I got sick! :(


I haven’t been sick for years and it was about the time…. I just spent 6 hours between doctor’s office and hospital, went through an uncomfortable study :( Fortunately it was nothing and I have no fever anymore. :( Not fun being sick. Glad that Star lives close by now. He took the day off and came to take care of me ;)

Let’s rewind a little bit. I did bake new batch of bread. Hearty-chia bread

IMG_9234.JPG

IMG_9235.JPG

IMG_9238.JPG

baking in oven is easy but I really want to try baking in a dutch oven. Many bread makers use it, it seems to capture better the moisture and make the crust extra crunchy. CSN stores have a large collection of dutch ovens. I like this and this.

IMG_9240.JPG

IMG_9242.JPG

Hearty-chia bread adapted from bittersweetblog

  • 3/4 Cup Warm Water
  • 1/4 cup chia seed
  • 3 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup bread flour
  • 1/2 wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp yeast
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup apple cider

Method

1. Combine the chia seeds and warm water, and allow them to sit for at least 15 minutes, giving the mixture a good sir after the first 5.

2. Add all the ingredients from liquid to solid to the bread machine and choose dough cycle.

3. Put the dough in a floured surface and let it rise 1-2 hours more covered with a towel

4. Bake at 375F for 35 min

IMG_9259.JPG

warm bread + butter = perfection! :D

IMG_9262.JPG

Yesterday I got a big shipment of tea that I ordered for my BFF Mara

IMG_9348.JPG

She’s obsessed with Bigalow’s green tea with lemon, truly believing that it’s a great source of antioxidants! :D

IMG_9349.JPG

4 pounds of tea!!!

when I came back from the post office I began to feel cold and tired. So I took this

IMG_9352.JPG

IMG_9355.JPG

It didn’t work because I got fever later, not too high, about 100F. This morning I woke up terrible, with a sharp pain in my tummy, I could barely move. I didn’t want to go to doctor, just sleep until I feel better. But Star wouldn’t agree. He took to the doctor and the doctor suspected appendicitis. Oh.. no!! that means surgery.. means days spent in hospital, means no 10k, means no time to finish my dissertation… so many unwanted consequences. :( After a scan study, the doctor told me that it was just bloating, no appendicitis. ¬†Such a relieve!!! I hope I feel better tomorrow so I won’t miss the apple-picking that we had planned.

Here’s me at the doctor office, devastated :(

IMG_0005.JPG

6 Comments

Filed under bread making, recipe

6 responses to “I got sick! :(

  1. Lisa

    Aw, I’m sorry you are sick. Star is so nice to take a day off to look after you. I am so glad it’s not appendicitis!! Your bread looks so good, it inspires me to try to use yeast. I hope you feel better soon!

  2. Oh no, Feel better. Chew ginger! I know… I’m never brave enough to do it. But it supposed to cure all sickness!

  3. I’m so sorry to hear you’re sick! I’m glad Star was able to take the day off and take care of you…hope you’re feeling better soon!

  4. oh no! ginger tea always helps me feel better. i’m glad to hear you don’t need surgery! i hope you beat the sickness soon. rest up and try to eat well, glad star is there to help you get through :)

  5. Kath (Eating for Living)

    I think ginger tea is a really good idea! Hot water with a piece of ginger inside works often equally fine as a readily bought ginger tea.

    What a relief it’s not appendicitis! But oh dear, that must have been a terrible bloat! (Sorry, when I replied to your last post yesterday, I just read across the title of this one, but not what you had written in detail, so learn just now what’s up.)

    Are you feeling little better today?

  6. CoCo! So sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well! I hope the illness is 100% cleared up by now.

    Mara sure sent lots of tea! What a great friend. :)

    And I still wish I lived closer to you so I could indulge in some of your awesome bread….

Leave a Reply

