Coconut butter & Spinach cake


First of all, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MAGGIE!!! :lol: If you read her blog, stop by and tell her happy B-day; if you don’t read her, it’s a good day to start! :D

I’ve been wanting to make coconut butter after seeing it in Heather’s a while ago. I finally made it and it was SUPER easy, just 7 min!!! :D

1/2 pound of unsweetened coconut as the ONLY ingredient

IMG_9165.JPG

food processor as the ONLY appliance

IMG_9166.JPG

after 4-5 minutes, it starts to release coconut oil

IMG_9167.JPG

6 min later

IMG_9168.JPG

7 min

IMG_9170.JPG

done! :D

IMG_9173.JPG

it tastes STUPENDOUS (as Krista would say ;))

IMG_9176.JPG

IMG_9181.JPG

After breakfast I went to school. After two weeks of stressful data-mining and writing, I met with my advisor and he was happy with the results! :lol: Such a big relieve! I came home late but still excited. So I put my excitement into cooking ;) I made spinach cake

IMG_9217.JPG

Spinach cake

6 servings

  • 1/2 big onion chopped
  • 2 pounds of spinach
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 cups almond milk (or any milk)
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • S+P

1. Sauté chopped onion with oil with a little salt and pepper, stirring occasionally, until they’re translucent.

2. Once the onions are cooked, begin adding the spinach in batches, putting on the lid until the spinach has cooked down, then you can add more. Add salt and pepper as you go.

3. When all the spinach is just barely wilted, turn it out into a large bowl and let cool.

4. Puree the spinach mixture with the milk and eggs until almost smooth. Add the parmesan cheese.

5. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish. Bake for 45 minutes at 400F.

IMG_9224.JPG

It’s like a spinach souffle. YUM~ :D

I had it with steamed corn.

IMG_9230.JPG

dessert was steamed kabocha and white fungus drink

IMG_9232.JPG

I love fall because I’m getting ripped kabochas!! :lol:

Giveaway alerts:

  • The birthday girl is giving away some stevia
  • CSN giftcard by Faith
12 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, recipe

12 responses to “Coconut butter & Spinach cake

  1. I HAD to see this spinach cake! Looks delicious!!

  2. I finally found kabocha again in the store this weekend and thought of you :)

  3. wow that coconut butter looks great!

  4. Love the spinach cake – so simple Coco, and it looks delicious. Also, happy to hear the coconut butter worked for ya – looked perfect…or stupendous I guess I should say. :)

    Kabocha…it’s been months. Must get some soon!!!

  5. coconut butter is so easy! hey what does that white fungus drink tastes like? do you drink it hot?

  6. lesouefsbrouilles

    omg cake and spinach put together?! you are a genius coco!

  7. Your spinach cake look awesome! Almost like a crustless quiche. Thanks for the shout out!! ;)

  8. jc

    can you share how you steam your kabocha? They look so much better than mine. mine always turn out kind of watery? so i use the oven method but i would love to try your kind :)

  9. I never thought of this combination but I have been meaning to make spinach cake! Looks good!

  10. Making coconut butter is such a great idea! And your spinach cake looks delish. I really need to find a kabocha squash to taste!

  11. Happy Birthday to Maggie! Thanks for the shout-out on my giveaway, Coco! :)

    Wow, I’m really impressed with that coconut butter — I definitely making that!

  12. I had no idea coconut butter was so simple to make! I’ll be sure to try this soon.

Leave a Reply

