Apple picking & applepie making!


I’m so glad to say that I made my parents really excited and happy yesterday!!! They’ve never been in an apple orchard and it was a disneyland for them! They had soooo much fun!! I can’t be happier than seeing them happy. :D

Three of us in the mini cruise ;)
DSC09550.JPG

DSC09557.JPG

DSC09556.JPG

DSC09568.JPG

DSC09572.JPG

DSC09581.JPG

look this huge pumpkin… my second hug-a-carb pic! :D

DSC09597.JPG

We end up buying 25lbs of apples!!!

DSC09603.JPG

So I had to make an apple pie!!! Ingredients:

DSC09604.JPG

the sugar is organic palm sugar that I received few days ago from Navitas together with acai powder and coconut oil. Any idea how to use coconut oil?

DSC09480.JPG

Mom slicing apples with the spiralizer

DSC09606.JPG

pre-baking

DSC09607.JPG

post baking

DSC09627.JPG

it was delicious!!! perfectly sweetened, so light and so comforting! :D

Other eats of the day. My breakkie: oatmeal. I haven’t had it for a long time, forgot how chewy it is! Love it!~~

DSC09537.JPG

DSC09539.JPG

Dinner prepared by mom. It’s funny. I used to be the chef and mom the one who wash and cut. Now, it’s exactly the reverse :shock:

sauteed bok choy
DSC09630.JPG

sauteed broccoli, mushrooms and black fungus

DSC09631.JPG

sauteed shrimp with zucchini

DSC09632.JPG

Perfect sunday dinner with my loves! :D
DSC09633.JPG

I had so much fun this weekend! :mrgreen: Now, I need to plan something for the next weekend… I love making them happy! :D

Q1: What’s your favorite recipe for apples?

Q2: How do you make your parents happy?

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Apple picking & applepie making!

  1. I have been wanting to go to an apple orchard! It looks like so much fun.

    Apples are one of my favorite fruits but I love apple pie and my parents never seem to be happy ;) lol

  2. The apple orchard looks like so much fun. I’m glad that your parents had such a good time! :) Your apple pie sounds & looks awesome. I like to make simple crisps or cobblers with apples.

  3. aw how cute! my fav is apple crisp , I made this particular one and it was soooooo good it was gone in 2 days!

    my parents are so supportive of me- they are always happy with me- its actually weird because it doesn’t take much for me to make them happy! :

  4. You are so so so cute!

    And that pie looks amazing!

  5. HOW FUN!!! The fiance and I are going apple picking next weekend and I can’t wait!

  6. I love your apple picking adventures and the cute photos!! 25 pounds!? I remember bringing home something similar when we went LONG ago. Glad it made them happy :)

    I’m allergic to raw apples so I like baked apple recipes (that way I’m not allergic). When I want something not as complicated, I’ll just chop up apples, mix in cinnamon and put it in the oven. I like apples in bread too.

    I make my parents happy by sending them cards for their birthdays and Mother’s/Father’s Day!

  7. I’m glad you had fun with your parents! Your dinner looks delicious!

    My favorite thing to make with apples is apple crisp.

    My parents are super supportive of me. As long as I’m happy they seem to be happy!

  8. I love apple picking! My fave way to eat apples is stuffed with raisins and baked. Mmmmm…

  9. Aww, apple picking is so fun! I still haven’t made anything with my apples, I just eat them straight. They are almost gone though!

  10. Aww, what a nice daughter! I’m glad you made your parents happy :) My parents are happy when I stop by their house, randomly. They love it! They are easy to please.

    Your apple cobbler looks great. I can’t believe you got 25 pounds!! I like caramel apples the best. In fact I Just bought two of them at Whole Foods :)

  11. Apple picking looks so fun! I never would have thought to slice my apples using the spiralizer! Yay! Your apple pie looks amazing!

    1) I make my parents happy by going to Philly and visiting them!

    2) I like slicing apples, topping them with cinnamon, baking them in the microwave for 3 minutes, and topping them with carob chips and Oikos!

  12. What a fun day with you and the family! :) I’ve never done that but would love to go pick some apples!

  13. sheilabadeaux

    Hi there! Your apple pie looks delicious! My goal this Fall is to make my first apple pie, I’m a bit nervous about making it just because it seems hard to make. You made yours look easy to make! So thank you for the inspiration :) Btw, I found your blog through another blog and I’m glad I did. I’m loving your posts!

  14. DiningAndDishing

    Aww, I’m jealous – apple picking looks like so much fun!! I love cinnamon apple sauce – so delish and so healthy!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  15. thank you for including two of my favorite things in this post .. apples and family :) Glad you had such a wonderful day with the parents… so precious!!

  16. i always get the biggest grin on my face when i see photos of you on the blog! you have such a happy smile and it just is contagious! apple picking looked like a blast. that baked dessert is making my mouth water! make me some? ;) favorite apple recipe is my mom’s apple crisp, and my parents are happy when i cook for them!

  17. So just wondering… Do you like apples or something lova? ;)

    Your apple crisp/pie looks DAMN fine. Oooh baby!

    I’m so glad you’re having fun with your parents! So precious :D

  18. Menden (Skinny Menny)

    These pictures are adorable! Sounds like such a happy weekend with your parents :)

    I love apples! One really yummy breakfast dish is: biscuits (the kind that come in a can), topped with slices of apples, cheddar cheese, and a sprinkling of brown sugar and cinnamon, baked in the oven. Sounds weird, but trust me…it’s deeelicious :)

  19. Apple picking sounds awesome. I’ve never been either. I would be just as excited as your parents. So glad that they enjoyed it too!

    Apple pie is a great idea with such an abundant stash of apples.

  20. What a perfect dessert! Although I might be tempted to eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!

  21. LOVE apples! And there is nothing like fresh picked ones. Great dessert. Glad your parents had a blast. I made an apple bread two years ago that was so good I could NOT stop eating it. But mostly I like apples just chopped up and thrown in the micro with some cinnamon!

  22. your apple crisp looks so good! glad you and the parents had such a good time. 25 # is a lot of apples!!!

    you can actually use coconut oil to make a great apple pie crust instead of margarine or shortening (ick). you can pretty much sub coconut oil into any recipe that calls for butter/margarine. :-)

Leave a Reply

