Food: new breakfast ideas


I’ve been trying different breakfast creations lately and two of them are featured in the blog world.

#1 Katie’s Vegan Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal

IMG_3051.JPG

I followed her recipe almost exactly and topped with coconut cream (2 tbsp coconut flour + 1/4 c. milk)

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp stevia extract
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup almond breeze vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp chia seed
Bake at 375 F for 20 min.
I like the taste of it but not the texture. It’s too chewy. I dunno…. I must be weird. I like oatmeal only in its porridge form. The good thing about it is that it’s really really filling. I almost couldn’t finish it and I didn’t feel hungry until 4-5 hours later.
#2 5-min Protein Chocolate Cake. I love this! I think I ate the same combo for the last 5 days and still want more. First because it’s ready to eat in 5 min (1 min mixing, 3 min in the microwave, 1 min cooling). I’ve been extremely lazy on cooking… so in the morning I just want to have the breakfast-thing done as quick as possible! :shock: rushing to what? nothing actually :(
this is how it looks after it cools down

IMG_3063.JPG

flipped

IMG_3064.JPG

the texture is just like a spongy cake, denser than this chocolate cake

IMG_3067.JPG

the taste? chocolate any one? the coconut and pumpkin flavors are completely hidden by the chocolate.

IMG_3072.JPG

I also made the plain version with added ginger powder and cinnamon

IMG_3261.JPG

mixed

IMG_3264.JPG

ready to eat

IMG_3268.JPG

the texture is still the same but the taste is not as great as the chocolate one. I guess that’s because I am biased to anything with dark chocolate.

5-min chocolate cake from SmoothieGirlEastsToo‘s recipe

  • 2 extra large egg whites
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp stevia extract
  • 1.5 tbsp unsweetened chocolate powder
  • 1.5 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp water/milk
Mix everything and microwave for 3 min in a bowl (previously sprayed with oil). Let it cool for 1 min and serve.
Try it, you’ll be surprised by how delicious it is! :lol:
There’s only 1 cons: although it’s extremely filling “psychologically” because it’s like eating a chocolate cake, it is not filling physically. I get hungry within two hours after eating it, so I’d grab one of my favorite cereal bar to full my belly. Maybe I should try to double the recipe or add some oil. IdeaS?
Lastly.. I made plain buns for my dad.

IMG_3259.JPG

Look how cute it is! :)

IMG_3260.JPG

Q: What are you eating for breakfast lately?

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “Food: new breakfast ideas

  1. Wow…these look SOOOO good. I’m going to have to give ‘em a go VERY soon!
    I’m loving breakfast wraps with egg whites, ham and salsa these days.
    Thanks for the great ideas, have a good day!!!

  2. I love those plain buns ;-)) I remember I had them with some sweetened condensed milk before…just heavenly!

  3. Those buns are adorable! Now that’s it’s getting a bit warmer, I’ve been eating more cereal. Post Harvest Grains is my fave these days!!!

Leave a Reply

