POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice
  • 2 1-lb. pork tenderloins
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon dried rosemary
  • 1 lb. bacon
  • 1 cup chicken broth

Marmalade

  • 1 cup arils from 1 large POM Wonderful pomegranates
  • 1 16-oz bag frozen whole petite onions
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoons salt
  • 6 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar

Preparation

Tenderloins:

  • Rub each tenderloin with salt, pepper, thyme and rosemary.
  • Wrap each tenderloin with bacon
  • Over medium-high heat brown tenderloins
  • Add chicken broth and pomegranate juice
  • Cover and bake at 350F until pork until thermometer inserted in center is 165F. About 50 min.

Marmalade:

  • Heat a skillet over medium-high heat; add water and frozen onions.
  • Reduce heat to low and cook until soft, about 20 minutes.
  • Add salt, honey and white wine vinegar.
  • Cook until onions are glazed and sauce is thickened.

POM-Glazed Baked Squash and Apples

Ingredients

  • 1 cup POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice
  • 2 lbs. butternut squash
  • 3 apples
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon salt or to taste
  • Arils for garnish

Preparation

  • Peel butternut squash and cut into 2-inch chunks.
  • Cut apples into slices.
  • Mix together light brown sugar and pomegranate juice.
  • Spread on squash and apples.
  • Drizzle with butter.
  • Bake 20 to 30 minutes until soft.
  • Garnish with arils.

Mashed green peas

Use a hand mixer to puree 1 bag of green peas (de frozen and microwaved for 10 min), 2 tbsp butter, S+P.

Dessert: lemon panna cotta with POM gelatin

IMG_0377.JPG

Ingredients

Lemon panna cotta

  • 5 tbsps lemon juice
  • 2 tsps powdered unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cup milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsps lemon peel, grated
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

POM gelatin

  • 1/4 cup water, boiling hot
  • 2 tsps powdered unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cups pomegranate juice

Preparation

Lemon panna cotta

  • Sprinkle the powdered gelatin over the lemon juice and let sit for ten minutes until softened.
  • Combine the milk and cream in a saucepan and heat until warm.
  • Stir softened gelatin into the milk with the sugar and stir over low heat until dissolved.
  • Remove from heat and stir in the lemon peel and vanilla extract until smooth.
  • Pour into 10 serving glasses and refrigerate.

pomegranate gelatin

  • Stir the gelatin and hot water together until the gelatin has dissolved.
  • Pour the pomegranate juice into the mixture and stir.
  • When the panna cotta has firmed (about 2 hours) pour a layer of pomegranate gelatin over each panna cotta and let set up in refrigerator (2 hours more).

Everyone liked the food! There was also a lot of laugh! I was so happy to see everyone enjoying the food and having great time! πŸ˜†

IMG_0369.JPG

Thanks POM for letting me host such a Wonderful party!

Thanks my dearest friends to be my guest and bring so much joys to my life! πŸ˜€

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “POM Dinner Party

  1. Kath (Eating for Living)

    Yay for happy eveniing with friends! And you made such delicious foods! πŸ˜€ I’d never dare to host and cook for so many people!

  2. What an amazing party–with a menu to match!

  3. you are so gorgeous! and i love that apron! hahaha!

  4. Looks like a great party! And you’re right…pomegranates are so messy! That POM apron is hilarious!

    Your dessert looks really creative, too! I wish I could have been there to taste everything. πŸ™‚

  5. Coco, I’m SO impressed!! You definitely deserved to be chosen by POM Wonderful to host this party. You did such an amazing job, and I wasn’t even there to enjoy it! I’m jealous of your guests πŸ™‚
    I love pomegranates but to be honest, I hate preparing them. Like you said, the juice splash everywhere! I haven’t come up with a better way to get the seeds out. I tried it in water once but it didn’t work to well…. I need to practice.

  6. FABULOUS meal you prepared, Coco!!! πŸ™‚

  7. thedelicateplace

    looks like a lovely menu! i think the apron is so hilarious and cute πŸ™‚

  8. How fun. Those aprons totally crack me up. The fresh bread looks delicious and I love the idea of POM-Glazed Baked Squash and Apples.

  9. That is quite the lovely dinner party, Coco! Your menu looks really awesome, what a pretty fall salad (yum!).

  10. Ellie

    Hi Coco!!! que cena tan riquiiiisimaaa!! hehe I’ve been reading your blog for just a while now, and I love it! and you’re from Buenos Aires?! that’s sooo cool, I am too! what part of B.A? I was around Avellaneda and close to Rivadavia. Do you miss it? sorry so many Q’s. God bless you and take care~

  11. Looks like you had a great time!! πŸ™‚ And all the food looks amazing! I’d love some of the lemon panna cotta with POM gelatin right now!

    Have a wonderful weekend, Coco! πŸ™‚

  12. I love your creation. You have used pomegranate in all the courses so well.

  13. Wow, what a fabulous evening. Your dinner guests were very lucky. My personal fav is the pannacotta. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

