Trying to “celebrate” V-day!


I woke up at 7.30 AM (slept in at 3AM) telling myself: okay. It’s Valentine’s, without Star with me, I can still celebrate it and be happy by my own.

I got up, first thing to feel, terrible headache (not surprisingly :-?)

But I was determined!!! I made a yummy breakfast to boost the spirit!

Vegan Waffle topped with aduki-coconut mousse.

IMG_4714.JPG

IMG_4722.JPG

For the waffles I used Β 3/4 cup WW flour, 4 tbsp flaxmeal diluted in homemade soy & peanut milk, 1 cup soy & peanut milk, 1 tsp baking powder, pinch of salt, vanilla/cinnamon.

It was DELICIOUS, so much that after breakfast I made two batches more to be freezed

IMG_4733.JPG

IMG_4735.JPG

IMG_4737.JPG

Worked a little bit because I knew that would distract me. πŸ˜•

Another stir-fry soba for lunch. I love this meal for lunch, quick (<15min), satisfying and tasty! πŸ˜‰

IMG_4723.JPG

this one had cabbage, celery, black fungus and chinese sausage.

After lunch I did more thing to boost spirit. Groceries!!!

IMG_4819.JPG

Got new flours to make some chinese dim sum for breakfast πŸ˜‰

IMG_4820.JPG

IMG_4821.JPG

IMG_4822.JPG

IMG_4823.JPG

and I couldn’t wait to try lotus powder, it used to love it! πŸ˜€

IMG_4825.JPG

It is really simple to make, use 1/2 cup of the powder + 1.5 cup of hot water. DONE!

IMG_4829.JPG

IMG_4830.JPG

I still love it!!!

And then, I spent 1.5 h trying to pull my car out of the snow! IT WAS THE HARDEST WORKOUT in 2010 so far!!! My arms can barely raise after that. πŸ‘Ώ Snow, I curse you AGAIN!!! At the end, it was a nice guy who helped me out, otherwise I would have to spent 3 hours! I can’t even imagine that!

Exhausted, lying on the couch I thought: I need to exercise more! It’s not possible that I get soooo tired and sore after this.

Bottom line: I felt miserable in Valentine’s. Even I tried to tell myself that it is just a normal day, Star and I can celebrate it any day of the year. But I couldn’t fool myself, I was sad and lonely. 😦

Q: What do you do to boost your spirit when you feel low?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Trying to “celebrate” V-day!

  1. kim

    I exercise, but even spending just half an hour digging out my car gave me soreness as well! It’s good to feel a little ‘pain’, that just means I’m working my muscles, hee.

    Looking forward to see your dim sum creation and love that adzuki mousse. I love red beans as well!

    I love to grocery shop when I’m feeling ‘low’ as well. Also exercise helps too.

    Happy Lunar New Year!

  2. I was a little sad too 😦
    It’s tough being so far away from the fella. I was sort of mad at myself for moving to NY when I could have stayed in California. In the end, I think times like this make us stronger. Personally, I know I want to be happy on my own, and then having someone else there to make it that much better! I want to make myself happy. I don’t want to need someone else to be happy. Does that make sense? I think most days I am happy even if he’s not here, but definitely on holidays designated for love I feel a little down.
    I feel for you sister!

  3. 1.5 hours? you are lucky enough. I spend at least 1 hour each day to dig my car bit by bit, for 4 days! πŸ˜€

    The lotus root looks really good πŸ˜€ the color and texture is very adorable !

    btw, I didn’t know you were so sad ….you should be happy newly married girl ?!

  4. Yum, the return of azuki-coconut mousse! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see all the delicious dim sum you whip up using those new flours. And such perfect waffles, too!

    When I feel low, I either write out my frustrations or just lie down and listen to some soothing music. Baking makes me feel pretty good, too. But V-Day IS just one day out of the year… don’t let those “romantic” gimmicks get to you!

  5. thedelicateplace

    i listen to music that makes me think of happy memories and/or take a walk and breathe deeply & slowly. i was having a bad body image day yesterday and i drowned my sorrows in chocolate haha

  6. It must have been so hard to be away from Star 😦 Do you know when you can see him again?

  7. Your waffles look great, Coco!

    Sorry to hear you had a down in the dumps day. It must be hard to be away from your family. (((HUGS)))

  8. You are such a go-getter! I love it. I’ve never used lotus root powder. I’ll have to pick it up the next time I see it.

  9. 😦 Cheer up Coco – I know long distance relationships can be hard.

    I find going for a run always helps. Or a funny romantic comedy does too. Although it also throws some tinges of melancholy into the mix. Mind you the net gain is fantastic!

  10. Aw I’m sorry to hear you didn’t feel so good. *hugs* I say, take advantage of times like this! The boyfriend and I didn’t celebrate Valentine’s Day and I got the entire day to myself; I just read and lazed around in my pjs. It was great. I like getting a little alone-time!

    The waffles look delicious. And you can’t beat stir fried soba noodles πŸ˜€

  11. Love the idea of homemade frozen waffles!

  12. STAR

    sorry for the lover day of this year!!!!

    I will do my best for our future.

  13. Grocery-shopping certainly helps. Hey, dear, though Star is not there with you physically, you know he is definitely thinking and missing you right now! πŸ™‚

  14. Coco!! Cheer up!! I know it’s hard being away from your lovey but look on the bright side–you went grocery shopping, got a great workout in, AND had some delicious eats πŸ™‚

    It’s not quite the same but you’ll see him gain soon!

  15. awww, Coco, did you get to talk to Star at all? I’m sure he was pretty down in the dumps too. I’m glad you enjoyed a nice breakfast, and shopping spree at the grocery! I usually try to get out of the house when I am sad or lonely. I go visit friends or my mom, or I go to a local coffee shop and read a book, just get out of the apartment for a while. I was actually alone on V-day this year too, because Nick worked all day. Just remember, next year will be different!!

  16. Aww! I’m so sorry you were far from you husband on Valentines Day. Usually when I’m feeling a bit low I take a long bath, and then watch a silly romantic comedy that makes me cry. It works everytime:)

  17. Your waffle looks amazing! I have to try that. πŸ™‚ And I love shopping sprees at grocery stores…its one of my fave past times.

Leave a Reply

