Happy Earth Day & cute cookies


Happy belated Earthday!!! πŸ˜€

earth-day1

As my friends say, I live in a bubble πŸ˜‰ If it was not because of bloggers, I’d never know yesterday was Earth day~~~ Reading what you do to save our mother Earth inspired me to do more too.

  • reusable bags for groceries
  • re-use ziplocks (thanks Katie for reminding me this)
  • walk, public transportation or car pooling when possible

Washington DC has began to charge for bags in groceries stores recently. As an economist, Β I can’t think a better way to make everyone participating on this Green Movement. China, despite its public image of being the world largest polluting country, has adopted this policy a year ago. Not to criticize, but I find inconsistency in the action of US government. When they claim/force other countries to pollute less, most of stores in US still give plastic bags for free. 😯

Q: What do you think? Would you start bringing your own bags to groceries if they charge you for it?

——————–

Easy lunch: stir-fry noodles with broccoli and chicken using GuiLin chili sauce

IMG_6734.JPG

Few days ago I got a package from GojiGourmet: a selection of cute cookies πŸ˜‰

IMG_6751.JPG

These are

  • No preservatives
  • All-natural
  • No refined sugar added
  • High in antioxidants
  • Delicious
  • Low calorie
  • Handmade
  • Infused with Superfoods
  • Energizing
  • Great for kids
  • Mostly organic ingredients

Goji berries are nutrient-rich fruits that are high in antioxidants and provide vitamins A, C, and B-complex. Among other benefits, goji berries are rich in iron, beta-carotene, selenium, germanium, and include 18 amino acids (a source of complete protein). Goji berries have almost 8 times the value of antioxidants of pomegranates and more than 10 times the ORAC value of blueberries. Scientists at Tufts University developed this scale for the U.S. Department of Agriculture, called the ORAC (Oxygen Radical Absorption Capacity) test. According to their research, foods that score high in this antioxidant analysis may protect cells and their components from oxidative damage.

IMG_6735.JPG

IMG_6736.JPG

this one is Goji Ginger Walnut

All natural ingredients: Organic white whole wheat flour, organic goji berries, organic crystallized ginger (organic ginger, organic raw sugar), natural buckwheat honey, natural walnuts, organic butter, raw turbinado sugar, organic egg, raw wheat germ, organic vanilla extract, cream of tartar, baking soda, salt, turmeric.

Coco’s review: I like that it uses all natural ingredients that are good for us. I also like its bite size, I could never eat a standard size cookie. Β It’s surprisingly tasty (even for a non-cookie fan in general). Dense, just slightly sweetened, perfect for snack and sweet craving. πŸ˜‰ 5/5.
Dinner was pretty much the same as the day before. I used zucchini noodles instead of broccoli, and the “cheese” was made with tofu, olive, mustard and 1 LC.

IMG_6740.JPG

IMG_6742.JPG

warm salad ALWAYS! πŸ˜€

14 Comments

Filed under dinner, lunch, review

14 responses to “Happy Earth Day & cute cookies

  1. heck yeah for reusing ziploc bags!!! i do that all the time!

  2. in British Columbia, most stores/ super markets charge you for plastic bags already! its a bit of a downer when u forget to bring ur cloth bags but most people dont have an issue with it. i think u get used to it after awhile. we have rebates tho.. so for ever reusable bag you do use.. u get like 5 cents off! neat huh!

    oh and those cookies are adorable! im checking out there site now. thanks for the lunk. xoxo love!

  3. I would definitely bring my own bag if I were charged for plastic. I already have a ton of environmentally friendly grocery bags and its great!! However, I do occasionally get plastic bags because I use them as trash bags instead of going out and buying plastic trash bags. πŸ˜›

    Those goji cookies look intersting!! I’m not sure i’f i would like having goji in cookies. hahaha

  4. Here in Montreal they have recently started charging people for plastic bags. I think it’s a good idea, and have been using reusable bags for a long time.
    In Korea, too, they have been charging for plastic bags for years. It really cuts down on how many people use.

  5. Great post. I already bring my own bags to the market. Whether the program will work or not. It’s a tough call, but any movement in the right direction is important. Our policy of passing the buck when it comes to the earth is at an end. The check will have to be paid. Cheers!

  6. oooh those cookies look so good!! and they are totally cute, too. i already bring my own reusable bags when shopping, but i support charging people for using plastic bags. we’ve gotta start somewhere, right?

  7. I always bring my own bags, and I definitely think the US should eliminate plastic grocery bags all together. Wouldn’t that be a revolution?!

  8. A lot of the grocery stores in NZ have moved towards making you pay 10 cents per bag which is an incentive to bring your own reusable bags. They have also hooked up with local designers to create reusable bags that are better looking to carry around.

    I reuse all my zip-lock bags and try to use plastic bags in lieu of a plastic wrap as I think they are a total waste!

  9. You said it–those cookies are super cute!

  10. Great “green” ideas! I also re-use ziplocks but since I got tupperware I don’t even use them at all anymore!

  11. Happy Belated Earth Day to you too! Great tips on helping the environment, Coco!

    Your lunch looks amazing!

  12. Ling

    You sliced your finger?

  13. I just got those cookies too. LOVE them πŸ™‚ And you are lucky you’re not a cookie person. I am a cookie MONSTER!

    I always love your warm salads!

  14. The stores here have been charging for bags for quite sometime now. I personally think it’s a money grab as I don’t believe that all these stores do it solely for the benefit of the planet. So yes, I use reusable bags. But, I also reuse any plastic bags I may have floating around the house, too.

Leave a Reply

