Perfect rice!


I’m in love with my new kitchen toy: the rice maker. It makes the most delicious brown rice ever!!! :lol:

I have three delicious meals to share today, so let’s start. ;)

Breakfast: fage + aduki beans + coconut butter.

IMG_9661.JPG

It is delicious and filling. Coconut and aduki is a magic combo. It reminds me the aduki aduki mousse.

IMG_9660.JPG

Lunch: mashed cauliflower + baked salmon + sauteed mushrooms

IMG_9668.JPG

mashed cauliflower: 1/2 head of steamed cauliflower, 1 tbsp butter, salt, pepper and 2 tbsp of almond milk. I don’t like mashed potatoes, but I love this! :D

IMG_9666.JPG

And the brown rice. 1 cup of brown rice, fill water just at the 1 cup line for brown rice

IMG_9674.JPG

choose brown rice option

IMG_9676.JPG

about 2 hours laterthe best homemade brown rice ever!!! And I didn’t even soak it! :shock: I was really amazed. Usually I’d soak the rice over night and still don’t get this. I’m soooo happy with this purchase. Thank you, Maggie.

IMG_9694.JPG

and then I wanted to recreate the squash tofu that I had in Soeun

IMG_9678.JPG

I forgot the tofu and used only veggies that I had: 2 mini eggplants, chinese cabbage, broccoli and kabocha

IMG_9681.JPG

steam it for 10 min while I made the sauce: white miso paste (1/4 cup), tahini (2 tbsp), ginger and garlic

IMG_9682.JPG

all to the food processor + 1/2 cup water

IMG_9687.JPG

done

IMG_9690.JPG

heat the sauce in a wok

IMG_9691.JPG

add steamed veggies

IMG_9692.JPG

cook for 5-10 min until veggies are done.

Serve

IMG_9698.JPG

IMG_9699.JPG

Dinner: veggies in miso-tahini sauce served with brown rice

IMG_9702.JPG

It was really good (although still not as good as Soeun’s). I enjoy it so much! :lol: I thought I didn’t like rice anymore… I was wrong. Now I want to eat rice everyday!!! :lol:

Q: Have you re-fall in love with any food recently?

 

13 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, lunch, recipe, review

13 responses to “Perfect rice!

  1. what are aduki beans like? i love mashed cauliflower as well so creamy/tasty! i cannot eat the green skins on the kabocha or it gives me a terrible stomach ache! you must have a strong stomach :)

  2. This happens to me all the time! I think I hate something, but then I taste it again and BAM! I LOVE IT! Rice has always been one of those foods that I either really don’t want, or I crave it. I typically just use the stove top for my rice, and add a dash of salt for taste. I love it mixed with quinoa.

  3. Mmm, you make me want some rice. :) I love wild rice and brown rice mixed.

    I actually stopped eating oatmeal for awhile and then fell in love with it again. I love the feeling you get when you “re-discover” something so good!

  4. Very cool rice cooker!!!! It definitely worth the extra bucks :)
    I love mashed cauliflower !! thanks for the recipe, I will make some this weekend!

  5. Mmm aren’t rice cookers just cool? I wouldn’t know what to do without mine! And it’s so easy to cook brown rice in it.

  6. Rice is something I’ve fallen in love with again, too! I’ve been eating lots of it lately! Glad you like your new gadget!!

  7. ew, rice. lol. I’m probably the only Asian who hates rice.

    I’m falling back in love with ice-cream these days…that’s all I seem to crave!

  8. I’m totally craving brown rice now. ;) It looks soooo good! The sauce you made for your squash tofu looks incredible too!

  9. looks like you’ve been having a ton of fun w/ your rice maker! i like mashed cauliflower, too. :-)

  10. can you cook other things in the rice cooker besides rice?
    I am all about different winter squashes right now. I dont think there is one I dont like!

  11. Kath (Eating for Living)

    Mmmmmmmhhhhhhhhhh!

    I love your brown rice! I think I will eat rice again (after cutting down all grains for 3 months now), I’ve always loved rice. And I especially love brown rice!

    Winter squash is an all-time favorite of mine. :D

  12. DiningAndDishing

    I looove that plate you have your lunch on. Anything all fancy and floral like that is totally my style :).

    Lately I’ve been falling back in love with squash. I went off it for a few years after I got sick after eating it once but I seem to have moved past that memory now!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  13. Pingback: Weekend happening: food, friends and fun :) « Balance, Joy and Delicias

Leave a Reply

