Something borrowed


I finished it!!! I finished it in <1 week even I was super busy, so that means something right? 😉

I know some of you have read it too, so the summary will be brief.

Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin was her debut novel. She tackles some pretty controversial subjects in the book: infidelity being the obvious one, but with that comes the question, what constitutes betrayal? Is there such a thing as justification for betrayal? Who exactly betrays whom in this novel? It turned out to be both interesting and fun to find out. Ms. Griffin raises a complex story about relationships, a damaging, toxic friendship and its consequences.

Do I like it? Yes, definitely. What I enjoy most about any movie and/or book is the fact that we can always identify with the character of the story at some extend. Even we don’t behave like them most of them, it doesn’t mean it never occurred to us to try such thing.

The story is well written with enough suspense to catch your attention and want to keep reading, but at the same time it gives you pauses to reflect, to wonder what would you do in that situation.

At the end of the book, there is a guide for reading group with several questions. I’ll answer one of them and you’re welcome to tell me yours. 🙂

What do you think was the real impetus behind Rachel’s decision to sleep with Dex after her birthday party? Ws it about her desire to break out of her good girl persona? Was it about long-standing resentment toward Darcy? Or was it both?

I think it was both. Rachel has been a rule follower girl, she puts what people think and expect about her first, she values Darcy’s friendship and she try to be a nice friend because that is the correct thing to do. But at the same time, she has resentment toward Darcy, consciously or unconsciously, so betraying her isn’t too damaging for her because it means she’ll be free from a toxic friend who never let her shine. At the same time, she’s looking for soul mate, someone who can touch her deep inside, someone who she feels a connection. It happened to be Dex, her long time friend who she knew she likes but didn’t dare to try because he seemed to be too much for her. But when Dex gave the first step, she couldn’t resist any longer. Although she wanted to think that she was doing wrong, therefore feeling guilty. She knew it wasn’t that wrong and she wouldn’t regret it.

9 Comments

Filed under book

9 responses to “Something borrowed

  1. I thoroughly enjoy this book too.
    I definitely agree with you, I think it was both. But more predominantly her desire to break out of her good girl personal and less about her resentment toward Darcy. I think her history with Dex also helped the situation a lot.

    Glad you liked the book! Hope you like Something Blue!

  2. I didn’t read this post because I WANT to read this book! Clearly you liked it, I’m glad!

  3. I haven’t read this book yet so I can’t answer the question, but it’s on my list! I’ll fly to the library as soon as I reach American soil! 😀

  4. I haven’t read this yet but I’ve been meaning to for a while — I’m going to have to pick up a copy! 😉

  5. Just wanted to let the bloggers know that I am doing a giveaway for a sterling silver charm bracelet if anyone is interested. Enter here: http://couponclippingnutritionist.blogspot.com/2010/06/first-giveaway-charm-factory-bracelet.html

    Thank you!

  6. great, informative review, coco! i miss you!! just wanted to check in and say i was thinking about you today 🙂

  7. You love her book !! Now you have a big collection of them right?!

  8. I think I’ll pick this up for a great summer read! Thanks, Coco! 🙂

  9. dmcgirl37

    Great review, im going to check it out 🙂

    Dana xo

    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

