A recipe & a challenge


Thanks everyone for the encouraging words. I’ll try my best to stay positive but bear with me if I don’t. This phD (aka. permanent head damage) program is getting harder and harder.

This week’s dim sum recipe is yam & black sesame rice cake!

IMG_5038.JPG

ingredients:

  • 1 medium yam (mine was 12 oz.)
  • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup black sesame seed flour
  • 1 oz. brown sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • sesame seed for topping

Method:

1. Mix all ingredients except yam

IMG_5020.JPG

2. Boil cubed yam for 15 min and drain

IMG_5021.JPG

3. Prepare the steam basket. I used the basket that comes with the rice cooker and put a foil

IMG_5022.JPG

4. Put yam

IMG_5023.JPG

6. Add the flour mix and top sesame seeds

IMG_5024.JPG

7. Steam for 40 min

IMG_5025.JPG

8. covered please

IMG_5026.JPG

Cut and serve! πŸ™‚

IMG_5040.JPG

Now, into the challenge. I’m joining Michal’s Ab-solutely fabulous challenge! My version will be

  • core work 3 alternating days per week. Either exercises that Michal has chosen or others like Yoga For Core.
  • cardio 30 min a day, six days a week. This will be challenging for me, but I’ll try my best.

I think I’ve never done a workout challenge before, this is going to be fun! πŸ˜€

Q: How often do you do core exercises? What’s your favorite move?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “A recipe & a challenge

  1. Your yam & black sesame cake looks delish!
    Hope you’re feeling more positive soon. I often get blue during the winter.
    I do core exercises 3-4 times per week, but haven’t been doing enough cardio lately. Good luck with your challenge!

  2. I really hope you are feeling better!!

    Good luck with the challenge. I’m not really into cardio aside from walking πŸ˜€

  3. Good luck with your challenge. You know me and my Core Fusion lol.

  4. Your yam and black sesame cake looks sooo yummy! Yay for making dim sum at home! I do core exercises 5 or 6 days a week… basically after every workout. My current favorite is the stability ball crunch while holding a medicine ball behind your head. It’s sooo much harder than a regular crunch! Good luck with the challenge!

  5. I’m sooo bad with core exercises. I only do them if I end up going to a pilates class…which is once every month!!! I like your challenge! It’ll definitely make life a little bit more motivating and fun. πŸ™‚

    I would love to have a sample of your black sesame yam cake. It looks like something I CANNOT have around at home, or i’ll keep eating it while it’s warm. hahaha

  6. That sounds like a great challenge! I semi-did the Whittle my Middle challenge. So I did core exercises 6 days a week! I really think it’s working, my core feels a lot tighter and I think my lower back pain has reduced significantly!

  7. I need to do core WAY more than what I do now which is a weekly core dynamics Pilate’s class….

  8. coco, that yam cake looks really good. is it dense like most dim sum cakes? i really like dense cakes!

  9. Your dim sum looks delicious! Thanks for the great tutorial!

  10. In the past 2 years I started doing core exercises quite a few days a week…..changed everything. I was all ready very into exercise, but focusing on core made me so much stronger. You will benefit!
    Love the idea of this yam sesame rice cake.

  11. Woo woo thanks for the shout out girl πŸ™‚

  12. Hi Coco! wowwww I’ve been wanting this kind of cake/bread for a long time~haha I made it today and my family and I loved it!! Oh yeah, I’m Ellie (the one from Argentina but live in Cali) πŸ˜€ I didn’t get to answer you that time! But I used to live kind of around Avellaneda. The business area around Campana, Bacacay, etc. I miss it so much too! But I’m thankful for my life here too. I can say that right now…I’m craving Argentinian sweets/pastries/coffees and all that good stuff. Hope you’re having a blessed week ❀

  13. Please share as many dim sum type stuff as much as you want hehehe. POR FAVOR.

Leave a Reply

