Pizza, new pan and self-discipline


Let’s do the reverse order of the title ;)

Self-discipline. All people who know me well and I consider myself a highly disciplined person. I’ve been that way for many many years and I think it is a key factor that helped me to achieve what I’ve achieved. I’m proud of it. But there is a fine line between being self-discipline and over-achieving.  If a self-disciplined person becomes an over-achiever… it can be dangerous. I’ve been there once and I wasn’t happy.

Last weekend I talked to a friend who I respect a lot. For many, he is a successful man. He has a Ph.D in chemistry engineering. He is working at an international firm with a great career prospect. I wouldn’t doubt that he is enjoying his life. But unfortunately he is not. He thinks he still have a lot to achieve. He knows that phDs are not good at human relations, we spend too much time alone doing research, so he thinks he has to push himself to be good at it. I thought he studied chemistry because he liked it or he was good at it. No, chemistry was the only course he didn’t get As, so he chose chemistry to be his career. The idea of putting oneself into uncomfortable place all the time, trying to master what one is not good at is SHOCKING to me. Really? Is good to “harm” or push oneself this way? Am I the only one who thinks that we should enjoy what we have and do what we are good at?

***

I got a new skillet from the CSN store with their gift card.

IMG_8499.JPG

Calphalon One Infused Anodized 9″ Chef’s Skillet with Lid

  • Diameter: 9″
  • Material of skillet: heavy-gauge infused anodized aluminum
  • Material of lid: brushed stainless steel
  • Material of handle: cast stainless steel
  • Oven safe

IMG_8500.JPG

IMG_8503.JPG

It’s smaller that I expected but it’s large enough for one person’s serving. Here I made a stir-fry of lotus root, onion and mushrooms in olive preserve.

IMG_8507.JPG

IMG_8509.JPG

The only cons about this pan is that it’s not nonstick, even I put more oil than usual, it sticks a little.

Thanks CSN people for letting me do the review :)

***

As I said last time, I found the best unconventional pizza combo and I had to make it again

Udi’s gluten free pizza crust with tomato paste, “cheese”

IMG_8570.JPG IMG_8571.JPG

shredded zucchini and broccoli

IMG_8572.JPG IMG_8574.JPG

be generous with basil

IMG_8575.JPG

IMG_8578.JPG

20 min at 450 F, ready to EAT! :lol:

IMG_8579.JPG

INCREDIBLY TASTY!!! :lol:

IMG_8591.JPG

It’s DC restaurant week, I’m going to Cafe Milano with new friends for a 3 course meal tonight!! I’m excited! It’s going to be my first experience in restaurant week in the US. :D

8 Comments

Filed under review

8 responses to “Pizza, new pan and self-discipline

  1. The pizza looks wonderful, I love the fun ingredients. I can definitely be a bit too much of an over-achiever at times, at the sacrifice of my happiness. It can be a tough balance.

  2. That’s crazy to choose chemistry because he wasn’t very good at it! That would be what would make me NOT choose it. Not to mention I hated chemistry tremendously. I think it’s great to push yourself, but to choose your career that way? Yikes. I would never do that.

    I found that Udi’s pizza mix at Giant Eagle (where I work) and I plan on buying some soon! Even customers tell me it’s the best, so I think it’s time that I test it out :)

  3. That pizza looks soooo good. I wish I can say I have self-discipline, because I don’t! My family is pretty strict because they want whats best for me, I am honestly jumping around trying to find things that I enjoy and a career that will make me happy. They nudge me but to be a doctor, but I tell them if they expect me to be a doctor. I might accidently kill someone on my job. Then they shut up ha.

  4. Coco, I have the same pan! I love it. I esp love that I can just stick it in the oven. :-)

    Your friend…is sad. It makes me sad. I totally think that the purpose in life is not to achieve the impossible, but to enjoy and utilize what we’ve already got, who we already are, to the best capable.

  5. I couldn’t imagine choosing to work in a field doing something I would have to struggle with every day. How depressing!

    That’s a cute pan. I haven’t had a non stick pan in ages! I’d probably burn everything. ;)

  6. Wow I can’t believe a person would put himself through that. Imagine the hardwork and, perhaps, pain, that he had to go through in university and in his career. I would never do that. My parents always tell me to do what I enjoy first. Money comes second.

    The pizza looks soooo good! I’m a fan of unconventional pizzas as well ;)

  7. Whoa, I’m so not that kind of achiever. I would most certainly choose the path I loved most over the one that would be the most challenging. Such a different mind set!

  8. wow that guy is extreme!

Leave a Reply

