What makes me happy lately


My presentation went well… at least that’s how I felt (and that’s what ultimately matters ;)).  But today I want to talk about something else. I want to talk about what makes me really happy lately (other than having Star close by ;)).

I’ve been feeling a lot of love from some new (old) friends lately. Old because I’ve known them for years. New because I just discover how wonderful they are and we’ve became closer.

Each time they show affection and care about me, I feel so grateful.

Every time we spend time together, I have so much fun.

Every time I think about them, I feel warm and I smile.

This recent discovery was due to something I learned.

I learned to forgive.

I learned to understand them.

I learned to accept that sometimes they have more important things to do than hanging out with me.

I learned to appreciate every friendly gesture.

I learned to not expect.

I learned to not take anything for granted.

In sum, I took a step back from my expectation about friends. However, a little step back actually worked as a big step forward, because I received so much more love and support! 😆

********

Yesterday I craved eggs. In particular, running egg yolk. So I had an unconventional breakfast combo 😉

IMG_9499.JPG

running yolk on toast with butter. Woooo….. I was in heaven! 😀

IMG_9509.JPG

IMG_9511.JPG

just before going to school for the presentation I snacked yogurt + sample pack of bran buds

IMG_0001.JPG

didn’t like it much… it was tasteless and too dry. But it did the trick. I didn’t had lunch until 4PM.

IMG_0002.JPG

my wonderful friends organized a dinner and movie night to celebrate my presentation. 🙂 I didn’t have to bring anything because they were in charge of everything (including the movie ticket! How awesome they are!!! ;)), but I wanted to give back. How? Making bread!!! 😆

IMG_9518.JPG

They are all argentineans so I made an argentinean type of bread called Figazita de Manteca

Ingredients (20 small buns):

  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 3 oz. butter
  • 4 cups of all purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp yeast

Method: Add them in this order to the bread machine. Choose dough cycle. Form 20 buns and let it rest and rise for 1 hour. Bake at 350F for 20 min.

Pre-baking

IMG_9519.JPG

post baking

IMG_9521.JPG

IMG_9523.JPG

IMG_9526.JPG

Tester A: “I can’t believe that you made this. This is exactly like the ones we get from bakery.”

Tester B: ” This is very very good! It reminds me more of Argentina.”

Tester C: “Amazing. I assign you to be the official bread-maker of all our future dinner/lunch/BBQ events!”

YEAH~~~ 😆

Dinner was simple. As appetizer we had guacamole, cheese and figazita de manteca.

IMG_0004.JPG

IMG_0008.JPG

main dish was too kinds of pizza: one with mushroom, onions and cheese

IMG_0009.JPG

and the other one was ham and tomato. I had one slice each. I don’t remember exactly how they tasted. All I could remember was how much I enjoyed just being with my friends! 😉

After dinner, we went to watch Wall Street 2. It was not as good as we all thought. We were a group of economists expected the adrenaline of wall street, but we found a love/family story instead. It was a good story but just not as we expected. I arrived home at 1AM… satisfied with the day! 😀

Q: Have you rediscovered any friend recently? What do you consider the most important factor determining a good friendship? In addition to what I said above, I think BE THERE for friends when they need you is really important. No matter how busy you are, if your good friends need you, STOP whatever you’re doing, just BE THERE for them.

12 Comments

Filed under bread making, breakfast, recipe

12 responses to “What makes me happy lately

  1. thedelicateplace

    congrats on your presentation! hope you didn’t have to get up too early this morning since you didn’t get home until late last night!! i’ve reconnected with an old friend recently and it made me nostalgic about my past. we’re different people now but we still care and listen to each other they way we always had!

  2. it is wonderful you said these things. I felt you changed a lot. I really enjoy our friendship now 🙂

    btw, I can’t believe you ate TWO egg in the morning!even though it’s so enticing!

  3. That’s great advice about friendship – it’s amazing how just being there can be so helpful sometimes. I often struggled b/c I felt like I didn’t have enough friends, but eventually I came to realize that I’m just the type of person who prefers a small, tight-knit circle, rather than a huge group, if that makes sense.

  4. What a lovely post, Coco! I’m glad to hear your dissertation went well. Beautiful thoughts on friendship too.

    Wow, does that runny egg look incredible! 😉

  5. Kath (Eating for Living)

    I’m so happy your presentation went well, after all the stress you had with it during the last days! AND I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR HAPPY LIST! So much wisdom in there … Not to expect too much is one of the very crucial things, I believe, but it can be so hard!

    I believe the foundations of a friendship are loyalty and respect: that you can count on each other and won’t let the other person down, and that you value the other person for her own sake, and vice versa. To that also belongs that you have an interest in the other person’s life. If you want it to be friendship that lasts, you’ll have to grow with each other and on each other. That’s not always easy, but very precious.

  6. congrats on a great presentation. i’m sure you did a fantastic job!

    so nice of your friends to organize a celebration party for you, too. i bet it was a huge relief to have the presentation over with and nice just to relax!

    i think friendship involves a lot of sacrifice. i agree that you should definitely be there for your friends!

  7. Your breakfast eggs are gorgeous!

  8. Mmmmmm, that pizza looks so good! And good friends are worth their weight in gold!

  9. Hi! My name is Lauren from Biochemista.com. I’m putting together a meet & greet happy hour in mid October for DC health bloggers. Let me know if you’re interested in coming! You can follow me on Twitter for updates at LaurBiochemista or follow my blog and I’ll be posting more in the next few weeks. Hope you can make it!

    Lauren

  10. 1) congrats on a fabulous presentation

    2) THIS post makes me happy

    3) You’re awesome, Coco. 🙂

  11. Whoa! Those rolls look incredible! You got the perfect amount of browning on top……I’m jealous of your skills…and your friends who get to enjoy them!

  12. What a great meal. And there’s more of your fab bread!

    Unfortunately I don’t have a lot of close friends right now b/c I’m just to busy to nuture a friendship. I don’t really like that things are this way, but I don’t think it’ll be a forever type situation…

Leave a Reply

