Petit Macro day 1


I started the petit macro 10 days plan!!! 😆

IMG_9929.JPG

This is a very simple macrobiotic meal that you can have almost any time of year.

soft cooked brown rice

IMG_9902.JPG

miso soup with daikon and onion

IMG_9907.JPG

blanched collard greens with toasted white sesame seeds

IMG_9910.JPG

book pic

IMG_9942.JPG

I was lazy and didn’t feel like making lunch according to the plan, so I had leftovers.

After a yoga class in the evening I made proper dinner: Spiral Rice Pasta with Salad and Soy Meat

IMG_9937.JPG

It was way more delicious that I expected!!!! 😯 You have to try it!!!

IMG_9939.JPG

Spiral Rice Pasta with Salad and Soy Meat adapted from Mayumi’s Kitchen

Ingredients for one:

  • 40 g TVP
  • 1 tbsp shoyo
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1.5 tbsp kuzu powder
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/8 cup water
  • 1 cup (55g) dry spiral rice pasta
  • 1 oz. diced onion
  • 1 oz. diced carrot
  • 1 oz. diced celery
  • sea salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 bunch of collard greens chopped and boiled

Method:

  1. Hydrated TVP with water for 15 min, discharge the liquid.  Add shoyo and mirin and soak for 10 min. Squeeze out excess liquid, reserving it and mix with kuzu powder.
  2. Heat 1 tbsp of the oil and dry the TVP until nicely browned. Add 1/8 cup water plus shoyo and mirin liquid from step 1. Cook until it absorbs all the liquid. Set aside.
  3. Cook the pasta and collard greens.
  4. Heat 1 tbsp of oil and saute the veggies, seasoned with S+P.
  5. Mix the pasta, the veggies and the soy meat and serve.

IMG_9944.JPG

The menu has no snack options, so I had copious amount of brown rice with pickles!

IMG_9934.JPG

I love macrobiotic meals!!! Everything tastes good, comforting and calming. The only downside is that the amount indicated for one is too little food for me. I had extra 2-3 cups of brown rice along the day.

I think the biggest changes from the way I used to eat is to cut on dairy, eat more brown rice, snack little and almost no fruit. I’ll see how all these make me feel 🙂

A random question: How many times per month do you eat meat (fish/chicken/beef/pork)?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Petit Macro day 1

  1. I eat chicken/fish a few times a week but don’t often eat beef or pork. I just don’t like them too much. Rice is something I’ve always liked but just started eating more of lately. Your meals look so close to the ones in the book! Mine never look like the pictures. HAHA!!

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better….

  2. Since reading Eating Animals I have no appetite for meat at all.
    I really try to stay away from dairy because it causes me to break out in zits. It was hard at first but now I hardly notice.

    Not eating fruit would be really tough for me though. I eat A LOT. since I’ve gone apple picking I think I’ve been eating about 3 apples a day!

  3. This is actually why I don’t really like trying the macro diet completely, and why I was frustrated when I did my 2-week experiment (gosh that was a long time ago) – there aren’t really any good snacks, and I tend to get bored. I love brown rice, but I just like having more variety! I also like fruit too much to limit it 🙂

    Recently I’ve been trying to eat meat a few times a week.

  4. Yum, you’re making me crave brown rice! I’m a vegetarian, so I haven’t had any meat for the past 7 years.

Leave a Reply

