You know you’re becoming a runner when …


You subscribe to runner’s magazine

IMG_8597.JPG

you found the reason why you run

IMG_8599.JPG

I’ve been running and enjoying every time I do it. I had an idea why I like it so much, but haven’t found a perfect description to define it. This quotes put all together! Now if someone asks me why do you like running? I have the answer: Because I love delayed gratification, I value hard-earned success! :D This applies to my career as well.

You start shopping for running clothes

You buy food for fuel during your long run

IMG_8595.JPG

After seeing Julie using these fruit straps to fuel long runs, I had to give it a try.

You need an alarm clock to wake up

I haven’t used alarms to wake up for years. I had a lot of problem sleeping well. But since I started running, sleep became my friend and I enjoy it soooo much, many days I had to wake up with an alarm. :)

You eat pasta the night before the long run

IMG_8515.JPG

I got a Groupon for this italian restaurant La Tomate a while ago and convinced my friends to go there with me so I can eat a good pasta preparing for Sunday’s long run.

They have an extensive menu, all sound very appetizing

IMG_8518.JPG

The bread was just okay… I can do better ;)

IMG_8520.JPG

We shared a Insalata Estive: radicchio, baby spinach, fennel & orange with extra virgin olive oil & lemon juice dressing

IMG_8521.JPG

and Speck dell’Alto Adige: smoked prosciutto of Alto Adige served with cornichons & toasted pumpernickel

IMG_8524.JPG

I think I’m becoming a Prociutto’s fan ;)

and my fuel for running: Gnocchi with tomato and basil sauce with parmesan cheese

IMG_8531.JPG

I finished the whole plate and wanting for more. It was delicious!!!! I think I’ll have gnocchi every saturday! :lol:

Tiramisu is a must in any good italian restaurant!

IMG_8533.JPG

It tells everything about the quality of the restaurant. For me an italian restaurant with a mediocre tiramisu is a bad italian restaurant. But they had it right ;) I could taste they used a high quality mascarpone and just enough amount of coffee and licor for the cake…. perfection! :D

I enjoyed so much this meal and it worked perfectly to fuel this Sunday’s long run: 10 miles!!! :D

and even better! I didn’t burn out… I could actually run 1 o 2 miles more! What’s the key? Start slow and keep at an easy pace most of the time! My original plan was to do 9 miles, but at half way point, 4.5 miles, I felt I just warmed up, so I can do 0.5 mile more, that’s 2 miles up since my latest long run (with a 10k race in between). I am aware that not every run would be easy and enjoyable, sometimes we need the “torture” to improve, but yesterday’s wasn’t the case, I enjoyed the whole run and didn’t feel exhaustion at all. Maybe was the pasta? Maybe was the tiramisu? Maybe was the attitude of not pushing too much (I always tell myself before the long run that I don’t have to finish it if I don’t feel like)? Whatever is, it’s working :D

Post-fuel was another great meal. More about that later! ;)

Q: What’s your favorite pasta? Mine is definitely gnocchi.

8 Comments

Filed under dinner, review, running

8 responses to “You know you’re becoming a runner when …

  1. so glad you’re enjoying running!!

    question for you..I know it’s beastly hot in DC right now, so how are you dealing with the heat? Does it not bother you at all? Just curious. :-) I’m really interested to differences in heat acclimation among runners.

  2. uno ur a runner too when u start enjoying delicious tiramisu <3 <3

    haha theres always a runners world magazine hanging around my place for sure :)

    xoxo

  3. Love proscuitto! It’s great with cantaloupe, too.

    I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying running so much! I think it’s the perfect compliment to your hectic career….

  4. Haha, I can so relate to this post! I am a proud RW subscriber, and I love shopping for running clothes:)

  5. You know your a runner when you run a killer 10 miles ;)

  6. Oh yes, you are definitely a runner now, officially! I haven’t done any of those, and I’m the total opposite in that I like immediate gratification :) Perhaps that’s why it has taken me so long to get into yoga?!

    Your pre-run meal looks perfect! I agree with you about gnocchi, nothing beats it. I used to eat it a lot as a kid, but now I don’t because of the wheat, but I miss it!

    Also, great fuel idea (the fruit strip). I bet that works perfectly!

  7. DiningAndDishing

    Gnocchi is totally my favorite pasta too!

    You are doing MUCH better with your training than me…eek! I need to step it up :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. I’m glad you’re enjoying running so much! Your meal looks incredible! My favorite kind of pasta is spaghetti (ever since I was a little kid! :) ).

Leave a Reply

