Drink baby drink!


Before I began… I’ll warm you: A long post ahead! 😀

Saturday night is PASTA night. I had an amazing seafood lunch in Alexandria with friends (sorry no pics) in addition to the carb comma the night before. So I wasn’t feeling hungry but I knew I had to fuel well to prepare for Sunday’s long run.

Tahini, soba, broccoli, onion, brussels sprouts and spinach. While cooking I snacked edamame (new love! ;))

IMG_8701.JPG

simple stir-fry with olive preserve

IMG_8710.JPG

Sunday morning 7 AM I was like them

what was I looking at? Weather.com because it was raining and I know I’m not an evening runner, so I check the website every 10 min to see when it will stop raining. I usually don’t eat breakfast before running but since the weather left me with no option…. let’s do breakfast first 😉

IMG_8603.JPG

raspberries topped with greek yogurt and flax meal

IMG_8604.JPG

half Udi’s gluten free bagel + cream cheese that I got in WF (first time)

IMG_8601.JPG

Not a big fan 😦 I prefer LC more!

IMG_8605.JPG

Udi’s bagel: it’s chewy, spongy and tasty. I wouldn’t say it’s like conventional bagel because of its lack of chewiness, but I like it. Its texture is between cake and bread. I had this half toasted and the other half later without, I like it more without toasting. Coco’s rating: 4/5.

At 10 AM, the sky cleared up. So I put my new running short! 😆 Now I feel like a real runner 😉

IMG_8712.JPG IMG_8717.JPG

I don’t know what moves I was trying to do… feel you can see my excitement.

oh… if you didn’t realize it… I forgot to take off the label… 😯

< 2 hours later… I finished 12 miles!!! It’s the longest run in my life and the longest run I’m doing to prepare for the incoming half marathon. And let me tell you… 2 miles up from last week’s 10 miles was HARD!!! I never got thirsty during long run (well, apparently not long enough) but yesterday I got it, I need to DRINK before, during and after!!! I was doing the before and after, but didn’t do properly the during. By mile 6 I drunk the whole bottle of vitamin water and ate two fruit straps.  Those gave me a good boost, but I got thirsty again in mile 8. By mile 10 I was really thirsty. 😦 It was not fun to do 2 extra miles feeling thirsty. Fortunately my mental strength pushed me to the end but I learned the lesson: drink baby drink!

Things to know about hydration (source)

1. You need to be well hydrated before you start your run or workout. If you start partially dehydrated, it only gets worse from there.

2. The color of your pee should be pale yellow, rather than clear or dark yellow. It should look more like lemonade than orange juice.

3. Electrolytes are lost along with fluid when you sweat. You need to replace these electrolytes through an energy drink, electrolyte solution or electrolyte tablets.

4. If you don’t replace electrolytes, particularly sodium, you won’t be able to absorb the fluid you’re drinking. This means that you could be drinking plenty, but not re-hydrating.

5. Dehydration leads to a loss of performance, cramps, digestive problems, and ultimately an inability to cool the body. These progressively worse problems will eventually stop you in your tracks.

6. Drinking too much plain water can also be a problem. Drinking lots of plain water can dilute the sodium level in your blood, leading to a problem called hyponatremia. This is why it is important to use a hydration product to replace electrolytes.

7. The term “drink to thirst” means that you should not drink just for the sake of drinking. You need to drink an amount of fluid that replaces what you’re losing in your sweat.

8. You may not actually feel “thirst” while running or racing. If you don’t ever feel the sensation of thirst, don’t make the mistake of stopping drinking completely. Continue drinking fluids in a moderate quantity to make sure that you’re getting what you need.

IMG_8723.JPG

another things that I realized yesterday

  • Outfit matters. I was wearing cotton shirt, it got all wet and it was heavy.
  • Strength training. My legs weren’t tired but my upper body was. My arms and shoulder got very tired during the run and sore after the run. I haven’t done power yoga lately and I got the consequence. Somehow I don’t feel into yoga these days… but I know I need to do cross-training and strength work to have a balance workout. More on this later 😉

Post-run fuel: more bagel

IMG_8612.JPG

I showed and laid down a while before getting to prepare lunch.

I roasted brussels sprouts

IMG_8734.JPG

with salt, cinnamon and cocoa powder

IMG_8733.JPG

spinach and mushroom sauteed in coconut oil

IMG_8740.JPG

couscous and wheat berries

IMG_8747.JPG

IMG_8751.JPG

curried tofu with green peas and cauliflower

IMG_8752.JPG

more edamame

IMG_8753.JPG

it looks like a KERF meal, isn’t it?

