Slipping away from Petit Macro: cookies?


After the amazing meal the night before… I woke up with a belly discomfort. I don’t know if it was due to eating too oily pasta sauce (blue cheese and walnut sauce) or that I had too much of my beloved homemade breads…. I was bloated even after 8 hours 😦 So, a macrobiotic breakfast was no than needed

IMG_0103.JPG

a soup made with bamboo shots, kombu, shiitake, daikon, carrots, kale and miso; oatmeal and edamame.

IMG_0100.JPG

for lunch I had leftover chickpea millet cake with tofu tartar sauce, steamed veggies, roasted pumpkin seeds and more edamame

IMG_0028.JPG

IMG_0030.JPG

I finished writing the first draft of my job market paper. YAY~~~ πŸ˜† To celebrate I went for a run! A short one, just 4 miles but it wasn’t a pleasant one. I got a knee pain after 15 min into running, I tried to walk a little bit to stretch but the pain didn’t go away, so I ignored it and continued. Now I can’t walk straight 😦 I googled and found that my symptoms resembled to IT Band Symptoms. Any one had this? Β Any tip?

Anyway… back home. I wanted to bake something… what? more bread? nop… too time consuming. I wanted to bake something that is easy and fast. Okay. Cookies!!! You know that I don’t have sweet tooth and I almost never eat cookies. But yesterday I kind of wanted one, so I made Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup APF
  • 1 tbsp baking poweder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 stick butter room temperature
  • 1 cup homemade peanut butter (blend 2 cups of roasted peanuts for 10 min)

IMG_0107.JPG

Method:

  1. mix flour, salt and baking powder
  2. use a hand mixer to mix PB, butter, sugar and egg until fluffy
  3. combine 1 and 2 and let it rest at the fridge for 2-3 hours
  4. form balls with hands and flatten it
  5. pinch the cookies with a folk
  6. bake at 350 F for 10 min

IMG_0110.JPG

love the smell of fresh baked cookies!!!

IMG_0120.JPG

IMG_0119.JPG

Two-course dinner: steamed veggies with plum vinegar sauce and brown rice

IMG_0125.JPG

green peas soup

IMG_0126.JPG

IMG_0127.JPG

it looks pretty similar to the original version ,right? πŸ˜‰

IMG_0135.JPG

and the slipping away… heheheh……..

IMG_0134.JPG

It’s sooooo good!!! πŸ˜† Soft, crumbly, tasty and it almost melts in my mouse! hehehehe…. it’s the power of the butter I guess. And the most awesome part? it’s incredible easy to make!!! I said I just wanted one… so who am I suppose to do with the rest of the batch? feed the man!!! πŸ˜€ YAY~~~ Star’s coming back today!!!

As you can see… I don’t follow the plan strictly… I’ve been slipping away quite often, which is totally fine for me because I’m only doing it for fun! πŸ™‚ I am also pausing it during the weekend so I can spend more time with my hubby πŸ˜€

Q1: Anything exciting this weekend?

Q2: Do you like cookies? What’s your favorite?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Slipping away from Petit Macro: cookies?

  1. Sorry to hear about the belly discomfort. That happens to me as well when I eat more than normal or something “heavier” than I’m used to. Boo!

    I haven’t made cookie in WAY too long! PB ones are awesome and I bet the homemade peanutbutter made a big difference in the flavour.

    So glad to hear that Star is back! And that your paper is coming along. Have fun…..:)

  2. can’t believe you make coooookies!!! it’s not very coco , haha πŸ™‚ but I love PB cookies, they are just taste so nutty !! welcome to the cookie league!

  3. Uhm, yeah, those cookies look so good! Can I have one?? : )

  4. My favorite cookies are white chocolate macadamia nut! But in reality, I like any cookie! πŸ˜‰

  5. Yay, I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend with hubby! The cookies look pretty delicious Coco! Hope your knee feels better!

Leave a Reply

