Enjoying NYC with Maggie


It’s my 6th or 7th time in NYC. Gotan Project concert brought me here but the main reason for this trip is to spend some quality time with Maggie, a new best friend :)

We met each other (in person) less than a year ago; we’ve been together exactly three times; I’m 5 years older than her; she’s probably 5” taller than me; we both have an obsession with kabocha; we both practice intuitive eating; we both recently join a fancy gym (vida fitness me in DC and Equinox Maggie in NYC); we both like large salad; we both married someone who’s also our best friend; we both love asian food; we both enjoy long walks, etc. I can keep counting what we have in common, but you get the point. ;) Something magical and genuine happened between us since we first met. Since then we slowly developed a friendship that culminated in her wedding. I was honored to be there and I knew from that day that our friendship will have a long life :) A month later, a spontaneous trip to DC and now I’m in NYC sitting on Maggie and Bobby’s couch, enjoying the sunshine, the silence of Sat morning and two cats as my companion :)

As you might realize, I’ve been talking quite a lot about friendship. I’m almost 30 years old, and I feel that I finally started to understand and value the true meaning of friendship. Is it too late? not really. Nothing in life happens without a reason, no experience is a waste. If I didn’t go through what happened  all these years, I’d never appreciate as much as I do now. Maybe it sounds like a cliche, but I truly believe that happiness is about attitude rather than what actually happens.

okay. Now let’s see what we’ve done so far. Friday night I went to the concert and arrived to Maggie’s place around 11PM exhausted. Saturday morning we took a class called Energy Sculpt at Equinox. We both liked the class. Then we had Maggie’s new favorite thing for breakfast. Each of us had a facial with which we ended up with a pretty scary face ;). For lunch we had salad.

IMG_0002.JPG

It’s a gigantic bowl of more than 15 ingredients. We loved it! ;)

After lunch, Maggie had to work a little bit. I catchup with some emails too. Around 5 PM we went to see The Social Network. I found it really interesting although it could be kind of sad for someone who’s really into friendship lately ;). We walked like 30 blocks to her favorite restaurant: Souen.

IMG_0003.JPG

I ordered Maggie’s favorite dish: Squash Tofu and she ordered stir-fry noodles

IMG_0005.JPG

IMG_0004.JPG

it doesn’t look so pretty but from the first bite I was in LOVE, or even obsession :shock: After every bite I told Maggie that” this is so good, I will so try to make it.” With every bite I try to demystify the ingredients of the sauce. We think it’s a tahini miso sauce, but I suspect there’s ginger in there too for the spicy taste. I even suggest Maggie to open a healthy food restaurant with me. :lol:  In one word: it was AMAZING!!! Souen has became my favorite place to eat in US too. :D

It’s not a big place but warm and cozy, and it has a big variety of food. I want to eat everything in that menu. ;)

IMG_0008.JPG

For dessert we shared a green tea blueberry scone which was really good too, dense and not too sweet :)

IMG_0009.JPG

We got home and both of us were tired but we followed the instruction given by Albina which is MASK

IMG_0011.JPG

and we went to sleep with the mask pretty early ;)

Today is a sunny day… I don’t know what we’re up to before I leave (3PM) but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it as I always do when I’m with a best friend :)

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Enjoying NYC with Maggie

  1. Such fun you two had! And I love that happiness quote.

  2. What and awesome sounding weekend! So glad you and Maggie were able to meet up again.

  3. Now 4 times!

    I had such an awesome weekend with you :) Hope you made it to the bus safely!!

  4. How beautiful that ya’ll have formed such a special friendship!

  5. Wow it does look like you two are having a blast! :) And both of those dishes look sooooo tastey! Enjoy your weekend!

  6. it sounds like you had a wonderful time! how’d the mask work out haha? i spoiled myself on friday and got a facial it was soooo wonderful!

  7. Sounds like you’ve made a really great friend. And don’t you love meeting someone with whom you have so much in common?! I love it.

    I need to find some good gluten free restaurants in our neighborhood. I am getting a lot of questions about that at work and I know there are lots going up recently.

    Have a great weekend Coco!

  8. you ladies know how to enjoy yourselves and have a good time!!! mm and tea scones too? loveeee <3

    she's a wonderful friend to have, just like you :D

  9. sounds like you and maggie had a great time together! love all the fresh eats, too. i think it’s great that we keep learning so much about friendship as we get older. :-)

  10. sounds like a fun day!

  11. Squash and tofu? What more could a girl ask for?

  12. Yeah, I noticed how much you hit it off the last time I met you both. :-)

    I loved what you said here: ” happiness is about attitude rather than what actually happens.” So wise, Coco!

Leave a Reply

