One Year Anniversary


A year ago, we were announced to be Husband and Wife. I can’t believe it has been a year already. Although Star got transferred to the US on September 2010 and then many trips separated us from each other, we’re thankful of being able to spend more time together. Looking back, we don’t notice much difference between preand post marriage. We are so comfortable with each other that we can be just together and do nothing. I remember one friend told me once that a good couple is the one that you can just sit together in front of the TV and not talking; to go to a restaurant and only focus on the food. What that means? It means that you don’t need to think about what to say to the other person; words and thoughts just flow out; you can be just yourself. :) I think that’s a great description of marriage (i.e. perfect couple) for me (I know that many may disagree). Passions and lust are exciting, but they’re not lasting. A marriage is a long time commitment, maybe 50 years? then how can we make sure that the initial chemistry last for that long? well… clearly we cannot. So how to pick the person to marry to? The one that you’re comfortable with, the one that let you be yourself 100%! He/she won’t be perfect, perhaps with many flaws and things that you don’t like… but it is alright, no one is and what’s important is to look the big picture.

ok… too much rambling… heheh… I was just thinking and writing ;)

IMG_0798.JPG

First I was in charge of booking the place, but those that I wanted to go were all booked :(. So I handled the command to Star. Star picked a french bistro called La Chaumiere in Georgetown.

When we were guided to our table I saw this

IMG_0774.JPG

first I thought… wooo… what a romantic restaurant. but 5 sec after, I saw this card and realized that Star set it up! :D

IMG_0781.JPG

happy obviously~~~ :D

IMG_0779.JPG

we start with a basket of french bread with butter

IMG_0783.JPG

I’m embarrassed. I finished the whole thing! :shock:

For starter: we shared Fois gras with toast of brioche bread

IMG_0785.JPG

my first time with fois gras

IMG_0787.JPG

and a lobster bisque

IMG_0791.JPG

for entree: I choice parsley crusted chilean sea bass

IMG_0793.JPG

IMG_0797.JPG

with wild mushrooms

IMG_0796.JPG

Star had marinated duck

IMG_0795.JPG

with wild rice

IMG_0794.JPG

and the star of the dinner was this gigantic Chocolate Souffle!!!

IMG_0799.JPG

it comes with a cream sauce

IMG_0800.JPG

and we are supposed to make a hole to the souffle and pour the sauce

IMG_0805.JPG

I had a first bite and I was in heaven!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD!!!

IMG_0803.JPG

IMG_0807.JPG

15 min later…. we I devoured the thing!

IMG_0808.JPG

I was in a seriously sugar coma :shock:. Can’t remember when was the last time I ate that much sweet, but it worths it 200%!!!

Q1: What’s your thoughts about the ideal couple?

Q2: When was the last dessert that hit the spot for you?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “One Year Anniversary

  1. Happy Anniversary! I can’t believe it’s been a year either! I still remember when you announced that you had gotten married! Seems like yesterday!

    Your dinner looks wonderful.

    I think you need to marry your best friend. You are right. passion fades. Therefore, it’s so important that you truly like the person you are married to. I know that sounds kind of funny. But I think so often we get all caught up in love and chemistry and forget to ask ourselves, “Do I really LIKE him/her?” I think in a way “like” entails so much more than “love.” You can love someone but dislike many things about him/her, and those things can become real problems down the road…

    I’m very happy that you and Star are so happy! :) :) :)

    Happy Friday!

  2. Happy Anniversary, Coco and Star! Looks like you celebrated with a wonderful meal, too.

    I think that there is no such thing as the “ideal couple.” Every couple has to work on maintaining and fostering a healthy relationship. I think no matter who you end up with you will probably have to make compromises. :) But I think what’s important is that you marry someone who can help you navigate life and who can help (and who you can help) grow into a better person. :)

  3. happy anniversary! i agree, you must have a soul connection, something deeper than just physicality in a marriage. i connect with my partner on a much deeper level than surface features alone and i couldn’t be happier! it’s exciting to share such an intimate relationship with someone. what a spectacular looking souffle! i was desperate for dessert last night so i had half a dark chocolate cadbury bar…not the greatest chocolate but it hit the spot at the time!

  4. happy anniversary! may you have many more!

  5. lele

    Happy Anniversary!!!
    I really like your thoughts on the ideal couple, and would have to say I agree completely! You’re very lucky to have found someone who fits that role for you!
    I’ve not been into dessert for a while, but your chocolate souffle definitely had me drool a little bit inside :P

  6. Has it been a year already? Congratulations amiga!!! :)

    As for me – I think there is no such thing as a perfect couple. Just one that is committed. Because at the end of the day, that’s the most important thing.

  7. happy anniversary! wow, what a fast year!

  8. Happy Anniversary!!! :)

    My last dessert …. my Reese’s Pizzert was perfert earlier this week (who says you can’t have candy for a healthy breakfast. ;) ).

  9. Happy anniversary to you!!!
    I couldn’t agree more about your analysis of a “perfect couple”. I love that I can act like myself in front of Nick, no matter what I do or say, he won’t judge. It’s hard to keep that spark, but I also think many of us compare relationships to TV relationships, which is unrealistic and not something that we should do. You know? I’m afraid the next generation will grow up thinking school is like Glee, and relationships are supposed to be full of sex and romance, all the time. Ugh, sometimes I hate tv, movies, and magazines!!

    Glad you enjoyed the restaurant. My last favorite dessert was a giant piece of carrot cake. My FAVORITE dessert!

  10. One year??? Holy cow!! Times sure flies, eh? CONGRATS! Sounds like you had a lovely evening out. And I would agree that in a relationship neither person should feel like they *need* to make conversation at all times. Sitting in silence, together is just as rewarding, IMO.

  11. Jos

    Happy Anniversary! I totally agree with your concept of ideal marriage/couple. No need to plan special things all the time..just need to be comfortable with each other and that’s good enough. One more thing, open communication is also important for long lasting relationship.

    Such a wonderful anniversary you had there :)

Leave a Reply

