Coco’s “raw” experience & a curry recipe


You might noticed that I began to have warm breakfast again and with AB, both against raw food and food combination principles. You remember that I was very enthusiastic with raw food & food combining, I reviewed Detox for Woman and even bought a juicer. I mentioned since I came back from Argentina, I’ve lost appetite. I think it’s appropriate to explain a little.

Disclaimer: as the title says, it’s my own experience, I don’t mean to despise or discourage anyone who want to begin the raw food journey.

Claims on raw food/food combining that made me want to give it a try:

  • Help digestion, cure IBS
  • Improves skin condition
  • Boost immune system
  • Be alert
  • Incorporate nutrients in a direct way

I was 50-75% raw, followed strictly food combining, juicing everyday for about 3 weeks and here’s MY take

  • Feel satisfied with less amount of food
  • Except for the first few days, I felt bloated most of the time
  • Constipated
  • Lost weight
  • Lost both appetite and hunger

Maybe for someone who wants to loose weight, it might be a good eating style, but not my case. It didn’t cure my IBS, it got even worse the last few days. Food choices were limited. I lost both appetite and hunger, which worries me a lot! I went back to my normal eating and they’re still not back. Except for kabocha and dark chocolate, I don’t enjoy much eating. If I don’t eat for long hours, I might get hungry (but much less often than before), but I don’t crave food, just eat to get rid of the annoying stomach pain. That’s a TRAGEDY for me. :shock:

So, here’s my take. It might provoke discontent among raw proponents but as I said, it’s my personal experience and I want to be honest in my blog and to my readers. A blog friend Maggie just wrote a great post related to this topic and her experience, if you haven’t read it, check it out.

Okay. Back to normal posting. Without my parents at home, I spent more time at the kitchen, trying to create yummy dishes to wake up my appetite. ;)

Breakfast: green oat bran cooked with chia gel and topped with coconut butter

DSC09176.JPG

DSC09183.JPG

AM snack was juice of beets leaves, cucumber, celery, carrot, ginger and lemon.

DSC09185.JPG DSC09190.JPG

I didn’t have lunch until 2.30PM (no hunger) :-?. As a good BSI host, I used CAULIFLOWER to make a curry using this powder (the best powder I’ve ever tried)

DSC09191.JPG

DSC09193.JPG

Quick veggie & bean curry

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 head of cauliflower
  • 1/2 zucchini
  • 1.5 cup cooked beans
  • 1/4 cup flax meal
  • curry powder/ salt/brown sugar

Method:

  • Boil cauliflower with water for 10 min, throw out most of the water but keep some.
  • Add zucchini, beans and seasoning and cook for 20 min at low
  • Add flax meal at the end.

I had it with brown/purple rice cooked with seaweed

DSC09198.JPG

DSC09201.JPG

Nice creation Coco, the curry was delicious! :lol:

For dinner, I had tilapia cooked in a tomato sauce over zucchini noodles. But it was a failed meal and here’s the culprit

DSC09213.JPG DSC09215.JPG

it sounds an good seasoning (short ingredient list), but I have to be frank, it’s bad, it ruined my dish! :(

DSC09223.JPG

Tip to choose kabocha: Don’t choose the pretty, clean ones, choose the ugliest, they’re the rippest, sweetest.

DSC09220.JPG

My fav way to have it: STEAMED

DSC09221.JPG DSC09222.JPG

Savored with a cute company

DSC09227.JPG

If you have doubts about how to participate BSI contest, check this post.

Q1: Have you ever tried anything that works for others but failed on you?

Q2: How often do you get hungry?

Q3: What’s your appetite level right now in a 1-10 scale?

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Coco’s “raw” experience & a curry recipe

  1. FYI: If something says it CURES something, like IBS, it probably isn’t true! I mean think about it, if it was as easy as doing a detox diet, why would IBS be all over the news and be the focus of so much research?? I have fallen for stuff like that too, we all do. Thanks for your review :)

    Right now my hunger level is about an 8, I need some breakfast. I get hungry about every 3 hours, on average!

    As for my cauliflower recipe, do you want me to e-mail my patty recipe to you? Or can you just get it form my blog, two days ago?

  2. That quick veggie & bean curry looks so delicious!

  3. My hunger varies. I wish I would be hungry when I woke up. It always takes a few hours and now it’s worse even though I’m not raw anymore. Right now – maybe a 3. I think I’m still full of kabocha from last night :P

  4. Sorry that high-raw didn’t work for you!

  5. hmmmm well at least you have experimented and now you know! it is a good lesson to remind us all that what may work for one person does not work for the next! ohhh i cant wait to see the cauliflower entries. cute company! Qs~ 1. yes, i tried a couple “diets” that my friends tried, they didn’t work. but i have found that body for life works for me! yay! 2. i eat every 3-4 hours. 3. i just ate 45 min ago so i am full, probably a 8 or 9! love you lots coco!

  6. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! :)

  7. Better to try something and find out if it works for you than not try at all! Otherwise, you would never know.

    I get hungry every couple of hours, I guess? It depends on the day, what I ate for the previous meal/day before, activity level, etc.

    Hunger scale right now….about a 4. Almost snack time :)

  8. Thanks for sharing your honest opinion of the raw “diet” you tried. I know that for me eating a lot of raw veggie’s equals VERY pain bloating, so I understand where you’re coming from there.

    I’d have to say I get hungry every 3-4 hrs on a typical day. If I’m super busy, it gets much longer!

  9. Thanks for your raw diet review. It is nice to hear because reading so many raw food blogs can sometimes cause a little guilt that I don’t eat that way. I feel like I eat so much junk compared to them but really cooking eggs whites or eating yogurt is not a bad thing! I don’t think I could ever do it anyway :)

    Hunger level-7..I always feel hungry haha. I probably get hungry every 3 or 4 hours and have a small snack.

  10. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

  11. Jordan

    The veggie and bean curry looks fantastic. I used to always think my hunger was always a 10, until I took the time to actually listen to my body and realized it was just the tastes of foods I wanted. It’s at a 2 now because I just ate dinner :) I like to keep it light so I’m hungry for breakfast in the morning.
    I understand about eating in the hopes of making stomach pain go away. It works temporarily but always seems to come back. I’m glad you are figuring out what your body needs and wants.

  12. oh gosh- it made you feel constipated? I’d be so out! The Quick veggie & bean curry looks jammin. I’m at about a 6 right now!

  13. The high raw diet doesn’t work for everyone, although I think we can all reap some benefits from eating raw food. :-) Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    When I get hungry depends on how much I ate for the meal/snack before! Right now, I’m not hungry at all because I just ate some pumpkin frozen yogurt. :-)

  14. I agree, we all have to find what works for us. And it can be disappointing when what works for others doesn’t work for us. I think in the end it’s all about keeping an open mind and being prepared to change what we are doing when we notice that it doesn’t work. It sounds like that’s what you did. Sorry high raw didn’t work for you. Hopefully you’ll enjoy food again soon!

  15. Thanks for the kabocha tips!
    My experience with breakfast cookies that everyone loves so much was kind of meh.
    I get hungry every 3-4 hrs.
    Hunger right now? about 0, as I am eating:)

Leave a Reply

