New work mode.


I’m reading The Happiness Project and it’s a fantastic book! I think everyone would benefit from reading it. It’s so inspiring and many times I feel she’s read my mind… like things that happen to her are exactly what’s happening to me!!! I’ve learned many so much so I want to share with you πŸ™‚

How to work smart

We don’t need 3-4 hours with no interruption to be able to be productive. She found that 90 min is the optimal length. So I began to work in 90 min blocks. Every 90 min I’ll stop for 10-15 min, drink a tea, check blogs, eat some snacks or just stand up and walk around. I found this method very efficient! I got so much accomplished during these 90 min and at the same time do not feel that I’m dragging myself.

Another thing that I’ve put in my work related resolution is NOT to PLAN! I used to plan to work 8 hours a day. If I don’t get that amount of time in a day I’d feel frustrated and angry with myself because it wasn’t a productive day. But mentally challenging work isn’t like administrative work, it can exhaust me in just a couple of hours, so the remaining hours I just forced myself to be there and pretend to work. Β This working mode added another source of stress, so unnecessary. I’ve made my mind to not plan ahead how long I’ll work, but focus on tasks . So far it’s working, I get a lot accomplished, some day > 8 hours, others just 5 hours and GUILT FREE πŸ˜†

Q: What’s your working mode?

Tired of fish soup? well.. not me. πŸ˜‰ I made a variation of this one. This has chinese pickles and cabbage.

IMG_4124.JPG

love the skin!

IMG_4146.JPG

porridge & Real Simple

IMG_4143.JPG

and I made RADISH CAKE!!! I used this recipe, just replaced rice flour by oats flour.

IMG_4149.JPG

I know, it doesn’t look very appetizing… but it’s super tasty!!!

bok choy as usual

IMG_4150.JPG

vinegar in this cute dish

IMG_4151.JPG

a very chinese meal~~~ πŸ˜€

IMG_4153.JPG

after dinner… I finally watched Twilight!!!!

twilight

I know I know, it’s kind of late after all the great things I’ve heard…. but better later than never right? I must confess that I didn’t expect it much because it’s fiction, but I LOVED IT!!!! I don’t know why, I just got absorbed by the characters and their love story. I can’t wait to watch the second one.

Q: What was your favorite movie in 2009?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “New work mode.

  1. That 90 minute block is very interesting, I’ll have to give it a try! πŸ˜‰ That soup looks so good, I love the slight crispiness that the skin adds! Happy Friday, Coco!

  2. Great new outlook on working! I have a hard time concentrating on work a lot of times. So basically I have the opposite of your problem. I’m making myself work for 30 minute blocks. My new goal is to dedicate 1hr to each class per day. That makes in more manageable.

    LOVE Twilight! It’s ridiculous and cheesy and totally feed all your girly desires!

  3. I definitely want to pick up that book the happiness project, sounds great!!

  4. fave movie – i think The Blind Side!

    Will definitely check out that book πŸ™‚

  5. I definitley work better in small time frames, too. Otherwise I just get distracted. Glad to hear it’s helping with your stress level.

    How do you make your bok choy? It always looks so perfectly tender yet when I make it it sometimes gets tough. 😦

    I haven’t watch many movies this year, but I also loved Twilight…

  6. This book sounds interesting. I used to be like you, and make a goal to work a certain amount of hours, but really it’s quality that matters NOT quantity. I’m already the type of person who works in 90 minute blocks (actually it’s more like 60 minute) because I work from home and get distracted easily. It doesn’t bother me though, because I still manage to finish everything.

    Best movie of 2009? Well we didn’t see many, but I LOVED the Hangover! It was hilarious.

  7. My favorite movie of 2009 was probably ‘Departures’ (Okuribito in Japanese) which I had to see with English subtitles, since I don’t speak Japanese. It was such a nice movie, but I cried many times.
    ‘The Happiness Project’ sounds like a nice, positive book to read–I should look for it!

  8. I really want to read the Happiness Project – I will need to check that out. I love working in 60 to 90 minute intervals and then taking a break. I am so much more productive when I can break every once in a while.

  9. I can concentrate for 2-3 hours at a time for some subjects, but for others, I feel taxed after just 1 or 2. I think I’m going to go for the “guilt-free” route, too! I’m the same way—if I don’t get this and this and this done one day, then I feel useless and disappointed… not great for my “love myself” goal!

    That radish cake sounds so yummy. I love ’em with rice flour, but I bet they’d taste great with oats, too!

  10. I love the idea of working in 90 minute blocks! I think it’s so important to take breaks. It’s all about balance… The book sounds great!

  11. I wish I had your problem. I don’t work ENOUGH! I always take breaks at least every hour, which then turn into 30 min. breaks…and yeah…

    I love your ❀ dish πŸ™‚

  12. I think every person is different. I personally just cannot work for more than 3-4 hours a day, no matter what breaks I take. So I just compile them altogether and get everything done with.

  13. Cute heart-shaped dish!

    I loved Twilight, too. The books are even better than the movies, IMO. New Moon was my favorite movie of ’09 πŸ˜‰

    I need to make bok choy, it’s SO good for you and I love the texture.

    Jenn

Leave a Reply

