Groceries shopping in Shanghai


Hello everyone!~~ thanks so much for your comments in my last post! I felt like you made my birthday lasted longer! 😉

Today let me give you a tour to a typical chinese supermarket where some people do groceries shopping… just some because the vast majority of people don’t go to supermarket for daily groceries, but to local markets where fresh produces are fresher and cheaper. That will be my next post 😉 stay tune!

Shanghai street view

IMG_0015.JPG

outside of Carrefour (today’s tour location)

IMG_0061.JPG

no no no, we’re not in Paris, it’s just a painting.

Inside the supermarket. Dim sum’s section

IMG_0017.JPG

肉松 (dry processed pork meat, usually accompanied by rice porridge)

IMG_0018.JPG

these are typical shanghainese breakfast items…. not very healthy though, they’re all fried.

IMG_0020.JPG

chinese “pancakes” (right), fried veggie dim sum (left)

IMG_0046.JPG

大饼 (baked pancake, they come in salty and sweet flavors)

IMG_0047.JPG

and more…. I don’t know what are these (left) 😳

IMG_0048.JPG

these are slices of a big “pizza” made with green onions, very tasty.

IMG_0049.JPG

麻球 fried sticky rice filled with aduki bean paste and covered by sesame seeds

IMG_0050.JPG

麻花 fried sweet dough

IMG_0051.JPG

a big variety of pickles, usually made with veggies (radish, cucumber are the most typical ones)

IMG_0053.JPG

chicken

IMG_0055.JPG

soy derivatives section. Notice that there’s much more than tofu

IMG_0021.JPG

these are all made from soy

IMG_0022.JPG

tofu (left), soy wrap (middle), fried tofu bags (right)

IMG_0024.JPG

fermented tofu

IMG_0026.JPG

big selection of smoked tofu

IMG_0027.JPG

tea section

IMG_0030.JPG

nuts section

IMG_0031.JPG

dry seafood section

IMG_0034.JPG

dry mussel

IMG_0035.JPG

dry scallop

IMG_0037.JPG

dry sea cucumber, dry shrimp, dry fish

IMG_0038.JPG

dry fish

IMG_0039.JPG

grains section

IMG_0042.JPG

dry fish as snack

IMG_0043.JPG

sausages

IMG_0045.JPG

fruit section. These on the right are cane sugar

IMG_0058.JPG

these are my favorite fruit in china: big pomelos! 😀

IMG_0060.JPG

As you can see, there’s a big selection of everything. That’s because chinese people give great importance to daily meals. Food in China is cheap, varied and tasty. Yeah~ Taste is perhaps what chinese people value the most in food… more than its nutritional value.

Hope you enjoy this mini tour to the supermarket, I’ll make another tour through local market. 🙂

Q: What’s the aspect that you value the most when choosing food?

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Groceries shopping in Shanghai

  1. OMG I LOVE that “pizza”! I had it in Chinatown about a month ago. So freaking good. I also love Chinese dried fruits. Yum yum yum.

  2. Mmmm, I’d love to try that “pizza” 🙂

  3. This post is fantastic. What an outstanding array of foods! I can’t get over how the the culture focuses on such healthy foods as soy and fish. I knew fish and soy were staples in Chinese cuisine, but I have never actually seen pictures of the stores/restaurants. The choices and varieties are amazing! And, they dry their fish products (With healthy omega-3 fats) like Americans dry beef (with unhealthy saturated fat). Hmmm…I wonder why we are so much more unhealthy! Despite the fried foods, their abundance of fish and soy (fermented especially) has made them a healthier nation.

  4. So neat to see a typical Chinese supermarket. I’m drooling over all the neat types of pickles!

    I value the energy (and therefore nutritional) aspect of food. If it’s not going to do something for me, I definitely will choose it less often. Not to say that I don’t enjoy moderation treats like ice cream or cookies. 🙂

  5. Absolutely fantastic. I loved seeing all the different types of food. I was really fascinated by all the different types of food. Esp all the fermented soy! Very cool, thanks for sharing!!