IMG_8754.JPG

A long nap, some work later… I went to a gym 2 blocks away from home. Yes, the strength and cross training thing stuck in my head.

vida fitness is a really fancy gym. It has a big variety of fitness classes (spinning, yoga, pilates, steps, body pump, etc), two stationary swimming pool (I was shocked 😯 when the guy showed it to me like “this is the pool”)

IMG_8787.JPG

I did the tour and left the gym. I thought about it “seriously” during groceries shopping in Whole Food and went back 30 min later

IMG_8789.JPG

I became a member 😆

IMG_8790.JPG

yes, I know, I’m really COMPULSIVE or better said, I’m a DECISIVE person 😉

I heard a lot runners talking about the after long-run hunger. Well… since I started running, it never happened to me. I don’t know why. Since I’m a true believer of intuitive eating, I won’t stuff myself just because. So, for dinner I craved something simple.

I made Miso Soup from 101 cookbooks

firm tofu, chopped parsley

IMG_8768.JPG

green onion, carrots

IMG_8770.JPG

cooked and rinsed soba noodles

IMG_8771.JPG

miso seaweed broth

IMG_8773.JPG

IMG_8772.JPG

IMG_8774.JPG

IMG_8779.JPG

IMG_8777.JPG

The taste is clean and simple. Maybe in another day I would find it bland but that was all I wanted yesterday 🙂

Q1: Are you a compulsive or decisive buyer?

Q2: Are you a gym member? What do you do at the gym?

13 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, lunch, review, running

13 responses to “Drink baby drink!

  1. Awesome!! 12 miles!
    I already bought the shoes and hope one day I can join you!
    btw, the soba noodle soup looks really good:)

  2. The miso soup look great! Love all the noodles.

    I used to love cream cheese but prefer LC now, too. It’s creamy yet light whereas the cream cheese is thicker and heavy.

    Awesome run! You’re really doing fantastic with that, huh?? 🙂

  3. thedelicateplace

    i always research my purchases before buying! i was never hungry on my long run days, it hit me the next day. congrats on your longest run yet! i love your shorts!

  4. Congrats on another great run! Some of my friends wear Camelbaks when they run to provide extra hydration.

    I am a member of a gym for cross training. It really helps when it’s hot outside, and I also lift weights to help with upper body strength.

  5. Congrats on the 12 miler!
    I don’t belong to a gym, but I use the gym provided by my apartment building. I always use the treadmill, sometimes the elliptical or stationary bike.

  6. DiningAndDishing

    I really like being a gym member because of the group fitness classes. I find them much more fun than regular old cardio all alone!

    Looks like you had a great weekend!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  7. Wow, that was an amazing run, Coco! You’re right, hydration is so important! Yummy eats — especially the Miso Soup!

  8. your miso noodle soup looks fab! i’ll definitely want to make this when i return to california because i’ll be missing asian food..haha.

    i’m usually a decisive buyer. my mom taught me that if i’m still thinking about a particular item 2 days later, then maybe i truly want it. sometimes it doesn’t work that way because that item might be gone 2 days later! then she’ll just say, that’s fate…you guys are not meant to be together.

  9. I plan before I shop. But I still compulsively buy…esp when things are on sale, I tend to STOCK UP. Like, a lot.

    Looks like you’ve had a fantastic run! But I’m glad I’m away from the humidity in the East Coast.

  10. hey love!
    k first of all u look amazing after a run! any workout pic u post i always think that, ur a picture of good health!!
    mmm and a soba stir-fry makes me happy. this looks really dynamite! good job for packing the greens in there too!! 😛

    xoxo

  11. Great new shorts! I am impressed with the 12 mile run, perhaps breakfast before your run was a good idea! I actually like running in the rain, as long as there is no lightening.

    I am definitely a decisive buyer, but I guess I CAN be impulsive every once in a while. With our tight budget it’s easy to think before I buy.

    Regarding a gym, I really want to join one so I can take some classes this fall. I haven’t done so yet, but I do plan on it eventually! I want to do some spinning and yoga.

  12. Hi!! Just found your blog through HLB 🙂 I’m also in DC (I live in Gerogetown). Looking forward to reading more and meeting more DC bloggers!! 🙂 Have a great day! And congrats on your awesome 12-miler!!!!

  13. Boy am I inspired to kick my healthier lifestyle into high gear!

Leave a Reply

