Happy Diwali!


My weekends are getting busier and busier ;), no time to blog, no time to read blog, only time to sleep and have fun! 😆 I love my life!!!

What’s Diwali? It’s popularly known as the festival of lights, is an important five-day festival in HinduismJainism, andSikhism, occurring between mid-October and mid-November. For Hindus, Diwali is the most important festival of the year and is celebrated in families by performing traditional activities together in their homes.

Star and I were invited by my advisor Carlos, who is married to an Indian woman, to their home to celebrate Diwali. It was such a fun experience to observe the traditional ceremony and eat a lot of indian food!!! 😆

oh… I went to the best salon in DC for a new haircut 😉

Pooja with all the kids! Pooja or Puja is a religious ritual performed by Hindus as an offering to various deities, distinguished persons, or special guests. It is done on a variety of occasions and settings, from daily puja done in the home, to temple ceremonies and large festivals, or to begin a new venture. Puja is modeled on the idea of giving a gift or offering to a deity or important person and receiving their blessing. They sit on the floor in front of indian Gods. They gave Gods cloth (piece of linen), water, food (sweets); we sang a song; everyone was blessed with the red tint in the third eye  followed by eating a piece of blessed candy.

they were a lot of food and people (>60?), so I just managed to take the first spread of food (appetizers), an hour later we had another spread (7-8 dishes) of main dishes followed by another spread of indian desserts! I was amazed because I actually liked almost everything, although I had no idea their name and only guessed their ingredients 😉

I know this one: SAMOSAS! 😉

and then firecrackers

More weekend happening later 😉

Q1: What are you doing for fun this weekend?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Happy Diwali!

  1. Your hair looks GREAT Coco! And, I’m so happy to hear that your sadness has gone away and you are happy again 🙂 Staying busy and socializing really helps, right?! All the food looks wonderful, and I’m glad you got to enjoy the moment with the love of your life!

  2. What a cool celebration- awesome that they let you guys take part. And your hair looks fab.

  3. What a fun evening! I love me some samosas too:)

  4. Your hair is so pretty! Love it!

    It looks like you had a great time at the Diwali festivities. Indian food is definitely one of my faves.

  5. All the food looks great! I need to try more Indian cuisne, it’s so festive.

  6. Happy Diwali to you too! Thanks for sharing your experience with us, it looks like it was a lot of fun!

  7. What an AMAZING night! It looks like so much fun!

  8. What a great experience! All the food looks amazing. And your hair looks great…

  9. melissa @ the delicate place

    thinking about taking a road trip or going to see christmas light displays already! happy diwali 🙂 i love indian food 🙂

  10. Kath (Eating for Living)

    What a lovely ceremony! And your hair looks great!

  11. You pull off the red dot well sister!

    I still haven’t had really good Indian food. I just started giving it a chance so hopefully soon I’ll get a hold of some quality food!

Leave a Reply

