Food, Life: bowling and Zaytinya


Last Sunday a friend from HK, Grace who I met in Tanzania came to visit the Tanzanian group in DC. It was so nice to see her again. She’s a girl that feels like a nice breeze, fresh, pure and warm, someone that everyone would like to have around.

We met at a bowling place. Tested our bad skills ;)

zatinya 013

casual outfit: BB gray cardigan, BB tank, jean mini skirt and black tight.

zatinya 001

Star was the winner of the group!

zatinya 075

I did so poorly!!!

zatinya 031

but we had fun!

zatinya 025

Next, we went to Zaytinya. It offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines served up in a sleek and modern setting. The menu features shared small plates of authentic and innovative fare. Since opening in 2003, Zaytinya ranks consistently as a Top DC Dining Destination.

IMG_6000.JPG

The menu is long and varied. Each of us picked 2-3 dishes

IMG_6003.JPG

can’t remember the original names but I’ll try to describe it as I remember.

cheese and tomatoes salad

IMG_6009.JPG

unlimited free just baked pita bread!!!!

IMG_6010.JPG

hummus

IMG_6011.JPG

fried calamari

IMG_6013.JPG

falafel

IMG_6015.JPG

octopus (any guess on who ordered it? ;))

IMG_6016.JPG

grilled cheese

IMG_6018.JPG

jumbo sea scallops

IMG_6019.JPG

squash soup

IMG_6021.JPG

beef

IMG_6022.JPG

potato salad

IMG_6025.JPG

? don’t remember this

IMG_6026.JPG

brussel sprouts

IMG_6028.JPG

mushrooms

IMG_6030.JPG

beet and rugula salad

IMG_6033.JPG

chicken kebab

IMG_6034.JPG

my favorite dish of the night: lamb casserole

IMG_6041.JPG

salmon

IMG_6043.JPG

grilled lamb

IMG_6045.JPG

3 desserts:

IMG_6052.JPG
IMG_6053.JPG
IMG_6055.JPG

the group!

IMG_6048.JPG

and the happy couple! I love this pic of us. It was taken by Bami, the husband of my newest friend Sarah, the best portrait photographer in DC! :)

zatinya 179

Q: What’s your favorite mediterranean dish? Mine is definitely hummus and anything octopus related.

Sephora is having Friends and Family 20% off. Did you pick anything? I got a big haul!!! :lol:

8 Comments

Filed under food, life, restaurant

8 responses to “Food, Life: bowling and Zaytinya

  1. I love that picture of you two :) And I told you what I got at Sephora already!

  2. What a beautiful photo of you and Star! All the food looks amazing, too. I love your necklace, BTW…

  3. OH wow, 20% off?? Thanks for letting us know! I love Sephora.
    I’ll admit, I’m a pretty good bowler :) I wonder if I could beat Star?? Hmmm..it’s been a while since I’ve bowled, but I LOVE it!
    My favorite Med. dish has to be anything with fish and red sauce. The jumbo sea scallops look amazing, and that’s what I made last night for our dinner! I served mine with corn bread and tomatoes and greens.

  4. Thanks for reviewing Zaytinya! I never understand why I have yet to try the place. Truth be told, I am not a huge fan of Andres’ restaurants in general.

  5. yay for 20% off. that food looks incredible! did i miss your big news or did you not announce it yet? :)

  6. Looks like it was such a fun night, Coco! Mmm, the fook all looks incredible…I’m craving falafel now! ;)

  7. grace zhang

    Rong – nice to meet you guys!!! hope can see you soon!!! love your house btw!!!!! jealous

Leave a Reply

