Chinese style pancake tutorial


Ingredients for 1 big or 2 medium pancakes:

  • 3/4 cup chopped green onions
  • 3/4 cup APF
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp chicken MSG (optional)
  • oil

IMG_9356.JPG

1. Heat the oil

IMG_9357.JPG

2. when the oil is hot, add chopped green onions and stir-fry until they begin to turn brown (1-2 min)

IMG_9360.JPG

3. Add salt.

IMG_9361.JPG

4. Combine flour with water

IMG_9362.JPG

5. Add the egg

IMG_9363.JPG

6. Sugar

IMG_9364.JPG

7. chicken MSG

IMG_9365.JPG

8. Stir-fried green onions

IMG_9366.JPG

9. Heat the oil again

IMG_9367.JPG

10. Pour the mix and cook it at low heat for 6-7 min if you’re making 1 big pancake or 4-5 min if you’re making two small ones

IMG_9368.JPG

11. Flip it

IMG_9369.JPG

12. Continue to cook it. This side takes shorter time, probably half of the previous side.

IMG_9370.JPG

13. Serve!

IMG_9388.JPG

This is a typical chinese breakfast meal. It is also street food. Usually served with soy milk.

*******

Recap of the dinner I prepared for 6 people on Sunday night πŸ™‚

ε‡‰ζ‹Œθ™Ύη±³θŠΉθœ Celery & dry shrimp salad

IMG_9427.JPG

ε¨ƒε¨ƒθœη‚’ζœ¨θ€³ baby chinese cabbage sauteed with black fungus

IMG_9428.JPG

ζΈ…θ’Έι²ˆι±Ό steamed fish

IMG_9430.JPG

纒烧肉 red sauce pork Coco’s style πŸ˜‰

IMG_9431.JPG

ζ‰‹ζ’•η™½θœ Sichuan-style spicy cabbage

IMG_9432.JPG

香辣ηŒͺθ„š spicy pork feet

IMG_9433.JPG

辣子鸑 spicy chicken

IMG_9434.JPG

纒油豆腐 red oil tofu

IMG_9435.JPG

δ»€ι”¦ζŽ’ιͺ¨ζ±€ Pork ribs soup with veggies

IMG_9436.JPG

All together

IMG_9437.JPG

I have tutorials for some of these dishes~~~ πŸ˜€

Q: What was the typical breakfast you had when you were a kid?

13 Comments

Filed under recipe, tutorial

13 responses to “Chinese style pancake tutorial

  1. This pancake sounds great! I do find it funny that you add chicken MSG. I can just imagine many bloggers frowning upon reading that. But me? I could care less, I don’t think it’s bad at all, and it makes things tastes amazing.

    When I was young I ate a lot of cereal and french toast. On weekends my mom make chocolate chip pancakes a lot too.

  2. melissa @ the delicate place

    wonder if i can make that gluten free? don’t know how the texture will hold up. as a kid, i ate cereal with fruit on top or oatmeal. my parents would sometimes make me cream of wheat and i hated it! now i eat breakfast salads, flax porridge, eggs or pancakes πŸ™‚

  3. lesouefsbrouilles

    that looks very similar to korean pancakes!

  4. That pancake looks delicious. I was a cereal kid-always eating cereal. But the one thing my Grandma used to make that I LOVED was french toast! Yum!

  5. Kath (Eating for Living)

    Wow, that dinner looks amazing! How much time did you spent in the kitchen to make all those dishes? And how did you manage that they were all hot when served? (You don’t have 9 cooking plates, do you?)

    Btw I love that you’re doing tutorials for real Chinese cooking on here!

    Childhood breakfast usually was either a slice of dark rye bread with butter and honey or jam, or a bowl of oats or cereal. I’ve never liked to have breakfast early, though, I’m not a morning person and usually need at least 2 hours after getting up until the thought of eating something becomes comfortable.

  6. Great tutorial! My mom used to make me Cream of Wheat every morning for breakfast with maple syrup.

  7. Lisa

    Thank you so much for the tutorial! I am already planning to make it. Wow, what an amazing feast. You are a very good cook, I’m glad I can learn from reading your blog πŸ™‚

  8. That Chinese pancake looks delish! I love the scallion in there for flavor. As a kid I used to love oatmeal for breakfast…and I still do! πŸ™‚

  9. My typical breakfast was sweet potato and kimchi. But usually, I skipped breakfst. I was a bad person, hating breakfast. hee.

    Yay! I love these pancakes because they freeze so well, too.

  10. What a great feast! You must spend hours in the kitchen making it all! The pancake sounds so easy to prepare. I’d like to try it out, but for dinner. As a kid we usually ate soft boiled eggs with toast at breakfast time…

  11. DiningAndDishing

    I always had cereal with milk – so your breakfast looks a whole lot more exciting than mine ever did! πŸ™‚

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  12. yay! i’m really excited to try this tutorial. you make it look so easy! it looks like you made some great dishes for your dinner party, too. i can’t wait to see your tutorials for those!

    i grew up eating cereal + milk for breakfast pretty much every morning. i used to hate oatmeal!

  13. Lisa

    Hi, I made this today for breakfast. It was very tasty! I cooked for 6min on the first side and 4min on the second side. It is a little hard for me to flip and still a little undercooked in the middle, so next time I think I will make 2 smaller pancakes. I will definitely make it again!

Leave a Reply

