Talk to him!


Let me first as you a question. How many times per day do you and your bf /hubby talk by phone/chat? Assuming that you don’t live together or you don’t see each other during the day.

In my case sometimes we talk by phone twice a day (minimum) or 6 times like yesterday. Sometimes it’s just 2-3 min to say hi (underlying message= I’m thinking about you). Sometimes an hour when we share some experience or discuss something.

I’ve read that couples talk communicate less and less with the pass of time. I know it’s bad. I wonder if that is inevitable after being together for decades; after you think you can perfectly think like the other person, so you assume you know the answer, therefore you don’t ask anymore. Communicating with each other is good for the relationship and necessary for our own sanity. It can be as small as what you had for lunch, or as big as to wedding planning or as silly as to listen to him to eat cookies that you baked for him ;). The point is to keep the communication channel flowing. Β πŸ™‚ Just my two cents on the matter.

******

Food-wise was a good day. Fortunately bloating got better two. πŸ˜‰

Breakfast: black corn, apples and pumpkin seed (raw)

IMG_0209.JPG

Lunch: stir-fry bok choy with shiitake mushroom in a ginger shoyo sauce served with brown rice

IMG_0212.JPG

A miso soup made with tomato, seaweed, frozen green peas and silken tofu

IMG_0213.JPG

IMG_0214.JPG

as pictured

IMG_0216.JPG

snack: pumpkin seed + assorted preserved fruit and veggies (Star brought them from Beijing)

IMG_0220.JPG

For dinner I tried for the first time Seitan

IMG_0222.JPG

it looks like this

IMG_0224.JPG

Sweet and Sour Seitan (the original recipe uses tempeh) It is onion, carrot, celery, broccoli and seitan cooked in a sesame oil, mirin and brown rice vinegar sauce.

IMG_0228.JPG

served with hato mugi or chinese barley

IMG_0225.JPG

as pictured

IMG_0231.JPG

My version

IMG_0230.JPG

a note about hato mugi or Job’s tears

Functions and Usage according to Chinese Medicine
  • Promotes urination, drains dampness
  • Strengthens the spleen, stops diarrhea.
  • Clears heat and expels pus – lung or intestinal abscesses.
  • Expels wind-damp, relieves joint and muscle pain.
  • Clears damp-heat
  • Clear the skin -specially effective for acne

Q: Have you tried any new grain recently?

 

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Talk to him!

  1. Kath (Eating for Living)

    I have tried quinoa. I didn’t fall in love immediately, but it tastes good.

  2. I agree, it’s so important to talk to your hubby when you’re not together. When Mike and I were living on opposite sides of the world we talked twice a day — once in the morning and once in the evening. It was hard but we got through it. Hopefully you and your hubby will be reunited soon!

  3. DiningAndDishing

    I’ve tried quinoa before but just recently had red quinoa for the first time. The texture seemed chewier so I enjoyed it!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. I have a long distance boyfriend and we usually talk on the phone every night before bed. Sometimes for ten minutes, sometimes for 30.

    And usually a few texts are exchanged throughout the day, but definitely not constant communication.

  5. omg seitan looks unrealistically real!

  6. no grains for me but about the talking thing. we’ve been married for 3 years and every day we end up g-chatting at work, sending an email or tweeting at one another then we come home and chat some more πŸ™‚ we love to talk

  7. Seth and I talk at least 2-3 times per day via texting/GChat/phone.
    You have me craving seitan now!

  8. I completely agree with you…communication is really important and shouldn’t be overlooked or passed over, especially as a relationship goes on. While I think that texting, etc. is a good tool, I think that there is also something to be said about face to face or voice communication. πŸ™‚

  9. Chicken style seitan? I’ve never heard of it. It does actually look really tasty, especially paired with rice and veggies.

    Glad your bloating has gotten better. That’s never fun. Maybe just talking to Start more helped πŸ™‚ Stress can cause bloating too. Nick and I talk on the phone…never. When I am out of town though, we talk 1-2 times a day. We do a lot of talking at home though, and testing throughout the day!

  10. Hey! I think with jobs now requiring more and more from people, its harder for people to break free and take a minute out of their days to talk to the ones they love. It is totally sad. Josh and I usually text a couple times a day when hes at work and sometimes chat quickly once a day. Then we gets home we really catch up. Great lunch. I’ve never cooked with bok choy. I want to!

  11. I have got to keep an eye out for that new grain you’ve been eating!!

    I agree that communication is key. My hubby and I talk WAY less now that we did 15yrs ago when we met. You get busy, one’s here, the other’s there, the kids are in the room….the list goes on. But the effort is worth it b/c when the conversation is gone, there’s not much left….

  12. I agree that communication is vital!! I like to think that my husband and I still talk a lot. He is the first person I turn to when I have something on my mind I want to share, which is almost always. We chat almost all day on Google Chat as well.

  13. My husband and I communicate ALL day long. When I was working full time we would email all day long and now we google chat, and talk on the phone. Since I’m a stay at home mom now he comes home for lunch and that is another way we communicate.

    I don’t think lack of communication has anything to do with time, it has to do with getting too comfortable in a relationship to try that hard. I love how my husband pursues me and I love pursuing him.

  14. I agree that communication is key! My man and I usually chat online a few times during the day, or email each other, and neither of us are “phone people” so we’ll call each other occasionally…but we’re always communicating!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend so far πŸ™‚

  15. just wanted to quickly wish you a HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

Leave a Reply