  6. Thanks for the tour of the Chinese market! You probably know I’m a fan of food around the world! All the breakfast foods look DELICIOUS!

  7. oh my gosh this was SO interesting!! fish as snack? so crazy!

  8. SW

    I was just in Shanghai two months ago… and my mouth is watering from all your pictures. I especially love the “Shanghainese yue bing” and fried breakfast items you can’t find here. Thanks so much for posting them! Can you take more pictures of food while you’re there?

  9. I want to go to China SO badly. Can you believe I’ve never been? I see lots of familiar foods though 🙂

  10. I waaant to go there! It looks SO amazing!! 😀 One day. Next. 🙂

  11. OMG, THANK YOU for this post!!! Seriously, how amazing to view another culture’s everyday supermarket from your perspective. It’s amazing how different a supermarket can be from one country to the next. Such a great variety of foods! I think if you truly take a look at any supermarket, you’ll find a large mix between healthy and not-healthy. It’s more about what each country considers “tasty” and the fact that tastes vary so much between regions.

    xxoo
    Heather

  12. DiningAndDishing

    what an awesome shopping expirience!! i would love to have a large asian grocery store like that nearby. so many delicious eats!! :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  13. wow, that’s more food than I’ve ever seen together in one place.

    I’m really surprised by how many soy products there are!

  14. 还是咱们的超市好。wahahahah

  15. first of all HAPPY BELATED BDAY!! sorry I have been MIA…wow your trip looks amazing! I love traveling and seeing all the different foods from different countries, thank you for the pics, I felt like I was right there with you!

    holy tofu! I would be in heavennnn…I am on a HUGE tofu kick these days!

    I think I value how my food tastes most of the time! if it doesnt taste good, I don’t eat it!!

  16. I could literally spend hours in this market! I can’t believe all the varieties of tea — wow! And those baked pancakes sound incredible!

  17. Wow so cool! I’d be like a kid in a candy store there! I love the huge tofu and nut spread! That pizza sounds great too!

  18. WOW! What a market. Thanks so much for the tour. I would be slack jawed with wonder and awe at a place like that. I think I value freshness the most when shopping. Second would be in season items…

  19. Wow, the Chinese markets look amazing! There are so many varieties of great food!

    I try to go for the freshest item possible, but it has to be something that I like of course 😉 I won’t be purchasing mushrooms no matter how fresh they are!

  20. Wow! What a great market! Thanks for the tour. It was really very interesting.

    Stopped by from SITS to say hi and welcome.

  21. OOOH! Can you pick up some MISO for me?
    Okay, what I value? Basic ingreidents to build foundations for sauces…these are usually cheap and consistent. Staples like soy sauce, peanut butter, sirachi, orange marmalade, quark, garlic power and seasoning. I splurge on good olive oil and salt and vinegar.
    Also, beautiful produce makes the fridge!

  22. dorophy

    一直觉得平淡的超市,经过你的图文并茂的介绍,一下子感觉很诱人,也想立马去超市逛逛了

  23. Ah! I would be SUPER excited if I saw fresh dim sum for sale at a supermarket. 😦 Need to go to China again… I love rou song too. It’s really good in buns, but I’ve never had with congee (I won’t touch plain congee. Ick.). Despite the fact that they’re unhealthy, they’re still yummy-looking… SCALLION PANCAKES! I need to learn to make those too! >< I never knew there was so much you could do with soy. 😯 I love those sweet (Chinese? Taiwanese?) sausages… everything looks good. OMG, I'm so jealous.

    Well, I hope you have a wonderful New Year! Oh wait, it's already happened for you 😉

  24. Hi Coco, Happy (belated) birthday and happy new year!
    Great post, I want to visit this supermarket. And China, in general.
    I think the ‘chicken’ in the photo looks like a duck. I also love those big pomelos.
    Have a wonderful trip!

Leave a Reply

