Favorite quote from “Committed” & a recipe


As I mentioned, I started reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book Committed. I am a big fan of her previous book Eat Pray and Love and as I recently just got married, I have to read it. I haven’t finished it yet (1/3 to go) but I want to share my favorite quote:

“… the emotional place where a marriage begins is not nearly as important as the emotional place where a marriage finds itself toward the end, after many years of partnership.” “… there is no one special person waiting for you somewhere in this world who will make your life magically complete, but that there are any number of people with whom you could seal a respectful bond. Then you could live and work alongside that person for years, with the hope that tenderness and affection would be the gradual outcome of your union.”

I know.. it’s not a very romantic quote… but it is so true. Believe me, I wouldn’t agree with it 10 years. I’d say that passion is the most important element of a happy marriage. But life experience taught me that it might not be true.

What’s your thoughts about it?

Monday was quite productive, in addition to curse the snow all day long (I had a meeting with my advisor and it’s canceled) :(, I did some progress with work.

I started with a hearty breakfast: high in protein, fat and fiber! Black bean & black rice milk, high-fiber high-fat bread (recipe below) and 1/2 baked squash with greek yogurt.

IMG_4579.JPG

high-fiber high-fat bread adapted from April’s recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cup fiber one grounded
  • 1 cup flax meal
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup black bean milk (you can use any milk)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp acai powder (optional)

IMG_4520.JPG

Mix everything and bake for 30 min at 350F.

IMG_4531.JPG

It’s dense, chewy and the addition of coconut oil gives it a great flavor 🙂

IMG_4574.JPG

IMG_4577.JPG

A quick stir-fry using these

IMG_4584.JPG

baked german dumpling tastes even better as leftover!!! 😀 Love it~~~

IMG_4593.JPG

IMG_4586.JPG

School is still closed :(, I think it might not open until next week, more snow is expected for today and tomorrow! So, more stay-home for me. You guys enjoy the air and sun for me!

Q: How often do you declutter your house?

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Favorite quote from “Committed” & a recipe

  1. STAR

    watch the snow with a positive mood, it will make you feel happier:) enjoy the good snow view.

  2. Sigh….the campus is closed again….I haven’t meet my advisor for more than a week and they will on a work trip till Feb 27!!!! (well actually, I don’t think you can leave tomorrow , hahahaha)

    that fiber bread looks awesome. I like the recipe …and I am having digestion problem for a week now! need some fiber! speaking of which, I haven’t give you the bread yet!! I froze it already to make sure its freshness when I hand it over to you!

  3. I really like that quote and agree that it’s so true! The milk is kind of scary looking – exactly something that I’d LOVE to try. 😉
    Adore all the Japanese ingredients that you used btw. 🙂

  4. Great quote!
    Your breakfast looks so hearty!! Have a great day! Enjoy being at home! I have to brave the cold to go to class!

  5. I agree with that quote. After 12 years of marriage I know that it’s HARD work. People change over the years and you can only hope that your paths continue to lead in the same direction.

  6. That stir fry looks marvey!

    I don’t let the house get cluttered, so decluttering pretty much happens as I go along. 🙂

  7. I have Eat Pray and Love in my queue to get as an audiobook for my commute and can’t wait to get to it. By the way, I’m loving Freakonomics — your major sounds super interesting and I love how the numbers don’t lie!

    I do like that quote from Committed. I have been with my boyfriend for over 4 years now (although, that’s nothing compared to you and your husband!), and while there was intense passion at the beginning, it seems to be true that you need much more than that to maintain a lifetime relationship. The initial passion and excitement subsides after a while, and it is the continually growing emotional bond that will sustain the relationship. Well, that is what I think, anyway, after 4 years haha.

  8. I believe that passion is an important part of a happy marriage — but it may not be the most important part. I really agree with the portion of the quote that reads “there is no one special person waiting for you somewhere in this world who will make your life magically complete”….

    It is my belief that too often we have a fairy tale view of marriage. We expect the other person to complete us and make us incredibly happy for the rest of our lives. However, our true happiness must come from within ourselves. I found that when I was truly at peace with myself, I was most the most receptive to love from others — and that is when I met and married my husband.

    To answer your question about decluttering, I do it a major “deep clean/de-clutter” at least 4 times a year. This is when I hand scrub floors, wash down all the walls and baseboards, clean out cabinets, and the like. I just completed my winter deep clean in preparation for our baby’s arrival. I also do smaller decluttering about once every 2 months — I am a bit of neat freak. 🙂

  9. Yum yum! Your breakfast looks great 🙂 I try to declutter a little bit every day. And every couple months or so I will go on a cleaning kick where I will work on it for days.

  10. too true about relationships – mine is 15 years – and the calm loving companionship is the best – my first marriage was 15 years, but wasn’t calm at all – now my relationship has common values, common interests and is so much better

  11. I’ve always thought like that quote. For me, the most important aspect of a marriage or relationship in general is mutual respect. Without respect, IMO, there’s no room for anything else—no chance of going further.

    Mmm, that bread looks so nutty and dense and chewy! :] And I have the EXACT same tub of miso!

  12. I love the quote, and I think it’s very true. You can be very passionate but not be a good match… I truly believe it’s most important to marry your best friend.

  13. DiningAndDishing

    You are so lucky you are able to stay home! They are still making us go into work 😦

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  14. That bread looks yummy. Thanks for sharing. I love steamed cabbage.

  15. I love that purple cabbage, so pretty.

    I try to de-clutter the house everyday, clutter drives me crazy. lol But with 6 cats, it’s inevitable sometimes. 🙂

    Jenn

  16. I honestly don’t know if I agree with that quote. I do think that love isn’t just a feeling, it is a commitment and goes much deeper than just being attracted to someone on the surface. But at the same time, I think that there is one guy out there for every girl. 🙂

  17. Yum your version looks so good!! What is black bean milk??

  18. Love your eats! Look delicious. I think the quote from Elizabeth Gilbert’s book is dead on….thanks for posting it. Definitely sounds right to me.
    And de-cluttering? I do my best. It is a continual battle….never ending, I tell you. Have a great week!

  19. I think that quote is so true. I never once thought that Nick was the only one for me. I think he is one of the better people in the world for me, but I’m sure if he wasn’t around I’d find someone else. Yeah, not a romantic quote, but the truth. We must make the best with what we have, and enjoy as much as we can, which I think we both do quite well 🙂

    This bread recipe is actually something that I could make! Other than the coconut oil, everything in this recipe is ok for me. I may have to try it sometime!

    I de-clutter all the time. I’m Type A obsessed with NO CLUTTER!

    As for the popcorn, I don’t make large batches, just a new batch each night (or every other night). I have made large batches before though, and it’s actually a good idea. Sometimes I just want hot popcorn though 🙂

Leave a Reply

