Recipe: pound cake, chocolate “milk” and more


Last Friday, before Star came back I baked two mini pound cake for him. What a great wife I am! :D

IMG_1525.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 100g butter (room temperature)
  • 100g flour
  • 70g sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 50g banana chips + almonds

IMG_1512.JPG

Beat sugar+butter+eggs until very puffy

IMG_1514.JPG

Soaked the banana chips with some warm milk, get rid of the milk and blend

IMG_1517.JPG

Pour the batter to two mini moldes

IMG_1522.JPG

bake at 350F for 35 min

IMG_1526.JPG

isn’t it pretty?

IMG_1531.JPG

IMG_1548.JPG

IMG_1549.JPG

I made again the black chicken soup. Something that I want to comment about soup. In chinese culture, soup is not just food, but also a “medicine”. There is actually a word for that, 药膳,medicine food. It usually combines different ingredients that have medicinal values with everyday ingredients. The idea is heal or get healthier with daily food.

IMG_1541.JPG

For this soup, I added these: 黄芪 (radix astragali) to invigorate Qi, 当归 (Dongui) and red dates to build blood and dry shiitake.

IMG_1524.JPG

Stir-fry continued to be a staple for me. This one has broccoli, mushrooms, bamboo, green peppers and eggplant.

IMG_1538.JPG

Bok choy with smoked pork belly

IMG_1539.JPG

Star was working while I cooked and it was funny to see where he choice to do the conference call. ;)

IMG_1545.JPG

oh… that’s Charlotte from Sex and the City! Yes, I’m watching it for the 1000000 times!

IMG_1544.JPG

Another stir-fry: chinese mustard greens, red peppers, chinese yam and bean curd stick

IMG_1657.JPG

Yam noodles with chinese cabbage, black fungus, shiitake, dry shrimp and a poached egg.

IMG_1662.JPG

For breakfast I’ve been having these two combos:

#1 oatmeal cooked with chia gel and pumpkin puree

IMG_1552.JPG

I made some almond butter

IMG_1670.JPG

#2 pumpkin bread with AB

IMG_1675.JPG

with homemade chocolate milk.

IMG_1677.JPG

I love Almond Breeze Chocolate but I don’t buy it anymore. Why? Because although I love how it tastes, it’s not very nutritious. So I make my own bean milk (soy bean, black bean, aduki and mung bean) and add 1-2 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder. Voila…. a nutritious bean milk!

Q: What’s your favorite cloth and shoe store/brand?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Recipe: pound cake, chocolate “milk” and more

  1. Madelyne

    Could you share your recipe for bean milk? sounds great! I’ve tried making my own almond milk but it is always too watery. I guess I need an emulsifier

  2. oh coco i wish you were my wife too!

  3. I have to tell you that I had my first Kabocha (spelling?) squash last night. I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!

    The only thing was that I wished it were bigger because I wanted more! :P

    As for clothing – I love H&M and for shoes I love my Manolos but for everyday wear I’m a big fan of Nine West!

  4. mmm I LOOVE pound cake but it’s so naughty how much butter goes in there!! Still, mini is definitely the way to go.

    SO cute how you showed us the picture of your Star doing a conference call in front of your bookshelf. It’s quite an interesting choice of seating like you said! hahahah :)

    Gosh I think i have a bunch of favorite brands but not any in the US. I will have to say Zara and Mango are up my alley when I shop in Hong Kong, but a lot of no-name brand stuff rocks!!!! As for shoes, the one shoes that have a brand that i wear are running shoes – just ordered some New Balance shoes for $27!!! Can’t beat that!!

  5. Mmm I love making almond butter. There is really nothing like it!

    It’s been a really long time since I’ve made pound cake but that looks so good that I really really really want to eat it right now.

  6. DiningAndDishing

    Love that you have Sex and the City on! I just finished a marathon of every episode. Took me like 4 months!!

    My favorite clothing store is definitely Anthropologie.

    - Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  7. I love all your stir fry’s!!! They’re always so bright and make me want to dive through the computer and into the bowl! Star is too cute sitting on the floor for his call. Lucky nobody could see him, right? I really don’t have a favourite clothing or shoe store that I like to shop at. I basically go where the sales are. ;)

Leave a Reply

