First indian food experience!


I really should NOT be blogging right now because I’m presenting my dissertation paper in few hours, but I’d rather do anything else but reviewing the slides!!! πŸ‘Ώ I’ve working hard lately to get everything right… but still not very happy about it. That’s the problem with research and paper writing… you’re the most critical person to your own work! Every time I read a sentence, I don’t like it, I want to change it, I don’t know how, I wish I was english major, I wish I was better writer, I wish I took a writing course earlier. 😦 Obviously, it’s too late for any of these. I can just try to my best and get over with it. Someone told me once: “your paper will be ready when you can’t read it anymore!” well…. I’m close to that point, I really don’t want to review it one more time!

Sorry for the rants… I need to spill it!

Last weekend, Star and I was walking around the neighbor and I got excited when I saw these: PUMPKINS!!! πŸ˜†

IMG_0002.JPG

and look these gigantic ones!!!

IMG_0001.JPG

who would buy any of these???? I wonder! πŸ˜‰

After our 10K, we went to a indian restaurant called Heritage India, claimed to be the best indian restaurant in DC.

The ambient was very nice.

IMG_0003.JPG

IMG_0007.JPG

After waiting for 40 min and checking all the decor of the place. Our meal arrived!

I order prawn tandori that came with lentil and palau rice

IMG_0021.JPG

and Star ordered lamb tandori

IMG_0024.JPG

and Whole Wheat Nan

IMG_0023.JPG

the Nan was great! so crispy and chewy! I finished to whole basket! πŸ˜‰

IMG_0026.JPG

the shrimp was gigantic and VERY SPICY!!! πŸ‘Ώ

IMG_0028.JPG

I had to eat all the rice to cut the spice (same for Star).

Overall: I like the indian food but maybe not the authentic one because I find it too spicy although the waiter said that it was just mild spicy. Can’t imagine the really spicy ones. However, I really enjoyed the Nan. I think I have one more thing to try to remake at home πŸ˜‰

Sunday afternoon I went to a friend’s home for my presentation rehearsal and he prepared dinner. A man kind of dinner πŸ˜‰

bread with hummus

IMG_0030.JPG

and also brie cheese as appetizer

IMG_0031.JPG

as main dish we had roasted chicken with tomato in olive oil

IMG_0033.JPG

I wouldn’t have eaten this kind of meal by my own but I still enjoyed it because I enjoyed the company, the chat… the meal was just a very small part of the whole dining experience. Β I feel so grateful to have these friends. They are the BEST! πŸ˜†

okay. I’d rather get back to “work” to avoid a disaster in the presentation! πŸ˜‰

Q: Do you like indian food? What’s your favorite dish?

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “First indian food experience!

  1. thedelicateplace

    the first time i had indian food was in 2006 when i lived in india for a month haha! way to throw myself right into it no? my mouth was on fire the whole first week but i adjusted. i love tandoori spice and it was there that i go hooked on masala chai tea

  2. I LOVE Indian food!! And I actually love the spiciness of it, the spicier the better πŸ™‚ I’m impressed with the whole wheat naan. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that on a menu around here. I think that’s fabulous.

    GOOD LUCK defending today!!! You’ll do great!! Just remember to breath, relax, and of course….smile πŸ™‚

  3. lesouefsbrouilles

    the spicier the better! i love indian food!

  4. haha, even though you were blogging today, you did really well, isn’t it! there is a positive correlation between them!!!

    The Indian plate looks pretty good! you know, I almost give up on Indian food ….seems like there ARE some good place!

  5. I am working up the nerve to try Indian food! This looks really good! I know I’ll love naan but not sure about all the flavors. Also I’m vegetarian so that might make it hard.

  6. Good luck on your dissertation, Coco! I’m sure you’ll do great! I LOVE Indian food and I’m so excited that you enjoyed your first meal! Yay!

  7. I’m relatively new to Indian food too, but I always like their lentil dishes. Chana masala is good too!

  8. I love Indian Food!! One of my favorites! Naan is super good. I’ve been snacking on it with almond butter and coffee. I like the chewy Whole Wheat Tandoori.
    Good luck on your presentation!

  9. Hope your presentation went well!!

    I like Indian food, too but my hubby doesn’t really so we don’t eat it much…

Leave a Reply

