A colorful post


First, few personal notes:

  • I fall down two days ago and now my right hip hurts whenever I make a movement :(
  • I did my first run in 2011! I’ve been wanting to run outdoor for a long time but the weather and the knee problem hold me until yesterday. I only did 3 miles and I felt them!!! How easy to lose resistance so quickly? (well…. 4-5 months). Bad news: my knee is still not okay. I didn’t feel sharp pain as I used to have after running just 1 mile, but at the end, I could feel that the pain was coming. So I’ll go to the doc and hopefully she can figure out what’s going on.
  • New challenge: cut back on coffee. From now on, I’ll be having only 1 cup (half mug) of coffee in the morning (I was having 3-4 cups daily). I’d like to eliminate caffeine completely but the reality is I like coffee too much to take it away completely from one day to the other. If this goes well, in a month or two, I’ll cut it to 1/2 cup.

Okay. Let’s start this colorful post.

Breakfast: orange + red

IMG_1295.JPG

oatmeal cooked with pumpkin puree and 1 beaten egg, topped with bean curd with fermented red date

IMG_1292.JPG

IMG_1303.JPG

Lunch: black, red, green and purple

IMG_1307.JPG

sauteed black fungus, asparagus, shiitake, red peppers and vegetarian chicken

IMG_1308.JPG

brown rice, purple cabbage and edamame cooked in the rice cooker with miso

IMG_1309.JPG

Dinner: green, red, yellow

IMG_1316.JPG

stir-fry chinese mustard, mushrooms, red peppers and fresh bamboo (I’m loving it, you’ll see them more!)

What’s missing in this palette? Blue! I consumed it in form of movie. Blue Valentine

Are you a big fan of The Notebook as I am? Do you like Ryan Gosling? I love him! He’s my favorite actor and he’s the perfect lover!

I went to watch it thinking that it’s going to be another love story. Well… yes, it is a love story, but a sad one. If The Notebook is too romantic to be true, this one is the opposite. It’s an elegy for love, a monument to heartbreak.  Blue Valentine understands love, processes it in ways we see in our own lives more than we do on the big screen.

After I watched it, I can’t get it out of my head. It is both sweet and emotionally devastating. The drama is about a couple whose relationship is warm and fuzzy at first but then grows cold and bitter over time. It is a reality check and it shows precisely what I talked about yesterday, marriage is not just about passion and feelings; if other things don’t match, failure is guaranteed.

Maybe not everyone wants to see a reality-check movie, one that shows the dark side of love and marriage. But I really like it. If you decide to watch it, I wouldn’t recommend you to go with your loved one.

Q: who’s your favorite actor?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “A colorful post

  1. Hope you feel better!!

    My favorite actor = Johnny Depp.

  2. Good luck cutting back on coffee! (No chance of that for me–I’ve given up!)

  3. oh feel better! I am also in the same boat with coffee!

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    There’s nothing better than colorful eats! :D

    My favorite actor … Sheesh, that’s a hard one! Michael Caine maybe?

  5. Definitely good luck with the coffee, I could never completely give it up either, sometimes I am good and just have one cup, but other days I have way too much!

    It’s so hard to choose just one favorite actor!! I really love Timothy Olyphant, right now, but John Travolta is probably my all time fave!

    I’m sorry to hear about your fall, hope you have a speedy recovery!

  6. Congrats on your first run! but don’t push urself too hard! Running does hurt knees. So take care!
    I am addicted to Furu right now, hehe

  7. I heartily approve of your colorful diet!!

  8. Oh yikes even the poster of that film looks very dramatic and somber! Thanks for the heads up on behalf of any women out there who want to watch it :P I’ll pray for your body to be at ease Coco~

  9. DiningAndDishing

    I really enjoyed Blue Valentine but you’re right – it’s a sad movie!! It reminded me a lot of Closer. A good movie that really makes you think.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  10. I love The Notebook and Ryan Gosling. Sounds like a movie to see! I don’t think I really have a favourite actor…I like a few of them!

    GORGEOUS food, Coco!!!

Leave a Reply

