Weekend happening: food, friends and fun :)


I’ve been busy last weekend trying to squeeze work while having fun with friends! 😀

After the 10 miles, I finally got into work mode. But it has been stressful. All I can think about is my thesis, everything else just happen by inertia. What I love about economics is that it has the power to catch all my attention, and what I hate about economics is that it catches all my attention. I get obsessed with a subject and can’t deviate attention to anything else. Obviously, there’s exception. Like making bread?  😉

A friend requested bread (after seeing hundred of photos in facebook) so I throw a bread party on Sunday afternoon. While I was working, I he made the dough.

IMG_9714.JPG

this time I made Pebetes, a typical argentinean bread for sandwich. A soft oval bun with a spongy inside, and a thin toasted crust.

Ingredients:

  • 600 g water
  • 8 tbsp butter
  • 2 lbs (6 cups) bread flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp yeast

Add the ingredients to the bread machine in this order and choose the dough cycle. After it’s done (90 min), make 25 balls and let it rise in a warm place like microwave  for an hour or until it doubles. Bake at 350 F for 20 min.

IMG_9716.JPG

I intended to make some cheese puffs.. but they did not puff 😦 although still tasty

IMG_9717.JPG

The bread is very spongy and soft.

IMG_9719.JPG

the bread party setting: beers, hams and cheese. 🙂

IMG_9720.JPG

We were 6 in total, but these two couldn’t wait to try it before others arrived 😀

IMG_9722.JPG

Saturday I ended up in a food comma. Korea BBQ for lunch. We were 6 and we ordered 6 gigantic plates of meat plus tons of appetizers!!! :shock:. After lunch each of us went back for nap (while I actually worked for 4 hours) and we met again at night to have Thai food. Once again, I enjoyed the food,  the talk and the company 🙂

In term of homemade food. I’m obsessed with the tahini & miso sauce. A quick stir fry with the sauce

IMG_9704.JPG

served with the perfect rice

IMG_9707.JPG

that’s a perfect meal for me 😆

IMG_9728.JPG

and more sauce on steamed and roasted veggies

as dessert I’ve been having white fungus and corn (love it) 😀

IMG_9712.JPG

and lastly… a new book

IMG_9730.JPG

I have a lot to say about this book (I read it cover to cover in <2 hours), stay tune 😉

Q: What are you obsessed about lately?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Weekend happening: food, friends and fun :)

  1. I can definitely relate to that feeling of having a thesis looming over me. Not fun. BUT, I’m glad you are finding ways to combat the stress and stay sane. Your bread “party in the kitchen” sounds like a lot of fun, and you had so many fabulous breads to share with your friends! They look delicious.

    My food obsession, as of lately, is nothing. I’m in a food funk. You know how those pop up every once in a while?? Ugh! I need out.

  2. thedelicateplace

    my obsession lately is pumpkin but i think i need to take a break. i’ve literally eaten 4-5big cans of it in the last 3 weeks lol

  3. You sure have been eating some amazing food, Coco! Love it! And I wish I could get some of that bread of yours….it’s perfect!

  4. I’m totally obsessed with apples lately! 🙂 All the food looks wonderful Coco! Your bread parties always look like so much fun…and so delicious!

  5. Mm this post is making me crave fresh bread!

  6. DiningAndDishing

    You are quite the baker Coco – I’m impressed!

    I’m constantly obsessed with peanut butter and bananas. I eat them every day and never tire of them!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  7. a bread party sounds fun! you are getting to be quite the baking expert!

    your stir fry looks great, too. lately, i’m obsessed with spicy peanut sauce on stir fry.

  8. Pingback: Tour to my fancy gym & 2 macrobiotic meals « Balance, Joy and Delicias

Leave a Reply

