Very first video tutorial!


Warning: the quality of this video is not ideal (I haven’t mastered how to use both my new camera and iMovie).

This is a 3:14 tutorial for the chinese tofu soup that I’ve been talking/showing for a while. My english is poor and explanation even worse. ;)

The final product

IMG_0323.JPG

I tried to work yesterday but got frustrated. :( All the work I’ve done last week was WRONG! :shock: I have to start over AGAIN and have NO IDEA of HOW! :evil: PH.D is not only Permanent Head Damage, but also soul damage! I hate feeling useless, hopeless and lost. :evil:

Anyway, enough negativity! Lets go to the business. Mom noticed my bad mood so she put more effort on preparing food! ;) (I think I made her feel helpless too because she can’t help me on my research, sorry Mom!)

Breakkie: another crepe filled with LC, cottage cheese, mushrooms and onion jam

IMG_0341.JPG

The food feast prepared by Mom

hairtail fish
IMG_0348.JPG

curry chicken
IMG_0350.JPG

tofu with a variety of dry mushrooms
IMG_0351.JPG

tomato, egg and seaweed soup
IMG_0356.JPG

A big FEAST indeed :D
IMG_0362.JPG

Today I’ll continue on my Head Damaging process and meet with Carmen. Hopefully she’ll rescue me :?

Q1: What’s your plan for today?

Q2: Have you felt hopeless on your work/career? How do you deal with it?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Very first video tutorial!

  1. Oh the video is a great try ! I like it ! – your mom looks really cool on that video:)
    is that a new salt jar?? looks so cute!!!

    btw, I have redo and redo and redo countless times of my model – don’t feel bad, it’s just the process. after my advisor hearing complaining about the that reestimation, she said : “oh, is there anyone who HASN”T re-estimate the model???” just be a bit more patient and persistent!! you can make it finally!

  2. I think your video was great! That soup was SO easy to make. What kind of tofu was that? Silken? And your English is very good! Thanks for putting that together!

    PS: Hope work goes better for you this week!

  3. LOVE the tutorial!! Your mom is so cute :) Cute, in a good way, a very good way.

    Your English isn’t bad at all, in fact I’m super impressed, I am really awful at learning new lessons.

    I felt hopeless OFTEN when I was getting my master’s degree. Just don’t beat yourself up too much and just accept the fact that it’s normal to get frustrated and feel hopeless sometimes. Everyone has their moments.

    Today is catch up day for me, and I have to visit my parents! I keep telling them I will stop by, then I don’t. But today I WILL!

  4. Aw, I love the video! It’s nice to finally hear your voice :) And something odd – your mom looks kind of like my mom, haha. They have similar haircuts and similar coloring. They both look good in pink!

    1. My plan for today – getting the house organized, buying boxes, finding someone to take over our apartment lease (if I can’t do this this week, we have to push back our moving date and that would suck).

    2. I have felt so confused about work and what I want to do. When I worked at the Fed the most frustrating thing was when my economist kept asking me to make these tiny little changes to the model and rerun the whole things. STATA would take days sometimes :( And for something so silly!

  5. is that your momma?! what a gem! thanks so much for the tutorial girl :) I can not resist that soup, it looks amazing!!

  6. Tatum Hernandez

    Great video Coco. I have been reading your blog for just a little while, I really enjoy it, keep up the good work! The soup looks great, I cant wait to try it.

  7. Many thanks to your mom for showing us how to make Tofu Soup! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Love the tutorial! Thanks!

    All your food pics are just amazing! I want to reach into my screen and eat some of it… :)

    Have a great week!

  9. Menden @ Skinny Menny

    Thank you for the tutorial! That looks pretty easy to make….I definitely want to try now :)

    And I think your English is very good…nice job!!

    p.s. your new camera is taking some beautiful pics!

  10. teajewel

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, but wasn’t brave enough to comment until now. Your food pictures look amazing with that new camera! Reminds me somewhat of my grandparents’ cooking :) Every night was a feast with them, haha.

  11. SO CUTE! Adooore <333 Your "a-ha!" moment was so brillzy… You so smurt, Cocobaby. xoxo

Leave a Reply

