Germany day 3: (Innsbruck) Austria and (Vipiteno) Italia


Hello people!!! I’m back to Germany after spending the weekend at Vipiteno skiing and falling down. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But let’s talk about that in the next post. First let me do the recap of day 3 which was full of fun, countries (from Germany to Italy crossing by Austria) and local meals!

The day we went to Munich, Mara bought me a typical Bavarian snack: Lebkuchen

IMG_2489.JPG

its texture is between a cookie and a cake, flavored with essence of almond. Really tasty and dense like a bomb (a small bite of it goes a long way)

IMG_2493.JPG

Every friday Mara and Gunther go to a local market where fresh produce and meat are sold as well as local meals. At this stand, we had our mini lunch.

IMG_2504.JPG

Potato soup with sausage

IMG_2508.JPG

I had the soup with some pita like bread

IMG_2512.JPG
Mara had Apple almond cake

IMG_2516.JPG

and Gunther in addition to the soup had Kirchweinudel (a fried cake pudding)

IMG_2520.JPG

Then we head to Vipiteno Italy and we stopped at Innsbruck (Austria), a very cute place.

IMG_2521.JPG IMG_2541.JPG

IMG_2531.JPG

IMG_2549.JPG

IMG_2556.JPG

Another Christmas market

IMG_2569.JPG

We shared a Kiacha with sauerkraut, a fried dough (slightly sweet) with fermented cabbage

IMG_2564.JPG

IMG_2578.JPG

IMG_2579.JPG

It was my first time having sauerkraut, love it.

IMG_2570.JPG

A ham & bacon shop

IMG_2583.JPG

where we had a sandwich

IMG_2592.JPG

I loved the narrow streets and the unique style of the buildings.

IMG_2596.JPG

There were a lot of people despite the cold weather. Everyone had some food or drink at hand while chatting with friends.

IMG_2605.JPG

A typical drink in this area is Gluewein, warm wine. It has a intense flavor. I felt my throat and chest warm right after the first sip.

IMG_2612.JPG

After 3 hours of drive we finally arrived Vipiteno, an Italian comune in the province of Bolzano-Bozen in the region of Trentino-Alto Adige/Sรผdtirol. It is the main village of the southern Wipptal, and theย Eisack River flows through the medieval town.

source

We went to Mara and Gunther’s favorite pizza place called Sportbar for dinner

IMG_2627.JPG

IMG_2629.JPG

Mara had Schupfnudeln (ravioli kind of pasta filled with spinach)

IMG_2636.JPG

Gunther had pizza with arugula, parmesan and ham

IMG_2638.JPG

I had pizza primavera

IMG_2640.JPG

It was DELICIOUS!!! I really like Italian pizza’s crust, not greasy at all, chewy and thin. Anyone can easily manage to eat the whole thing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

For dessert I had Tiramisu

IMG_2645.JPG

Mara had vanilla ice cream with warm raspberries sauce

IMG_2646.JPG

After dinner, we went to another bar for a drink. It’s located at an old basement. ย Look how cool is its interior

IMG_2649.JPG

IMG_2658.JPG

A typical local drink called Veneziano: mixture of aperol (licor) and proseco

IMG_2673.JPG

It’s slightly sweet, citrus and very sexy ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_2674.JPG

It was a long day but a lot of fun!!!

Stay tune for the ski recap! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Side note: I was not expecting much about this trip because I was never a big fan of German culture, people and food. But half way through this short trip, I’m surprisingly like everything I’ve seen, met and tried. I like the order and cleanness of the place, politeness of the people, its food culture which focus on eating local and spending great amount of time preparing food, even for a non-meat eater like me, I’ve been enjoying a lot its food ๐Ÿ˜€

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Germany day 3: (Innsbruck) Austria and (Vipiteno) Italia

  1. Loved this post! The Lebkuchen look so moist and yummy…

    German food is very similar to Polish food – heavy on the meats and starches. I’m smiling looking at all your meals because it really reminds me so much of my own trip!

    It’s really good to see your embracing the food and the culture. That’s the best way to experience what a country really is like ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. wow everything looks great and so beautiful! the food is so unique in other countries, that fried dough with cabbage sounds acutally pretty tasty! and your pizza looks fresh and delicious with HUGE pieces of veggies on top! ๐Ÿ™‚ well done my dear!!

    keep enjoying yourself, I have been to places many times not thinking I will love them and end up falling in love with the food, culture and my whole experience!

  3. Gorgeous food and sights! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You know, I hadn’t even thought about the fact that you don’t eat meat, as Germany is big on meat. I’m glad oyu enjoyed your first saurkraut experience!! I love it too, I sometimes eat it stright out of the can! Gross, I know.
    I love seeing the McDonald’s sign in one of the pictures above, it’s pretty funny in my opinion.

    How are you doing without your kombocha?! Any withdrawal symptoms?? haha, jk.

  5. Oh my! what a wonderful trip!!! you are really a lucky girl – enjoyed so much great thing in the world! ! happy for you ๐Ÿ˜€

    that Apple almond cake looks soooooo good – I would definitely choose that one , hehe, I have sweet teeth, you know ๐Ÿ˜›
    can’t wait to read more of your trip, take care,

  6. It looks like you’re having a great trip! It’s funny how food is just a great way to experience culture. Enjoy the rest of your trip! I can’t wait to read about skiing!

  7. Wowwww….i’m so jealous of your trip, and all the new and creative eats! everything looks wonderful!

  8. i love seeing all your authentic european eats and treats! the tiramisu and the raviolis look so yummy. that is great you hit the slopes! good for you, of course i am jealous ๐Ÿ™‚ love you!

  9. WOW this is soo cool! i love all those eats..sounds like you got to experience culture in a great way!

  10. So excited about this post! My daughter is going to Germany (Frieburg) in June on an exchange program.

    You had me at: Kiacha with sauerkraut – I need to recreate that at home!

    Loved all your pics!

  11. Ahh, looks like you are having an amazing time, Coco! I’m so jealous! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love seeing all of your European adventures and all of the delish-looking eats!

  12. All the food looks amazing! And I love the hustle and bustle of Europe. You don’t see people out enjoying markets at night so much on this continent!

  13. It looks so beautiful there! Your pizza looks delicious! Glad you are having a great time!

  14. I love the beautiful decor at the Christmas markets, especially those lit-up trees…so lovely! It all looks like so much fun, and the food looks amaaaazing! (Especially that fried dough sauerkraut…wow, that looks delish!) Can’t wait for your ski recap! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I love all your pictures! Sounds like a wonderful trip! Can’t wait to read about your skiing adventures! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. That cookie-cake snack looks absolutely delicious. Just thinking about the texture has me drooling! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ The Christmas market looks so lively and beautiful—I’ve always wanted to visit a night market! The spinach-filled ravioli looks awesome, too.

    Can’t wait to read more! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a comment