Challenge J&J #5 & More bread love~


First of all, my presentation yesterday was a total success! After 38 min of talking, 2 hours listening to friends/professors for more feedbacks, I had a bloating feeling of accomplishment in me! I’ve never felt that before and wasn’t expecting that for the presentation at all. Although I wasn’t nervous about it like I said, I don’t consider myself as a good communicator so it wasn’t the most pleasant thing to do for me either. I’ve always been better coming up with ideas than communicating them to others. Well…. I think (and my friends told me) that I’ve improved a lot, and even not far away to be a good presenter. Β What made me happiest was first my best friend in the program congrats me at least 20 times within 2 hours. He kept saying: “it was really good presentation. I haven’t seen any presentation as good as yours in years.” Well… these words from him means a lot!!! Not only because it comes from my best friend, but also he’s the most sincere person in the program. He would never say something just to make me feel good. If he doesn’t like something, he has no problem saying it. (once I made him brownies and after a bite, he said: “not offend you, but I don’t like it.” So I smiled back and said: okay, I’ll make it better next time) So I totally trust him! The second thing was that one of the most critical/skeptical professor was really friendly during the presentation. He didn’t criticize anything that I said and even defended me when other faculty said something. He even approached me after the presentation for more suggestions and comments. I was feeling up in the AIR!!! I am soooo grateful for everything I’ve received the last couple of weeks. My committee members were very helpful and supportive to my work. My friends were supportive and encouraging. Many of them called/txt me to see how I was for the presentation, if I needed someone to vent out. I feel such a lucky girl!!! πŸ˜† And you know what? I think part of all this is because I’ve changed lately. πŸ™‚ Horay for being POSITIVE and HAPPY!!!

Sorry for the long rambling. It was an important event for me and I need to record it! πŸ™‚

Okay. Into J&J #5 @Eat Clean Cookbook:Β bread pudding

IMG_5967.JPG

my version used:

  • 1.5 Rudis WW bread cut in cubes
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • vanilla/cinnamon/nutmeg
  • 1 grated small apple
  • 1/4 cup egg white
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries

IMG_5937.JPG

I think maybe because I changed the recipe a little too much, but it wasn’t that good. The bread was soggy and had a bland taste. So I add some coconut ice cream to make it more interesting

IMG_5941.JPG

IMG_5945.JPG

much better πŸ˜‰

IMG_5946.JPG

I might give it another try later following the recipe strictly.

What a normal person would do in the presentation day? well… the reasonable answer would be PREPARE for the presentation.well… that’s not what I did. Usually before the exam or presentation, I’m much more relaxed and have more free time than a week ago. I’m not the procrastinating type person. I’d rather finish everything a week before the due date πŸ˜‰

So, spreading more bread love to friends~~~

IMG_5947.JPG

I used 3 cups of normal bread flour, 1 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp salt, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 packet of yeast to make four big rustic bread

IMG_5949.JPG

I don’t bake them in the bread machine, instead in the oven at high temperature and with steam. That’s the magic to create the hard crust and soft crumb. After shaping it, rest for 20 min. Blush with water and make a cross cut.

IMG_5951.JPG

middle way through, remove from the baking sheet and put them on the rack

IMG_5952.JPG

end product

IMG_5959.JPG

Hard and crunchy crust, soft and moisture crumb

IMG_5963.JPG

I brought 3 Β of them for my friends. They LOVE IT!!!!! They had brought lunch but they happily ATE the WHOLE bread as well!!! πŸ˜† Double accomplishment!!! We’ve already set up a BREAD-PARTY this weekend!!! I’m thinking of making french baguette, onion rolls and italian focaccia! πŸ˜† I’m being the witness of an old saying: Giving brings more happiness than receiving! πŸ™‚

Q: Have you ever attended/organized a topical-food party?

Giveaway alerts:

Celestial SeasoningΒ @ Me

SnackTaxi@Michelle


15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Challenge J&J #5 & More bread love~

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! I knew that you would rock their socks off!

  2. Oh Wow! congratulations!!! that’s really a great news ! I am glad you are well on your way to a good job! πŸ˜›

    The bread pudding looks awesome- I should have put more fruit in it to cheer up!

  3. Congrats on your presentation! Love your positivity! Your bread pudding looks great!

  4. Congratulations on a great presentation and wonderful looking bread!!

  5. Hi CoCo! I’m so proud of you!! I mean, you should definitely be super proud of yourself too for accomplishing so much. It is SO hard to win over scary mean professors, but you succeeded! You should definitely celebrate tonight!!

    I love how you “improved” the recipe with an ice-cream topping!!! It really looks scrumptious and I’d loooove to have a bite of the bread pudding. mmmm You are on such roll with all these recipe creations!

  6. Oh those rolls look amazing! Sorry about the bread pudding… I’m not usually a fan of bread pudding because it’s a lot of work to make and it usually ends up mushy to me 😦

  7. CONGRATS on a great presentation! You should be very proud of yourself, girl!

    Your bread looks fabulous and I just bet that coconut bliss gave the bread pudding some vavoom!

  8. great job on your presentation! it always means a lot to me when friends who opinions i really trust compliment me. πŸ™‚

    working ahead is always nice, and it helps me not to feel stressed, too.

    your bread looks delish! you are becoming an artisan baker for sure.

  9. Congrats on your AMAZING presentation!!!!!! :o)

    And keep up the yummy job with the bread machine! YUM!

  10. I’ve actually never had bread pudding, but this post is making me think I should give it a try!

  11. Congrats on your successful presentation!! Oh wow, Coco, your bread looks amazing! A bread party is a fantastic idea!

  12. yay! Congrats!! i love your positive and happy sounding voice!! so glad you are feeling good!

    the bread pudding and rolls look fantastic as well! you are such a great baker, Coco!!

  13. congrats on your presentation! i always feel like i do better when i’m not nervous. i think the confidence translates into how you present.

    so are you cooking every recipe in that book? everything you’ve made so far looks really good and you always make it seem so easy too!

  14. Congrats on your presentation!! πŸ˜€

    OMG, those rolls look SO GOOD! I am going to try your steam + bake method. I can’t wait.

    I’ve never been to a theme party. 😦 I would LOVE to attend a bread party. That would be like my dream come true LOL. ❀ bread

    Jenn

  15. CONGRATS COCO!!! you put your mind to it, and you were successful. I love to hear that even your critical and honest professor gave you praises. I wish I could have been there to hear you speak. I am so similar to you in that on days of presentations or exams, I tend to not review or practice. I like to get things ahead of time, and leave the last day for relaxation and peace. If I focus too much on the task, I get nervous!
    The bread pudding looks fabulous. I didn’t used to be a huge bread pudding fan, but lately I’ve been ordering it at some restaurants! It’s so good.

    You were in my dream last night, by the way πŸ™‚ haha!

Leave a Reply

