Buns & Park


When Star comes on weekends, I like to prepare something special for him. The last time was red sauced pork, the week before was PB cookies. This week I made him buns filled with black sesame seed paste. 🙂

I prepared the dough using the bread machine

the pasta was made with black sesame seed pasta, brown sugar and coconut oil

Steam for 12 min

Look these fatty spongy buns, so cute 😉

A nutritious breakfast: friend egg, bun and oatmeal

don’t be afraid of black foods… they’re actually really good for us, specially for our kidneys (not the organ kidneys, but chinese medicine’s kidneys)

Sunday was a beautiful day but I was kind of frustrated. Well.. let me explain. Remember that I had knee pain issue 10 days ago? After that, I took a break from running and the pain went away. On Saturday, I went out for a test-run and I had to stop after just one mile 😦 The pain was mild because I stopped immediately. But then I walk couple of hours later that day and the pain came back. Sooooo frustrated!!! I began to worry that I can’t run again.

It was such a beautiful day and all I could do was sit at the couch. 😦 More frustration. But Star insisted that we went out anyway… even just driving around. So we went to a park an hour away from DC and it was such a good idea. The park is quite, the scenery was beautiful, the air was fresh. Although we didn’t walk much, I still enjoy it a lot!

Knee issue update: I went to a sport doctor and I’m okay. More later! 😉

Q1: What do you do when you get frustrated?

Q2: Any black food that you tried?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Buns & Park

  1. I swear, I am actually so glad I don’t run because all runners seem to get some sort of chronic pain/injury eventually! I hope your sports doctor gave you good news.

    I don’t eat much of anything that is black, unless mushrooms count. Oh, what about DARK chocolate?! I eat a lot of that!

    Glad you had a nice weekend with Star 🙂 He’s lucky to be married to such a great cook!

  2. Aww, what a nice wife. 🙂

    Sorry to hear about the knee issues, but it sounds like you are ok? Running is a funny thing…it’s great but causes a lot of injuries!

  3. So sweet of you to make these yummy things for your hubby! I’m glad to hear your knee is ok, Coco!

  4. oooo i love steamed buns!!

  5. DiningAndDishing

    I love steamed buns – your version looks delicious! I have had squid ink pasta a few times. I think it’s more fun becasue it’s black :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. Blackhill Regional Park is really beautiful at this time isn’t it? You have just made one of my favorite bun – black sesame paste. Yummy.

  7. Hey, where do you get black sesame seed paste from? How is it packaged?

  8. Those steamed buns look delicious! If chocolate counts, then I’m eating something black right now! 😉

  9. Sorry to hear about your knee but I’m glad you say it’s OK.

    The buns look yummy, too. I’ve never tried any black food….unless black beans count?

  10. I’m sorry that your knee isn’t better 😦
    I only tried steamed buns once,I loved them!
    Maybe I should find a recipe and try to make them, although I don’t have a steamer like that…

Leave a Reply

