Food: groceries haul & favorite cucumber salad


I finally went to Tj’s!!! :lol: I haven’t gone there for over a month because my parents like to go to chinese markets instead. Summer is here and I crave more and more fresh veggies! So here’s what I got!

IMG_3695.JPG

simply by looking at them makes me a happy girl!!!

Kale, tofu and tomatoes to make the spicy salad

IMG_3696.JPG

romaine, celery, cucumber, green pepper, carrots, apple and lemon to make morning juice

IMG_3698.JPG

Let me present you my favorite summer cucumber salad. It’s fresh, tasty and super easy to make!

What you need: cucumber either japanese or this one, I believe it’s called european cucumber?; salt, garlic, rice vinegar and sesame oil

IMG_3699.JPG

1. Peel and cut cucumber in slices. Add 1 tbsp of sea salt and massage it

IMG_3702.JPG

Let it sit for 15-20 min. Meanwhile, mince garlic

IMG_3705.JPG

you’ll see that after 15-20 min, it releases some liquid. Get rid of this, you don’t want to consumer 1 tbsp worth of sodium!

IMG_3706.JPG

add the rest of the ingredients, minced garlic, 1-2 tbsp rice vinegar and 1/2-1 tbsp sesame oil. Mix well and serve.

IMG_3708.JPG

I also make a sauteed water chestnut with chinese pickles and sesame oil

IMG_3714.JPG

all served with oatmeal porridge. This has been my last week favorite dinner combo.

IMG_3713.JPG

I promised to do a video about my current skin routine. I’m working on it (in the process of learning imovie). Be patient with me! ;)

Just a teaser… look this sephora haul! :lol:

Q1: What’s your current favorite dinner combo?

Q2: Do you like hiking? Have you hiked any mountain?

13 Comments

Filed under food

13 responses to “Food: groceries haul & favorite cucumber salad

  1. I crave more fresh veggies in the summer, too. Looks like you got some awesome produce.

    And I can’t wait to see your sephora haul!

  2. i love that cucumber salad too! holy cow! that is quite a sephora haul! you have so many greens! do you juice a lot?

  3. I love cucumber salad! I’ll be making yours this week! :)

    Love everything you got at TJ’s. I’ll have to get back to juicing more!

    You know my hiking answer! :)

  4. Aren’t fruits and vegge just gorgeous? I like the sound of your cucumber salad.

  5. lol That’s a SERIOUS make-up haul!!!

    And yup, I enjoy hiking! Truth be told, here in small town Rocky Mountain Canada it’s one of the few things there is to do.

    So yeah, I’ve hiked some mountains – including the tallest one in the Banff area! :)

  6. Awesome grocery haul! When can I come over for dinner??

  7. omg coco! it better be on your next post!!!

  8. I should definitely try this cucumber salad, because yesterday by accident I bought FOUR cucumbers (the huge ones) instead of two. haha, I wasn’t thinking. I think I’ll make my favorite quinoa salad that I posted a while back, with quinoa, feta, cucumber, tomatoes, olive oil, and dill. LAter I’ll make the cucumber salad, because it’s one of my dad’s favorite salads.

    Have a great Memorial Day!

  9. The Trader Joe’s in our city is FINALLY almost open! I’m so so so so so excited.

    I love the juice combo. I need to get my butt in the kitchen to make some juice myself. My fav combo is apple, carrot, kale.

  10. Love all those fresh veggies, Coco! That cucumber salad sounds light and refreshing…perfect for summer!

  11. I simply can NOT wait to see what’s in all those boxes! I was in Sephora last week and was totally overwhelmed! I love how you always buy big!!! :)

    That cuke salad sounds delish and refreshing. I’ll be book marking that one….

Leave a Reply

