10-10


Yesterday I run 10 miles and slept 10 hours! πŸ˜†

IMG_0008.JPG

I’ve been in mental block for more than a week. I can’t work, I can’t focus, I can’t do anything productive. Every morning I tell myself that I should start working, but I just couldn’t. And then I feel guilty, I feel grumpy, I feel hating myself. Last evening, after another unproductive day, I had the urge to tackle the mental block by running. 😯 I am not sure if they’re related, I thought so. I map a new course on the google map for a 7 miles run. Scared and doubtful.

IMG_0003.JPGIMG_0004.JPG

I put on my fav running shoes and the inspiring shirt

IMG_0006.JPG IMG_0005.JPG

I haven’t run since the last 10K (that’s more than 10 days) which I didn’t enjoy much. I was afraid that I couldn’t finish the 7 miles goal because it’s long, it’s cold outside and it’s dark. But it was supposed to be hard so it could help me on tackling the mental block. So I went.

The first 3-4 miles was hard. It was uphill for 2 miles. I wanted to stop and walk. But if I walk… I’ll get cold, so I’d better keep running.Β I purposely chose a course away from home (inspired byΒ Emily) so I could not quit. Just about mile 4, I arrived the mid-point which is my friend’s house. I didn’t enter to say hi. I passed it and continued. By then I was feeling energized. I didn’t feel cold, I didn’t feel pain; instead I felt light, I felt happy πŸ˜‰ When I was 1 mile away from home, 8 miles was on the mark, but I felt I just entered into the zone. I could run more and I wanted to run more. So, I deviate the planned course a little bit and end up doing 10 miles in total. πŸ˜€

I felt so accomplished and also so amazed by how our body surprise us! πŸ˜€

IMG_0013.JPG

then I slept 10 hours!!! 😯 It felt soooo good waking up at 8 AM πŸ˜‰

*******

I got a new toy:Β Zojirushi NS-ZCC10 5-1/2-Cup Neuro Fuzzy Rice Cooker and Warmer, Premium White from amazon. Why? Because I want eat more meals like squash tofu.

IMG_9649.JPG

It can make white/brown/sushi rice and porridge.

IMG_9652.JPG

love that the cord is hidden πŸ˜‰

IMG_9657.JPG

so many options!!!

IMG_9653.JPG

can’t wait to play with it! πŸ˜€

Q: How do you tackle a mental block?

9 Comments

Filed under running

9 responses to “10-10

  1. thedelicateplace

    wow 1 hour of sleep for every mile you ran! πŸ™‚ when i’m frustrated or at a road block, i either exercise for a bit to clear my head OR go to sleep (if it’s at night). i find that often a really good night’s rest helps me calm down and relax!

  2. Awesome job on the run and on the rejuvinating sleep! What a cute kitchen gadget! I LOVE how the cord is hidden! πŸ™‚

  3. Totally impressive. I’ve never run more than 4 miles in my life, so I don’t think I’ve ever gotten that euphoric feeling during a run.

  4. um, your “doubtful” face is about the cutest thing ever. i just love you. nice job on the 10 miles! and 10 hours? yes please.

  5. great job on your 10 mile run! I think running is a fantastic stress relief. I hope that things get better soon and less stressful for you! πŸ™‚

  6. Wow…that’s totally inspiring…running 10 mile! You sure deserve a 10 hr sleep πŸ˜€ Love your rice cooker…..looks so cool!

  7. Kath (Eating for Living)

    I so much admire your running! I could never do that! (10 hours of sleep are rather for me. :D)

    When I have a mental block (and I regularly have when I work on an essay or my diploma thesis) what always helps is going for a walk. Moving, fresh air, and natural light always get my head cear.

  8. I think any form of exercise is a great way to help mental blocks, feeling sluggish and to aid in sleeping well! So glad you busted out 10K and felt great afterwards, hun!

    I simply can not wait to see what you do with that new appliance. I love the shape of it, too!

  9. great run! i find i enter “the zone” at about 4-5 miles, (i guess that’s when my muscles finally wake up!) i know what you mean about mental block, usually i find exercise helps. just stepping away from the project and focusing on something else for a while is good. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

