New kitchen gadget: soy milk & porridge maker


Thanks everyone for the good wishes about our short-notice marriage. πŸ˜€ I didn’t receive wishes from family & real life friends (because I told no one yet), but you guys gave me so much love that made me Β even happier! πŸ˜€ THANK YOU!!!

As you might have noticed I became a big fan of porridge lately. I am having it 1-2 times EVERYDAY. So I got a helper to avoid cleaning up the mess πŸ˜‰

A stainless soy milk & porridge maker ($99)

IMG_3576.JPG IMG_3578.JPG

Look inside… this is the blender

IMG_3677.JPG

a whole in the middle to put the ingredients

IMG_3678.JPG

I made soy milk with goji berries. Soak it over night

IMG_3676.JPG

add appropriate amount of water

IMG_3679.JPG

choose soy milk option

IMG_3682.JPG

20 min later… it’s done!

IMG_3690.JPG

straining

IMG_3693.JPG

SERVED! πŸ˜€

IMG_3694.JPG

and for porridge is about the same. Here I add black rice, red dates and oats

IMG_3683.JPG

soak it over night

IMG_3738.JPG

IMG_3739.JPG

20 min later…. a very nutritious and tasty porridge is READY!

IMG_3754.JPG

There’s another reason other than my love to porridge’s texture that I eat it more often than before…. it is because according to TCM, I should be eating more blended meals and carbs, specially grains and beans. More about it later! πŸ˜‰

Other eats: stir fry of lotus with tofu

IMG_3865.JPG

stir fry bok choy with a variety of mushrooms.

IMG_3867.JPG

served with porridge (obviously) πŸ˜‰

IMG_3869.JPG

Q: How many kitchen gadgets do you have? Which one is your favorite?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “New kitchen gadget: soy milk & porridge maker

  1. Wow! I’m intrigued by this soymilk/porridge maker! I guess soymilk is one of those things I never thought of making (same with Almond milk although I know it can be done at home).

    I don’t have many kitchen gadget since I’m only going to be here in upstate NY for 2 years I didn’t want to invest in a ton of stuff (but I do love my food processor). Once I get a permanent home I’ll invest in some cool gadgets like a rice cooker and a food mill (really want to make this Guatemalan treat that has milled plantains!).

    Happy Friday!

  2. Wow, this is such a cool gadget!
    I love my blender, it makes the best peanut butter πŸ™‚ But I need a bigger one for smoothies too.

  3. Wow! That thing looks neat! I totally agree that blended food is great. I have an awful digestive system due to a health issue I have a blended food is so much easier for my body to process.

    My favorite kitchen appliance is my…..blender! haha. Green smoothies nearly daily and hummus are my favorite foods I make with it.

  4. MY favorite kitchen gadget is my george foreman grill! (haha!) It’s nothing special, but you can do a lot with it. Your gadgets look pretty darn cool though!!

  5. That oatmeal/soy milk maker is da bomb! I have too many kitchen gadgets, but right now I’m loving the new George Foreman grill!

  6. CONGRATS on the marriage sweetie!!! I’m so proud and happy for you two. πŸ™‚

    What a neat gadget!!! I’d have so much fun coming up with new combinations.

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. Hello.

    Please pardon this unsolicited solicitation, but I assure you it is not random spam. I did read and enjoy your blog. Your food-photography is excellent. I don’t think people realize how difficult it is to take pictures of food that look so appetizing.

    I thought that if you enjoy soy milk, you might enjoy my book Mother’s Milk. http://www.encpress.com/MM.html It’s about a secret conspiracy by the dairy industry to enslave humanity through mind-controlling chemicals in cow milk, and how soy milk actually provides resistance to psychic domination.

    I’ll reserve comment as far as whether I believe this to be true or whether it’s just an entertaining farce designed to point out that soy milk is much much healthier than cow milk.

    Again, I too detest random spammers, but I am trying to connect with like-minded people, e.g. soymilk lovers.

    And, you don’t know me, but congratulations on your marriage. πŸ™‚

    Thanks,

    Andrew Breslin

  8. Wow this is a really interesting machine! I’d love to make my own soy milk. Congrats on your marriage, I like your blog.

  9. wow i have never seen a soymilk maker! that is interesting and fun πŸ™‚ i am SO into kitchen gadgets! hope you have a great weekend, babe!

  10. Your porridge maker looks like a fantastic kitchen gadget! Making different flavors of soy milk sounds like it would be so much fun!

  11. yayyyyyyy coco, congratulations to you and star!!!! πŸ˜€

  12. crazylittlethingneela

    asian always make the best kitchen gadgets! no doubt about that! your soymilk looks fantastic and super fresh! l
    love it!

  13. Oh my gosh CoCo i would love to get one of those!!! My mom makes soymilk at home all the time….did you buy yours in the US? It would be so nice to make fresh soy milk with red beans at home!! I love the combo’s that you made with the oats porridge!

  14. Mmmm…jummy….Very nice article πŸ™‚ good job author ..

Leave a Reply

