Help people think big


TCM #3 here.

From the Happiness Project book

Friendship brings happiness. Four ways to make time for friends:

  • Remember birthdays
  • Be generous
  • Show up
  • Don’t gossip

I want to focus on Be generous today and dedicate this post to my first friend in life Ling.

Generous acts strengthen the bonds of friendship and studies show that your happiness is often boosted more by providing supports to other people than from receiving support yourself. How to be generous? send gifts cards or organize a surprise party? For the author and for me that’s not the way. So how can we be generous in our own way? The one that I like the most is “Help people think big“. Word of enthusiasm and confidence from a friend can inspire you to tackle an ambitious goal. Ling told me many times that despite we live in different continents, immersed in different cultures and have totally different life styles, she often found inspirations in me. Not that she wants to live my life (she has a wonderful husband and a really cute 2 years old boy), but what I do inspires her to do things that she might not do otherwise. Knowing that brought me a lot of satisfaction which can be described as these beautiful quotes:

One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy.

One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.

Now into food inspirations ;)

Making Four colors beans milk

IMG_4173.JPG

black, soy, aduki and mung bean.

Muffin using a conjecture of Maggie‘s Oatbran mini scones & Krista’s pineapple flax muffin

IMG_4176.JPG

IMG_4181.JPG

and then I worked most of Saturday

IMG_4186.JPG

how messy :shock:

IMG_4188.JPG

smelling scents in this cute mini box

IMG_4190.JPG

looking at the beautiful snow outside

IMG_4194.JPG

enjoying Star’s mom’s homemade black sesame & peanuts rice cake

IMG_4216.JPG

IMG_4209.JPG

A rainbow stir fry using one of my fav combo mix: tahini & soy sauce

IMG_4197.JPG

it has tofu, cabbage, pepper, black fungus, shirataki noodles and zucchini

porridge is indispensable for Coco ;)

IMG_4198.JPG

Q1: Have you inspired to any of your friends?

Q2: How would you rank family, friendship, love, health and career?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Help people think big

  1. That sounds like a wonderful book, Coco! And I love that quote “One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy”…so very true. Those muffins look incredible!

  2. Your work looks intense! Do you think you could post/email how you combined the two recipes into one muffin? I’m curious because it looks so good, and I’m horrible with cooking/baking without a set recipe! :P

    Have a wonderful Sunday, Coco!

  3. I agree friendship does bring happiness! Last night, I baked for some friends pulling an all nighter. I hope that brightened their day a bit! (I also brought them coffee so caffeine should have helped haha)

    I love you Happiness Project! Great suggestions!
    Hope you have a great Sunday!!

  4. I guess I inspired you with my oat bran mini scones :D

    My rankings: Love, Family, Health, Friends, Career. I do not care about career at all compared to love and family (which are one and the same)!

  5. Family and friends are definitely most important in my life. You are right being supportive and an inspiration is a wonderful gift to give… Sounds like a great book!

  6. Love (of family and friends) is most important to me. Hope you have a great Sunday Coco!

  7. when did u change the head picture???? it looks really cute :-D I love it!!! hei hei hei

    I am so behind in checking out the blogs. Definitely need to look up your Chinese Medicine posts. that’s a great idea, though i prefer to read Zhong wen version, wahahahaha :-D

  8. Although I believe that friendship ranks high, family, love and health come first to me right now. I find I’m so busy with my family that I don’t have the energy to foster deep friendships. My hope is that as the kids get older, I will have more time to devote to friends.

    BTW…thanks for the shout out and I lolve the new header!!

  9. star

    I agree completely about your think of happiness. It is really great when we can be happy through making other people happy. It is really wonderful if we can enjoy helping or supporting the people arround you.

  10. Mmm, those back sesame and peanut rice cakes look SO GOOD!

    I am a much better friend now than I was even just 5 years ago. I listen better because I’m not distracted by my “over-thinking” and I am so much happier myself, therefore I treat my friends with more respect and put them in a happier place. Lately my friends have been calling me for advice a lot more often, and I know it’s because they sense that I listen more. It’s great to talk to them more often!

    Have a great day Coco. Enjoy the snow!

  11. Wow…that is so hard…Family would always come first. Then health. Then Friendship. Then career? That’s so hard though…they’re all really close in importance, but to me, my family is #1 for sure!

    Mmmmm the 5 bean milk looks wonderful. For some reason, anything that’s black and milky looks tasty in my book!!! Star’s mom is such a good chef!!! I LOVE sesame crackers!!! really really love them. now i’m getting all hungry!!

Leave a Reply

