Food: how do you like your salad?


I had an AHA moment the other day! I finally know how to make a restaurant-style salad at home!!! :lol:

There are 3 key steps!!!

#1: Chop the veggies!!! Even those triple-washed-greens-ready-to-use.

IMG_2674.JPG

This salad contains greens, tomatoes, raw broccoli, bell peppers, endives, palms and canned salmon.

It sounds stupid, but it does really make a difference.

#2: A lot of dressing!!!

IMG_2675.JPG

I’m not talking about 2-3 tbsp of dressing that is usually called as 1 serving. But at least 1/4-1/3 cup of dressing. How did I make it? Inspired by Erin’s Fu-salad. I made the dressing with the following:

  • 1 tbsp real mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup silken tofu
  • 1-2 tsp mustard
  • 2 tbsp balsamic
  • S+P

Blend all together and voila. 1/3 cup of homemade goodie dressing. ;)

#3 Mix and wait 10 min before serving.

IMG_2678.JPG

the 10 magic min let the dressing mix with the ingredients.

Serve with a miso soup

IMG_2682.JPG

I love love this homemade salad because in each bite you can taste the dressing and at least 2-3 ingredients. :lol:

In a second note, I’m seriously addicted to this sauce

Yesterday I had veggies and chicken stir-fry with it

IMG_2665.JPG

served with millet

IMG_2672.JPG

and miso soup

IMG_2669.JPG

It’s such a satisfying meal!!! And do you know how long it takes to make? 12 min :shock: YES, I counted it!!! Yesterday I worked at Starbucks until 12:45 PM and I was so hungry when I arrived home. I watched the kitchen clock and it marked 12:55PM when I started and by 1:07 I was sitting in front of the meal already :)

Lastly lotus root power is back to my life!!! :lol:

IMG_2662.JPG

IMG_2663.JPG

Love eating it slowly while watching Sex and the City ;)

NEWS: My mom arrives today!!! :lol: It has been 3 months since I left Shanghai, I really miss her! :D

Q: How do you like your salad? What’s your favorite homemade dressing?

8 Comments

Filed under food

8 responses to “Food: how do you like your salad?

  1. OMG my mouth is watering!

  2. That stir fry still look delish! And I agree that lots of dressing is best. I’ve never been one for skimping. LOL

    Wishing your Mom safe travels!!!

  3. Madelyne

    I’m totally trying that dressing! and you are right about letting the dressing sit. If I bring salad to work with dressing on the side something just does not seem to work. But if I pour on the dressing before I leave a=it tastes way better and somehow the lettuce doesn’t get soggy.
    I love olives on my salad. I usually make a mustard/vinegar/olive oil dressing, Right now I’m using a mild dill mustard so I usually do 1 tbsp mustard, 2 tbsp red wine vinegar, and 1 tbsp olive oil plus salt and pepper.

  4. This is a brilliant dressing and such great tips for making salads! I love! I will try chopping everything for tomorrow’s salad :) xo

  5. Beautiful salad! I like mine with lots of veggies and a dressing made from PB and cayenne pepper.

  6. Yep, restaurant salads are ALWAYS drenched in dressing! This is actually why I don’t like them. I would much rather taste the fresh veggies, with a bit of dressing to accent their taste, than all that dressing and no veggies. But hey, restaurant salads are popular so people must like it that way! I must be strange.
    My favorite homemade dressing is just olive oil and vinegar. Lately I’ve been using blueberry vinegar and it’s amazing.

  7. A lot of dressing will make any salad tasteful and delicious! :) That stir-fry veggies and chicken look so yummy. :) I wonder how that lotus root power taste like?

  8. CH

    I think you’re right, these steps are the way to make a salad taste really good! Especially letting it sit with the dressing!

Leave a Reply

