First 10k race report!


My first 10k was AMAZING!!!

I had sooo much fun running with a group of friends/professors. πŸ˜† I almost miss it!!! 😯 Let me tell you how funny was. I set the alarm to 4.20AM so I have an hour to wake up and eat something before driving to the race place with my friends. But the alarm didn’t ring 😯 and I woke up by accident at 5:12 AM. Wooooo!!!! How lucky I was! πŸ™‚

Anyway, we drove an hour to Leesburg, picked the package and ready to race have fun πŸ˜‰

IMG_8432.JPG

me and my friend Belen (her first 10 k too)

IMG_8440.JPG

the place is Market Station, pretty old fashion downtown. The race started at 7:30 AM, but by 6:45 AM most of the participants were ready πŸ˜‰

IMG_8443.JPG

I wanted to start slow (around 8.30min/mile) but the peer pressure forced me to go faster. I finally realized how hard is to slow down in a race. Looking at others passing you isn’t fun! 😦 Although rationally I know that I should not compare with others and the best strategy for me is to keep a constant pace for me and not follow others. But it’s HARD, really HARD! The peer pressure is hard to resist. I need to work on that. Β This time was 10k and somehow I managed to finish the race a little under 8 min/mile according to Nike+, but if I run longer races (half marathon maybe?), I need to work hard to start slow. There’s no way I can finish half marathon at <8min/mile.

I didn’t push myself to my maximum but that is okay. I wanted to enjoy the race, not to feel exhausted afterwards and not want to race ever again. πŸ™‚

Post race (I didn’t look like a red tomato. Actually you can’t tell that I just finished a 10k, right? I guess that means I didn’t try hard enough)

IMG_8446.JPG

Belen did great! She “beats” me for 50 secs! This girl has talent! πŸ˜‰

IMG_8453.JPG

we had to wait for our friends who run the 20k, so we I grabbed all the free snacks they offered

IMG_8456.JPG

Result: My official time was 52:24,Β 13/51 in my age group and 58/299 overall. I guess not bad for a debut πŸ˜‰

Before the race I told myself that if I like this one, I’ll sign up for a Half Marathon. So yes, I’m doing it, I’m doing the Park Half Marathon in september 12th (Beth and Joelle are also running it). I’m so excited!!! πŸ˜†

Q: If you’re a runner, how do you deal with peer pressure in a race? If you’re not a runner, how do you deal with peer pressure in general?

10 Comments

Filed under race

10 responses to “First 10k race report!

  1. Ling

    You’ve done a remarkably fine job,I adore you!!!

  2. love the new website! great job!

  3. Cat

    Congratulations and such a great time!!
    I seriously believe the body has its own built in alarm clock that just ‘knows’ when we are stressing about being up on time for something and wakes us up.

  4. Congratulations…what a nice accomplishment πŸ™‚

  5. That is really awesome, Coco! A huge congrats!

  6. Coco, I am AMAZED. You are a natural born runner. Seriously, I’ve been “running” for the past 6 years and I never enjoy running as much as you (nor am I as good as you!). I have never run a 10k race, because I really don’t like running in races. I just wasn’t born to run.

    Congratulations on the amazing finish. I can’t believe you are already signed up for another race! Have you been telling Star about your new found talent?!

  7. GREAT job on the 10K, Coco!!!!

  8. Congrats on your first race!

  9. In a race I do love a little bit of peer pressure. However, I always purposefully bring my mp3 player and run the race completely by my body cues and if I want to allow peer pressure to motivate me I go with it but otherwise I tune everything out.

  10. great job on your first 10k!!! Amazing time, too!

    when racing, i just remember that i need to run my own pace. running w/ music also heps tune everything out. i also remember past races where i took off too fast and burned out too quickly. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

